We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Nido's Finest”
Review of Cadlao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadlao Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Accessible and affordable, world class service, scrumptious cuisines, very comfortable and clean room, 24 hour electricity, well-trained staffs. We toured the whole island and this is by far the greatest resort. Too bad we weren't able to stay for long because we didn't book reservations in advance and it was fully booked the following day, we only stayed for a night but we were utterly impressed by their outstanding service!

This is the perfect place especially for couples.

Tip: Book in advance because their rooms are selling like hot pancakes. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachaholiclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Cadlao Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked the Cadlao due to trip advisor reviews, it wasn't cheap, but we felt like a treat after a bit of travelling in Palawan. El Nido is a great place to go island hopping.

Pros
Staff are helpful & friendly
Restaurant is the highlight: great breakfast (included) and dinner menu good and reasonably priced. Location is excellent, on the beachfront with great views to the islands.
Tricycle service to El Nido itself (10 mins walk) complementary
The Resort has an excellent Tour Guide who took us out on a short island hopping trip on the last day.
Small but pleasant pool overlooking the beach.


Cons
Mosquitos. Would be good if they installed screens doors or nets in fan rooms (there is dengue fever in the area)
All rooms/bungalows face towards each other so privacy is an issue (can hear if someone coughs next door)
In house massage a little expensive (800, 350 in town). We stayed in a similar resort in Mindoro where the in-house massage was PHP 500 & laundry / other services very reasonably priced, as a result we always used the in house services.

Overall the resort is well managed with good attention to detail.

Room Tip: One of the rooms on the end, nearest the sea, would possibly be a little more private.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fraser97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After a very dissapointing experience at the El Nido Beach Resort the night before, we went for a 5 minute walk out of town and found this little gem of a resort.

24 hour power and WIFI. Very clean, nicely and simply designed ground level rooms with a full glass wall/door facing a long common courtyard. Excellent seaside restaurant with good winelist. A seperate area with one table can be booked for a romantic dinner; simple but nice. Nice pool though we never used it. I have seen cleaner pools but i have also seen a lot dirtier. The service we experienced was excellent. They were always pleasant an ensuring we had everything we required. The only improvement i would reccomend would be to have a small fridge in the room.

This would be a nice resort to just kick back for a day and read a book in a hammock. There is no sandy beach though; if that is a necessity for you, you will have to settle for a place in town. The staff were very helpful arranging a tricycle for us and all our dive gear to the El Nido port to catch the ferry to Coron.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountoMonteCristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We arrived to this wonderful place that has everything you need in order to relax and enjoy the beautiful surrounding. the rooms are very nice and clean and the place is very nicely decorated. the pool and the restaurant in front have great location.
The 5 minutes walk from the city let you forget everything and enjoy the place, but in reasonable distance from the city.
In addition they are the only hotel in El-nido with 24h electricity!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lital D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Me & my boyfriend had a vacation in this resort for 4days. When we arrived in Puerto Princesa we take a ride in van for almost 6hrs to reach El Nido. The travel was so tiring because almost half of the trip was rough road and during that time its raining in some part of Palawan. When we arrived in El Nido the hotel service fetched us & along the way we're talkin about that trip and thinkin if the 6hrs travel was worth it. When we arrived at the resort the person in charged welcomed us and assits us in our needs. The place was very nice, staff was accomodating, food was good, tour was worth it, we even had the tour twice 1st tour semi-private includes 5 islands and lunch, 2nd was we joined the group tour d next day w/c includes 7 islands and lunch. I miss their food, really taste good and also their fruits. Hay we really enjoyed and love this place and trip. surething we'll recommend this place to our family and friends for their vacation. And hopefully we'll be back again next time. Thanks so much for this wonderful trip :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

After endlessly looking for an affordable and close-to-town resort online, I was rewarded with finding Cadlao Resort. This is a relatively new resort with several cottage style rooms. The resort is located on its own beach front, facing Cadlao Island, hence the name of the resort. Its run by Ida and JB, who own the resort as well. This resort is a 10 minute walk to town, and a very nice walk at that. I would not recommend staying in the town of El Nido as its very noisy, unless you like noise. The resort will take you into town via their various motorcycles at no extra charge. The rooms were just great, can't think of anything that was not good, everything worked fine. The rooms are decorated in a kind of a Japanese style, very appealing. This resort is powered by solar panels, which worked great. Food served was french style but Asian, so kind of a mixture of both, and very tasty. Though I'm not a pool user per se, I did enjoy a dip in their very clean infinity pool. There isn't much of a beach in front of the resort, but the view of Cadlao Island directly across was enough for me. Most impressive was the staff, they were all superb and very helpful. Overall, this resort is top notch and the price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend this resort as the service, price, staff and owners were outstanding. Just on a side note, the island of Palawan is somewhat hard to get to. Chances are, you'll find yourself probably being pushed into using ITI airlines. I don't recommend this if you are just staying on Palawan itself. ITI were very slow to respond to emails/phone calls, and left my flight arrangements to the last second, which is not fun when you are vacationing. ITI services the outer island resorts, so you go on a waiting list if you're not flying to those outer islands. Therefore, I would recommend flying into Puerto Princesa and driving to El Nido, its a less problematic way to get there, albeit a lengthy ride, though the roads are getting better :-)

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be fine, as they are all close to the restaurant, reception, pool, and beach...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beenthere_10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

we have been in cadlao for 1 night after my brother reserved us in advanced 3 months before our arrive to the resort, the original reservation included 2 nights, but as we arrived to the resort a lot of the things there didn't meet our expectations of proper hosting, all the workers in the hotel look like they were not happy or doing things not like we used to see from other pinoy's, who were nice at all time and smiling, the owner is not a nice guy and quite patronized, the hotel charged us in a sum bigger than what we were supposed to pay (5500 instead of 3850). the resort has an amazing view and a very nice restaurant and pool, the town is 10 min walking which might b not nice at night cuz you need to cross a cemetery in the way to town and its dark at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadlao_Resort, Owner at Cadlao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Change in the rate per night
You requested to be up-graded to an Executive room (the first bungalow, the nearest to the sea) The initial booking was for an Eco Friendly room.
Please note that the late cancellation fee has been waived. Normally one night cancellation fee was due.

To go to town you don't need to cross a cemetery but pass next to it.
We provide free shuttle from and to the main beach of El Nido, by tricycle, from 7.00 am to 10.00 pm and also for late check in and early check out.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
7.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vellago Resort
Vellago Resort
#12 of 17 in El Nido
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
253 reviews
6.5 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
5.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadlao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadlao Resort

Address: Sitio Caalan St. Brgy. Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: £103 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadlao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadlao Resort & Restaurant gives its guests a unique hideaway with the ultimate pleasures. Travelers come from all around the world, from over 50 countries and counting, to this paradise nestled in El Nido, Palawan, Philippines. Here they feast on the most sumptuous international cuisine, in what has been known as the best restaurant in El Nido. Here they enjoy the best view of the biggest island in Bacuit Bay, Cadlao island, adrift in the blue waters of the South China Sea. Cadlao, in the local Cuyunin dialect, means "laughing". Come to Cadlao Resort & Restaurant to savor the sweetest smiles you'll ever have in your traveling life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cadlao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadlao Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing