We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, clean, nice job with all required amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APTR - A Place To Remember
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean, nice job with all required amenities”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel was in a perfect location to hang out in El Nido. Easy walking distance to anything - restaurants, shops, activities. It is right in the middle of all the action though, so you might find it noisy. We had room 8 which had a large king bed, refrigerator, tv,(lots of satellite channels) a/c, hot shower (with good pressure), safe and an additional spare twin bed. There was a little bar of soap and a packet of shampoo when we arrived and it was never re-stocked, but we had brought our own and never asked. It had two large windows over the bed, one by the refrigerator and one in the bathroom - so plenty of light. It did over look the street, so might be noisier than other rooms. In the morning when the electricity goes off (from 6am to 2pm roughly each day -- some days longer and unreliable) and the "white noise" of the generators and A/C goes off you will hear everything from roosters, to motorbikes, to kids, to an ice cream cart (we actually started looking forward to the little ice cream cart). The first morning it might seem a bit much, but we got used to it. Room 8 is also right under the breakfast area - so you do get that noise if sleeping in. Check-in was super fast as we only had to present our Agoda voucher. You do have to request for your room to be made up daily if that is what you want. They will do a fantastic job including changing linens, new towels and folding up any random clothes! Breakfast is a 7 (ish) and is wonderful. You can have a freshly made omelette, pancakes, fruit, coffee (instant), great bread, etc. They will make you whatever you want. It can get a little crowded between 7 and 8, so your breakfast may take a bit. We had to be at our dive shop at 8am so were a little worried the first day but all times are on the flexible side in this part of the world, so no worries. They also have a water dispenser so you can fill your water bottles. The staff was always nice and friendly. The breakfast area was also a restaurant and karaoke bar during the day. We didn't partake of this so cannot comment - but can say we were never bothered with any noise when we were in for the night - and we typically retire fairly early.

We took a private van from Puerto Princesa (arranged by Gullivers Travels - wonderful, see my post on them). The driver didn't quite know where the hotel was and neither did any locals, when we first got into town. We found this odd as it isn't that new and the town is definitely not that big. The trip was long (around 5 hours give or take if you don't stop), but the roads are great until about an hour out of El Nido, then it is under construction and very rough. A pretty dive though.

The activities in and around El Nido mostly consist of island hopping and diving - if you aren't interested in either of those, you might be bored. There is not a great beach to speak of, there is one, but no chairs or towel rental or anything. The boats (and there are a lot of them) are all parked in the bay, so not really a relaxing beach. There is a waterfall and a nice quiet beach called Las Cabanas. All of the tricycle drivers (no taxis) know where these are. I would recommend a day or afternoon at Las Cabanas. About a 10-15 tricycle ride at around 200 pesos - and the driver will wait for you to take you back to town if you want. We considered renting a bicycle and taking it, but there are a couple of fairly steep hills and not sure about the bikes. The beach itself is nice and quiet - definitely nice if you have been in town. Lots of little shacks that sell drinks (beer, some food, etc.) but no other amenities that I saw. No towel or chair rental. The beach is nice, but only a few spots where it is easy to walk out to swim - the rest is rocky.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coquelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    21
    11
    26
See reviews for
18
52
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The external areas of this hotel are really charming, pool and garden are very beautiful and breakfast is good.

However I found the room wasn't very clean (dead bugs behind the door, food crumbs around the bin, pillow cases stained). It was also quite noisy at night, I was right by the resident's living areas who made a lot of noise talking and shouting / basketball playing even after 10pm (the hotel's curfew for noise.)

The reception staff weren't very helpful- I had to ask all the questions that receptionists normally give you straight away on check in, and I felt like they were surprised id want to know things like what time breakfast was served..! No one was around when I came to check out despite ringing the bell, so I just left my key as I had already paid.

One of the guys who worked there (Floor) was really nice and helpful though.

I paid 2000 pesos a night which is average for a hotel with a pool... But felt too much for the room quality. To summarise: stay here if you're not going to spend too much time in the room, you don't want to stay in the centre of town and you want a nice pool!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Joey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location was good. The room is very clean and has a modern touch. And very articulate. Complete needed things.... The food was great and has a good over looking view of the sea and sky in the restaurant area. The people was warm and friendly....... Like like like.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prynze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at this place for 4 nights in mid Jan. Felt like a 5 start experience. Staff were super amazing. Always there to help you. Booked though Agoda and confirmed the stay before we went and requested early check-in ( 4 AM ) and they happily agreed without any charges. Check-in was very smooth.

Hotel location - Its just a street across the beach front. Hardly few minutes walk to the beach. View from the Terrace (Breakfast area) is amazing. Little away from the noise on the beach and is perfect if you want to sleep early.

Hotel is kept super clean. They have a karaoke software in the terrace area. Breakfast is super delicious. Since we were vegetarians, they cooked as per our needs. Good part, they have a tap at entrance of the hotel. Really helpful to wash your legs after a day at beach than to make hotel/room dirty. special call out to Tina for the great service! If you want to book in in advance and want a very clean comfortable affordable place, don't look anywhere else.

Activities: El Nido is all about island hopping tour , snorkeling and diving. I did my scuba certification with Tabanka Divers and combined most island tours with it. Tina helped us book Tour C on last day. You can have candle-light dinner on the beach in the evenings and enjoy food.

Tips: You get plenty of beach front properties here. You can come here , look out and book. You will get much better deals. For Tour C, don't bother of taking it if anyone remotely mentions high tides. It was waste of a day as we could not get into any places as the waves were too bad. Also the boat ride on rough seas is really scary as Tour C is really far in the ocean.
Beach at EL Nido Proper is not so v.good. It may be better idea to stay as Las Cabanas which is 10 min by tricycle. Beach there is amazing and many good resorts on the beach as well.
Yes, I would recommend Tabanka Divers if you are looking at Diving.

Room Tip: Stayed at Room 7. similar to 6. 8 is a family room. They have a suite in top floor adjacent to break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G0wtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I like this hotel but certain rooms are absolutely not that good. Room eight is the best. It has a view and the air-conditioner works and also the hot water also works. Room six is okay also. Anything on the second floor is fine. Do not stay on the first floor. Very loud and noisy. They also have one room on the third floor that is absolutely bad. Loud noisy and no privacy. Don't stay there unless you're desperate. If you stay in room eight I would rate this hotel as one more star. Otherwise it is a solid three-star hotel. Also remember that you have no electricity during the day in El Nido.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Repsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Upon arrival to the hotel, They did not have any of our reservation details logged, And they were completely booked and had no rooms available. We payed for a full rate Deluxe room through agoda and provided all transaction and booking confirmation details, This was not enough to gain the deluxe room we originally booked, only solution they could offer us was a small shabby room that would also incur an extra fee, They refused to show us the Deluxe room, (Hate to think what it was like if the tiny room was more expensive then the deluxe room) No refund was offered either. We did not feel like paying additional money for a very below average room that was ridiculously over priced. Basically we were were cheated out. we did not feel welcome to stay there either, Hotel management were very rude, The head manager whom was upstairs didn't want to talk to us. The front of house staff did not have a resolve. We ended up dragging our luggage around the small village until we found a suitable hotel. This option seemed better then paying additional money to this most undeserving, unprofessional and inhospitable hotel.

This was our first night in El nido, luckily the rest of the places we stayed at were spot on and the people were very nice, genuine and attentive.

I would strongly avoid this hotel at all costs and not consider an option, A hotel that scheme fee's from customers might get them small short term gains but i believe a place like that will not survive.
Shame people like that give places a bad reputation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MikeBridgeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Rooms had double beds, air conditioning, TV and mini fridge. The hotel location is very close to the beach (port authority - place where every boat leave the island for tours). But most important hotel staff was extremely helpful! They helped us to arrange tours (picking the best ones), also helped to arrange a van to transport us from Puerto Princesa airport to El Nido. Additionally, the hotel accepts credit cards (which is difficult in the region) and they can charge all tours and van to your room bill (making it possible to pay with your credit card).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dicogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.9 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sophia's Beach Guest House
Sophia's Beach Guest House
#13 of 17 in El Nido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Nido Four Seasons Resort
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APTR - A Place To Remember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APTR - A Place To Remember

Property: APTR - A Place To Remember
Address: Serena St. Bgy Buena Suerte Elnido, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APTR - A Place To Remember 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APTR (a place to remember):offers island hoping tours,diving, night diving,with bar and restaurant, arrange other activities like in land tours to Nacpan Beach, Las Cabañas Beach or maremegmeg beach, night swimming, Zipline and Limestone trail tracking (Ferrata Nature Interpretation and Eco Tourism Adventure Trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your APTR - A Place To Remember reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APTR - A Place To Remember El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing