We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”
Review of Bulskamp Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bulskamp Inn
Ranked #3 of 93 El Nido B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Just like home”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staffs clean room great palce to stay specially on a budget a little walk to the beach and other places which makes it an ideal place to relax in the evening less noise and people traffic

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    51
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
111
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Chose this inn for its raving reviews, which did not disappoint. The place was spotless and you can ask the owners or any of its staff for help and they will gladly do it. I loved that its away from the beach front, where it can get very noisy at night, but close enough to good restaurants, bars, beachfront, travel agencies. If ur spending a few weeks in El Nido, Bulskamp is a good take-off point. Once acclimatised, you may scout for newer inns or hotels to get good value for ur money as the town is growing everyday.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceD621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
582 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Only getting round to putting up a review some months after getting back, but this is great as it allows me to reflect on all the places that I stayed throughout my three months in SEA. I can honestly say that the hosts at this inn were without doubt the most friendly, welcoming and helpful that I encountered. The main man, Roy, brother of the owner and top manager could not have been more helpful (for example, we took one of the boat trips straight into a storm, the trip was cold, wavy and extremely wet; visibility was zero - the last place I wanted to be right then was on an island hoping trip; Roy arranged for another trip for free, this, despite the place where we booked saying "tough luck, no refund"). When we woke up, there was always tea and coffee waiting for us on the little table outside our room. The rooms were fastidiously clean, in fact, the cleanest I encountered in SEA outside of a 4 / 5 star hotel. And another first: the beds were made every day and the room was cleaned every day too. There is a little courtyard to relax in, with a koi pond. I was even introduced to the Pilipino delicacy of balut eggs by Roy (I found them delicious!). Wifi was very sporadic, but I think that is the case in the whole of El Nido and not at all the fault of the inn (very frustrating when you want to book a hotel in Singapore in a few days but can't!). Paying via paypal was very useful as there is no cash machine in El Nido and as such meant that we didn't need to spend the cash money we had. I remember my time very fondly here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Kuya Rey was a very helpful host who took care of our every needs. Excellent location as well. Tours were all taken care of Kuya Rey as well.

Place was very nice and hammocks on the common area were a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We only spent one night here but we were very glad we did.
The owners are incredibly welcoming and helpful. The room was immaculately clean, very comfortable and had the best hot water shower we experienced during the month we was in the Philippines.
It is located in a quiet road, only a minutes walk to all the restaurants, shops and beach.
I would not hesitate in staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are over two levels with stairs and no lift so if you do not want to carry bags upstairs book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We've just finished a 10 night stay in Bulskamp and already miss it. As soon as you get there, it's obvious how well maintained it is, with immaculately swept floors and a neat garden in the courtyard area. We stayed in one of the downstairs double rooms with a fan, and it was plenty big enough, with a comfy bed and a clean bathroom. We would suggest going with an aircon room, unless you have a high tolerance to heat. This is because the generator runs an extra hour from 7am- 8am, and when that fan goes off, things can get pretty sweaty. Having said that, its alright in the evenings. The usual owners were on holiday themselves, so we were handled by Virgie's brother, Ray. We saw him every day and he was always super friendly and quick to offer help. He made us feel really welcome which is important with budget options. Also, the cleaners take real care in what they do, and it shows.
Location couldnt better- you walk for less than a minute out of the front gate and you hit the high street. Really quiet though as shops etc tend to start closing at about 9.
Overall, it was awesome value for money and we'd definitely stay again. Oh and they've got a hilarious couple of parrots that talk in different languages all day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldp512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I spent 3 nights there with my friends. This inn is nice place to stay in El Nido. Just some minutes walk to the beach & restaurants/ bar/ cafe. Restroom is small but clean. Rooms are clean & beds are not comfortable but ok to accept. Staffs are cool & helpful.
Wifi is not strong but enough to read news, open email, upload some pics on facebook.
Strong recommended to those who intend to travel to El Nido.
Send email to Virgie : bulskamp_inn@yahoo.com to ask for room rate as well as room available on yr request time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThienNguyen1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.6 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
502 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spin Designer Hostel - El Nido
5.3 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulskamp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulskamp Inn

Property: Bulskamp Inn
Address: Osmena Street, Masagna El Nido | Palawan, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bulskamp Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bulskamp Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bulskamp Inn El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing