We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view - grotty bathrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Nido Viewdeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Nido Viewdeck Inn
Ranked #34 of 88 El Nido B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great view - grotty bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The view from here is lovely. There is no getting away from the hike up the hill to get to the accommodation but the view does make it worth it. The staff here are lovely, the owner is friendly and helpful and it is really nice to get coffee and breakfast brought to your room every day to be enjoyed on the balcony with the view.

The breakfast is nice sometimes - they do a nice omelet and fresh brown bread but every other day we were served a fried egg which was always undercooked to the point that the ehg white was still clear and wobbly so we could not eat it. We always felt bad wasting food but we did not want to risk getting ill!

The main issue here is that the rooms are pretty basic wnd bathrooms are really dirty and run down with bits if tape holding stuff together and when the power out was on - there is no light at all so you have to perform all ablutions in pitch black. Our toilet did not flush so we had to flush with a bucket - we had the option of moving to a room without a view but with a flushing toilet but what is the point of staying here with no view? If they could invest in the rooms a bit and refurb the bathrooms this would be a great place! And they really need to provide mozzie nets as standard - we luckily had our own!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I booked this room reading the reviews about the view;however my room was the lowest one and there was no view at all. it was also very noisy whole night due to the cars passing and also the roosters&dogs shouting all night. The room was nice,the bed was comfortable; there were lots of flies in the room though. There was never anyone in the reception;so i could never ask anything and i couldn't even learn about the breakfast. The location is a bit further than the center,easy to walk during the day but very dark in the evening.
I am sure the rooms that have a nice view are worth the price but for me it was expensive with these conditions considering i booked a superior room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxrxx27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at this BB for 4 nights. This place is away from the town proper which good. I like beeing away from noise.

The rooms were clean and the owner was really friendly. He helped us in booking island tours and the shuttle service on our way home. I would definitely go back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitzlom182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We decided to stay at the viewdeck during our El Nido trip as the pictures on their website looked really nice, both of the rooms and the view. We ended up staying 2 nights in the SUPERIOR room with ac and hot water. The room was on the lower floor closer to the townside.

First of all, what the pictures don't show is that 70% of your view from the property is of the side of a big cliff. Of the remaining 30%, another half are tree tops, so only 15% of our actual view is of the town and water, which of course is beautiful.

The room itself was small and damp, the ac loud. I ended up with 30 super itchy mosquito bites here just after 1 night, what happened to the mosquito nets I saw in their website pictures?? Though on a hill, the property is still close to the main road, so you'll hear all the morning tricycle and car traffic, not to mention the gangs of roosters both from across the street and from the hill. Overall I had 2 horrible nights that I barely slept.

The bathroom was even more damp and the shower had zero water pressure. It turned out that the gas water heater actually doesn't work without electricity! And since the power's out from 6am-3pm, we had to take cold showers during that time. So much for the hot water room.

Upon checking in we inquired about island trips and mountain climbing trips, but the people working the front desk just told us to come back later when the manager was there. Several times that I tried to find someone the front desk was empty. Several more times I asked or requeseted something the person obviously didn't understand English very well and just smiled at me and nodded instead of replying. Not that any of the employees were rude or unfriendly, just unhelpful and unprofessional.

I like the idea of serving breakfast on the balcony and that you can order it for anytime in the morning, but they consistently brought the food 20-30min later than what we asked for. Since those mornings we had scheduled trips, having the food late meant that we had to rush to eat and run out, which was not the relaxing morning we had wanted.

Finally, with all this I can't understand how they can charge over $70 a night for this. If it wasn't because of Chinese New Years high season, we wouldn't have stayed here. And luckily we were only here for 2 nights, afterwich we moved to Coral Bay Resort, 5 min tricycle ride from Viewdeck where the real views are and a much much better value for your money.

Room Tip: 1) Rooms on the 2nd floor have a better view 2) Order your breakfast half an hour before you actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Although you got to work your leg muscle up those stairs, its really worth it to get a view like that. Be sure to get a room that has a view. Our room had a view and your own lil terrace with seats and table for you to have your breakfast.
When you wake up you might just find your breakfast deposited at that area unless you request it earlier or later in the morning. Be sure to ask when they give breakfast then.
The owner was so friendly and nice to us. We asked for sardines for breakfast (typical pinoy dish) and they were willing to comply, with additional pay, but at least we got our hearts desire.
The room had ample space and had a bathroom inside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the El Nido Viewdeck Inn for seven nights in February 2012. We called ahead to reserve rooms because we heard from fellow travelers that places in El Nido fill up quickly. When we got there, the owner, Rudy, said that he only places four of his rooms on Agoda and when people call ahead they are actually speaking to a friend of his in Manila who has to call him to make sure he has rooms available. My suggestion would be that if you are calling ahead, make sure to tell whomever you speak with exactly the kind of room you are looking for--Rudy has different choices--some have fans and cold water and others have aircon, hot water, etc. Rudy's young staff were hardworking and accommodating--They served us breakfast on our balcony, helped us arrange two island-hopping tours, and secured our valuables while we were out. The room fit our needs--hot water and aircon worked fine and the location was quiet (except for the roosters in the early morning), and it had a nice view. I would recommend staying here over any place on the beach!

Room Tip: El Nido only has electricity from 2pm until 6am daily if everything is working properly. On certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We booked into this accommodation last minute and what a great choice we made. 5 minute walk away from the centre of El-Nido but without the hustle and bustle. The short uphill walk to the actual accommodation is worthwhile as each cottage is decorated to a high standard and it had the largest bathroom we had seen for 3 weeks. A cooked breakfast was delivered to our room every morning to eat on the balcony looking down over the town. It offered lovely breezes and the owner 'Rudy' was extremely helpful and always had a smile on his face. This is not the cheapest accomodation as for the price it does not offer a pool but we thought it was well worth the price and ended up staying 4 nights instead of 3. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Highly recommended if you want a quieter accomodation with unique features and extremely happy and helpful staff

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the 2nd level overlooking the sea (room 9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.3 mi away
El Nido Viewdeck Cottages
El Nido Viewdeck Cottages
#12 of 100 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Side Inn
Mountain Side Inn
#24 of 88 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sei Nazioni Cottages
Sei Nazioni Cottages
#21 of 100 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#52 of 88 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiftlets Inn
Swiftlets Inn
#11 of 100 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marikit Pension (El Nido)
Marikit Pension (El Nido)
#47 of 88 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Viewdeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Viewdeck Inn

Property: El Nido Viewdeck Inn
Address: El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
El Nido Viewdeck Inn Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing