We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing beachfront property for the budget finder”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tandikan Beach Cottages
Ranked #73 of 114 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Tandikan for 8 nights and enjoyed our time. It was very cheap and very basic. It is a large step above a hostel but one of the most breathtaking views you could come across in El Nido.
The porch looks out over one of the most scenic views in the world and you could sit there for hours taking it in (which we did).
The family that runs the place is always there with a smile on their face and wants to help. We booked Tour A through them and they got us a great discount. If you have questions about the town they are pretty knowledgable.
This is in El Nido, so the electricity does go off at 6AM and sometimes does not go back on until 4pm (but mostly 230ish), and there is no generator. This is not a problem unless it is very hot and you do not have the use of the fan.
The one suggestion I do have for the place is they put screens on the windows to protect against mosquitoes or supply a mosquito net for the room.
Other then that, this place is definitely a place I would stay again. You cannot get a cheaper beachfront spot in El Nido.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiered in price. The closer you get to the water, the more expensive, unless you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We came across the Tandikan Beach Cottages in the evening after being badly let down by the hotel we had originally made a reservation with. The family Fernandez made us feel very welcome and were able, at VERY short notice, to give us a cottage on the beach at a very reasonable rate (900 pesos) which included breakfast on the porch - this made our daily breakfast facing Cadlao Island a memorable meal.

We were able to rent their kayak which made for an enjoyable day out although I don't think we'll be winning any Olympic medals in the future!

All in all, a great week and this was, in no small part, due to the family Fernandez.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0ny_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here for five nights in a double room right at the beach. For 1100 pesos we got the double room with a private bathroom, fan and breakfast included. Room is clean and OK. Breakfast is served on the porch with view on the beach. It is simple but a good start for the day. Your room will not be cleaned every day. If you want new towels you have to ask for them. Because electricity is cut every morning in El Nido, your fan will stop working in the morning as Tandikan does not have a generator.

Overall a good place to stay and great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wouter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our beach front cottage was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast on our porch every day (included). The owners were very very helpful. It was no problem to store our luggage on out last day in El Nido in their house and they even asked some their friend to provide us a shower in his house, as we were leaving El Nido around midnight and already had no room. Unbelievable! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tereza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The cottage is right on the beach and you can't go wrong @ 900 pesos. Clean rooms, friendly staff, free wifi, cheap on-site laundry service.

I was pleasantly surprised that my reservation actually worked! I basically showed up middle of the night and quietly checked into my rustic, clean room.

Jane can arrange everything from bicycle & motorbike rental to island hopping tours. Heck, you could even ask her if you can come with them on their motorcycle when they visit their farm out by Baratuan area; they're quite friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

As a backpacker what more can you ask for? Its right on the beach front, its cheap and clean and the staff are lovely.

After so many nightmare places we stayed in the Philippines this place put our faith back in our judgement! If we are back in this part of the world we would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

we had reserved for dara's cottages but when we get there there no vacant.hahah.. that why we move to tandikan. they are very hospitable very kind specially ate Jane who's handling Tandikan and i do'nt believe their are thieves like one previous comment. i will never believe that.we stay 1 week and it was so excellent for us. so cheap, clean, service and location. no need for expensive hotel rooms coz you have tour every day and you have so much activity by land or beaches..we recommend the tandikan best of the best .. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flowgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#26 of 114 in El Nido
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Nido Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Makulay Lodge & Villas
Makulay Lodge & Villas
#38 of 114 in El Nido
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
0.0 mi away
Kalinga Beach Resort
Kalinga Beach Resort
#72 of 114 in El Nido
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bulskamp Inn
Bulskamp Inn
#2 of 101 in El Nido
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandikan Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandikan Beach Cottages

Address: El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 114 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tandikan Beach Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing