We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location - Old and Dirty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria's and Rico's Cottages
Ranked #65 of 114 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Located in El Nido Downtown, you basically pay for the location, not for the services.

One night during the peak season costs 30USD, quite expensive for a mattress, a dirty electric fan, a dirty bathroom (No Shower and dirty mirror) and no breakfast (Tea or coffee included)

They nevertheless have a nice terrasse, front beach for you to chill out and enjoy the sunrise.

We went there three years ago and wanted to come back as we have a great experience at that time .. Unfortunately nothing changed in three years, no improvement, no reparation done, and 50% more expensive !

I would suggest to find a place outside from El Nido town, more affordable, more quiet and cleaner !

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms have a balcony - Front beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

My son and I spent 10 days in El Nido in mid-January 2013. We stayed at Rico's on recommendation of friends. Absolutely fabulous. My son was upstairs and I was below him. Right on the beach. Air-conditioning came on reliably at 2.00 pm each day. Going to sleep listening to Mozart with waves lapping the sand right outside my open glass doors was magical. Charming and obliging staff. Right in the middle of all the El Nido "action" but always peaceful. To use the words of General Douglas MacArthur - "I shall return" and will stay at Rico's. In fact I would happily live out my remaining years right there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Rico's has a prime spot right on the beach, the best value I know of on the beach. As mentioned there is a higher and lower end building next to eachother, priced accordingly but both are good options. The rooms that don't face the beach are nearly the same price and therefore not as great a value. There's also a guy renting kayaks out front, which we took most days.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are the real value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookS244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

At P1000 per night, you could see the panoramic view of El Nido town beach. WIth free wifi and coffee but no breakfast. They do offer affordable laundry service too! Dont make too much noise though because you could be heard by the whole hotel!!

If you want cheaper rooms, dont hesitate to walk around the downtown and you might find others ranging from P500 to P700 per night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I think this property has both an old building and new building; I stayed in the new side (on the right, as you're looking out to the water), so I can only speak to that half of the property.

I walked up and down the entire beachfront strip in El Nido and took a look at every property (after spending one night at Marina Garden and being less than satisfied) and Rico's won on the price / quality trade-off (the room was ~$50, only about $10 more than my room at Marina Garden but almost twice as good).

Pros: friendly staff, new and nice rooms, good A/C, warm showers, fantastic views, "room service" breakfast

Cons: no real common area (hence the "room service" breakfast), wifi does not work in all rooms, water pressure in shower is weak.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

While in El Nido my group rented three rooms at Rico’s Cottages, a two story guesthouse on the beach for 900 pesos/room. Rico’s is a family run establishment and the rooms feature cold water bathrooms. Although the place certainly provides decent beachfront accommodation, I can’t emphasize strongly enough DO NOT PATRONIZE RICO’S COTTAGES IN EL NIDO. When checking in we noticed a very friendly Dalmatian tied on a very short leash in the outdoor reception area. Upon further inspection we saw that the dog was very thin and malnourished. Let me interject at this point, I understand that many animals are malnourished and abused in places like The Philippines. I get it, dogs are low on the priority scale in impoverished places. Much of my anger though was due to the fact that this was an affluent family by local standards with a nice car, color TV, air conditioning, etc. and could have easily afforded to properly care for their dog. Every day I said to them “your dog is too thin, he is sick, why don’t you feed him more?” and they just smiled either not understanding and/or not caring. I asked why they don’t let him off the short rope to interact with the children and guests and they said the he would run away. Well of course he would run away idiots, you don’t feed him! My friends and I attempted to feed him several times, but he apparently was too sick to take solid food and vomited it up. The owners then tied him around the side of the house where nobody could see him and the next day he died. They at least had the decency to bury him in the sand by the beach. Anyway, I would have raised hell if I wasn’t afraid to get thrown in a Philippine jail, so I take my frustration here. DO NOT give these terrible people your money. There are many similar places to stay in El Nido. Better yet, go to Rico’s Cottages and ask why they starved their dog to death in plain sight and then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 193JoeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadège O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#26 of 114 in El Nido
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devayns Inn
Devayns Inn
#69 of 101 in El Nido
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#50 of 101 in El Nido
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
0.0 mi away
Bill Tourist Inn
Bill Tourist Inn
#28 of 101 in El Nido
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiftlets Inn
Swiftlets Inn
#15 of 114 in El Nido
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria's and Rico's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria's and Rico's Cottages

Address: Hama Street, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 114 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Also Known As:
Gloria's And Rico's Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing