We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria's and Rico's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria's and Rico's Cottages
Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We've been there as a part of our honeymoon trip, and stayed there for 5 nights. We chose the room on the top floor with the balcony - 800 PHP in the low season. Fan included, no hot water, no breakfast. View is great, the hosts are really helpful, if you want your sheets or towels changed, just ask them. The towels start to smell after one day due to the high humidity. Also the free coffee in the morning is a plus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MatejSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

During our last trip to El Nido we stayed at Marina Gardens but we were unable to get into Marina Garden this time as we had left our booking too late. We started our search for a new option and came across Gloria and Rico's and booked ourselves in. We had a bit of difficulty getting a confirmation of our booking other than the verbal conversation that we had over the phone. It seemed that there was some issue with the internet...but in the end we did manage to get our confirmation and receipt of our deposit. We had booked four rooms and had people in our party ranging from their early twenties to some in their early eighties including a one year old baby. We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our rooms. We had a ground floor room and three rooms on the upper floors which all had lovely balcony's which looked out at the beach and the South China Sea. Our rooms were spacious although a bit dark. This seems to be the case with most place in the Philippines including Marina Gardens. Electricity is only available in El Nido from 3 PM to 6 AM and the room at 6 AM was still dark so using a flashlight to locate items is necessary. The rooms are basic but I found them clean and comfortable. My only recommendation would be that if there was a way to brighten up the rooms, lighter paint perhaps to make the room feel a bit brighter would be an added benefit. Lets face it though with so much outdoor activity the spent in the room is minimal. And mirrors in the bathrooms, some of rooms had them but some did not.

Just before 6 AM the staff quietly tiptoe onto the balcony and leave a thermos of hot water and instant coffee (3 in 1). This means you can get up and sit and drink your coffee while watching the beautiful sunrise on your balcony. After we enjoyed our coffee one of us would then head down and order our breakfast choice and before too long it was delivered right to our balcony. As I mentioned there were several options for breakfast and two of our favorites were the banana pancakes and the omelets.

There is no hot water at Gloria and Rico's and a couple of us in our party, myself included found cold showers a bit difficult. We found a work around and the staff at Gloria and Rico's were so helpful in this regard. We would get an extra thermos of water and add it to the pail in our room then add some cold water. We then scooped the water using our little ladle and we had a hot shower, it worked like a charm. We did this after a day of Island hoping too and after asking for the water the staff would deliver the water to our room. My husband didn't mind the cold shower but I prefer hot water and this was a wonderful way to improvise.

We were able to book Island Hoping excursions right at Gloria and Rico's with considerable ease. Note - If you want a private boat for just you and your party just make sure that you make this clear an they will assume you are looking for the most cost effective option and book you with others which is a great way to meet people but for us we had a one year old and wanted the option to cut the trip short if necessary. The staff here are very friendly and offered lots of ideas for places to visit, alternate beaches too which were just a short ride away by trike.

When I go back to El Nido, Gloria and Rico's will be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryTuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabuyao
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Awesome deck view especially in the morning! Perfect for breakfast. I love the food service and the accessibility to the boat rides. My only concern is the lack of facilities in the bathroom, it badly needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eingefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Aurora, Aurora, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

It's my first time at Rico's Cottage. I already seen this space last time when I was in El Nido. It located downtown El Nido at the beach. Staff are very nice, rooms are clean. But you pay for the location not for the rooms. If you want to get up in the morning and have a nice view to the bay this is the place.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJay_JPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

the room is clean, staff are nice. good view located by the beach. has a nice patio where you can have your breakfast.
The only problem is out breakfast is always served late.
Hmmm... how come they serve the foreigners first before the Filipinos. 7:00 am breakfast is served either at 8:00 am or later. We've tried to notify the staff to serve or meal exactly at 7 am because we are trying to catch a bus, still they served it late.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Located in El Nido Downtown, you basically pay for the location, not for the services.

One night during the peak season costs 30USD, quite expensive for a mattress, a dirty electric fan, a dirty bathroom (No Shower and dirty mirror) and no breakfast (Tea or coffee included)

They nevertheless have a nice terrasse, front beach for you to chill out and enjoy the sunrise.

We went there three years ago and wanted to come back as we have a great experience at that time .. Unfortunately nothing changed in three years, no improvement, no reparation done, and 50% more expensive !

I would suggest to find a place outside from El Nido town, more affordable, more quiet and cleaner !

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms have a balcony - Front beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My son and I spent 10 days in El Nido in mid-January 2013. We stayed at Rico's on recommendation of friends. Absolutely fabulous. My son was upstairs and I was below him. Right on the beach. Air-conditioning came on reliably at 2.00 pm each day. Going to sleep listening to Mozart with waves lapping the sand right outside my open glass doors was magical. Charming and obliging staff. Right in the middle of all the El Nido "action" but always peaceful. To use the words of General Douglas MacArthur - "I shall return" and will stay at Rico's. In fact I would happily live out my remaining years right there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#22 of 92 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mina Grande Beach Cottages
0.0 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
balay Paragua B&B
balay Paragua B&B
#19 of 86 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Floresita's Beach Resort
Floresita's Beach Resort
#30 of 86 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#49 of 86 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria's and Rico's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria's and Rico's Cottages

Property: Gloria's and Rico's Cottages
Address: Hama Street, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Also Known As:
Gloria's And Rico's Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing