We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a few nights, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tandikan Beach Cottages
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK for a few nights, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms that wasn't ocean facing for 6 nights. First few nights ok, but then as minimal air flow through the room, we found it constantly felt damp, the bathroom smelt, no fly screens on the windows so Mosquitos were a bit of a problem.
We had a fan room only and with limited electricity(El Nido everywhere) can be a struggle.
No flushing toilet, but that wasn't an issue, just a basic bathroom.
We found it difficult to contact them to try to make a booking in advance.
The location is great, the 'Tour Boats' tend to start and finish the day right out the front, it is a clean and reasonable section of beach at the front with a small verandah area looking out over some beautiful scenery. The front verandah is a great place to enjoy the simple, but nice and varied breakfast they prepare and a great place to down a beer at days end.
We did tour A and C through them, they have their own boat and the guide and boatmen were great and the food was some off the best we had that was served for lunch on tour.
We also hired a kayak from them.
Its reasonably cheap and very basic in a fantastic location. We would stay again if for 2 to 3 nights, but if we were staying longer we would look for something a bit more 'Airy and fresh'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePaul40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford Shropshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Found Tandikan on arrival at El NIdo. We had one of the sea view rooms with a large balcony and an amazing view of the bay. The room was large with two double beds. Unfortunately this is where the good points end. The bathroom was tiny and basic, cold shower none flush toilet, which is fine. But it was filthy. The sink looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months, mould, dead bugs, grime and bits of soap wrappers everywhere. The room smelt and constantly felt damp. We were there in off season, so there was a lot of rain but the sheets smelt like they hadn't been replaced in quite some time. We stayed only one night to find somewhere cleaner. It's a shame as the view was great, but there were other beachfront places which were much nicer.

Room Tip: If you're only after a good view go for a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewgege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Palawan Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I booked Tandikan by calling Jane (owner) directly from a contact number I found online. First of, Jane is a very friendly and reassuring host. Upon arrival in El Nido bus terminal, we took a tricycle (50 pesos for the whole trike) for the 10 minutes ride to Tandikan.

Location is perfect as it’s a beach front property. The duplex accommodation which have two family rooms are directly facing the ocean with a balcony, whereas 4 room have doors and windows facing the duplex but there’s a balcony at the end - the last room – facing the beach and shared by the 4 rooms, so whether you’re on the last room or the first, you’ll get to enjoy the view of Bacuit Bay on the balcony.

Rooms – small but clean and with ensuite toilet/shower. Large bed enough for two, a table, an electric fan, if you need an airconditioned room, you get to pay a higher rate. Fan room is 600, the last room beside the balcony is 700, aircon rooms are 1,200. Common Area – have big TV, but who needs to watch TV when you can watch the happenings and the breath-taking view of the bay on the balcony. Towels provided.

Staff – Janice and Jonjon – are very polite and friendly. Ask them for hot water for your coffee and they’re happy to oblige. You can book the boat tours (A, B & C) with Jane.

Aside from the good-natured staff and owner, the best thing about the place is its location, you needn’t walk far as the cleanest part of the beach without seaweeds or murky water is just in front of Tandikan, walk 50 meters on the left and it’s a bit rocky and shallow, whereas some meters on the right near the port and the water is a bit greasy and murky from the big boats and ferries docking on the port. Also, tour boats anchors in front of the place, so no need to walk far. Ministores are on the street side entrance of Tandikan, where you can buy some grocers stuff. Restaurants too are few strides away.

The place is quiet, no noisy groups, but if you’re looking for a happening place, it may not be for you, although there are couple of bars and restaurants that serve beers and liquors couple of minutes walk away like Seaslugs, Habibi, Ric Son’s, OG’s Restobar on the left while El Nido Corner is on the far right end of the beach.

Thermos for hot water is delivered anytime you need it for your coffee or tea, there’s a coffee sachet free every morning.

Clean place, budget-friendly room rates, friendly owner and staff, Tandikan is value for money.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The last room near the beach is good but you can hear talks from the people in the balcony, not nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheShoppelifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Tandikan for 8 nights and enjoyed our time. It was very cheap and very basic. It is a large step above a hostel but one of the most breathtaking views you could come across in El Nido.
The porch looks out over one of the most scenic views in the world and you could sit there for hours taking it in (which we did).
The family that runs the place is always there with a smile on their face and wants to help. We booked Tour A through them and they got us a great discount. If you have questions about the town they are pretty knowledgable.
This is in El Nido, so the electricity does go off at 6AM and sometimes does not go back on until 4pm (but mostly 230ish), and there is no generator. This is not a problem unless it is very hot and you do not have the use of the fan.
The one suggestion I do have for the place is they put screens on the windows to protect against mosquitoes or supply a mosquito net for the room.
Other then that, this place is definitely a place I would stay again. You cannot get a cheaper beachfront spot in El Nido.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiered in price. The closer you get to the water, the more expensive, unless you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We came across the Tandikan Beach Cottages in the evening after being badly let down by the hotel we had originally made a reservation with. The family Fernandez made us feel very welcome and were able, at VERY short notice, to give us a cottage on the beach at a very reasonable rate (900 pesos) which included breakfast on the porch - this made our daily breakfast facing Cadlao Island a memorable meal.

We were able to rent their kayak which made for an enjoyable day out although I don't think we'll be winning any Olympic medals in the future!

All in all, a great week and this was, in no small part, due to the family Fernandez.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0ny_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here for five nights in a double room right at the beach. For 1100 pesos we got the double room with a private bathroom, fan and breakfast included. Room is clean and OK. Breakfast is served on the porch with view on the beach. It is simple but a good start for the day. Your room will not be cleaned every day. If you want new towels you have to ask for them. Because electricity is cut every morning in El Nido, your fan will stop working in the morning as Tandikan does not have a generator.

Overall a good place to stay and great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wouter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our beach front cottage was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast on our porch every day (included). The owners were very very helpful. It was no problem to store our luggage on out last day in El Nido in their house and they even asked some their friend to provide us a shower in his house, as we were leaving El Nido around midnight and already had no room. Unbelievable! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#26 of 99 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Front Cottages
Island Front Cottages
#82 of 99 in El Nido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalinga Beach Resort
Kalinga Beach Resort
#74 of 99 in El Nido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
balay Paragua B&B
balay Paragua B&B
#21 of 90 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
0.0 mi away
Antonio Village Pension and Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandikan Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandikan Beach Cottages

Property: Tandikan Beach Cottages
Address: El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tandikan Beach Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing