We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“attracted by its color”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garnet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garnet
Ranked #71 of 90 El Nido B&B and Inns
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“attracted by its color”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I was here with my bf last year in May. It seems relatively new and they were stil works ongoing on the rooftop. After dinner one night, we did our evening walk down the streets in El Nido. We were staying on different hotel when we first arrived in El Nido. We saw Garnet and my bf did asked bout the rates and such. We were given special discounts as walk in n my bf placed a deposit.

We had great spacious room across the hallway. Hot beverages served 24/7. Thou no breakfast served, there were many cafe and cheap restaurants around. We got to try most of that as we were the only ones that stayed long there I believe.

Great job!!!

Room Tip: All you need to do is...ASK..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    43
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
16
50
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1,006 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Garnet for a few nights. The room I had was quite small but as a solo traveller, I didn't not mind. My room had an AC and a fan and both did work as long as electricity was on. The room was clean.

The bathroom is quite small and no shampoo or soap was provided so bring your own. The rooms lack a safety box but valuables can be stored in the hotel safe.

The neighboring rooster will wake you up at the crack of dawn, way before breakfast which is served across the street. Breakfast provides both western and Filipino style - all very good.

Staff is very friendly.

Keep in mind this is a budget hotel and there are no frills.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked this via agoda weeks before our trip. 4 travelling requesting family room. On arrival we were given a room with 2 tiny double beds... seriously not even wide enough for 2 to lie on. After negotiation we were offered a triple room wth an additional mattress on the floor. It was still very pokey, plus we had to pay extra!

The hotel was failrly clean and the staff were well pracised in clearing the sand at the end of each day. Breakfast was provided in a lovely beach restaurant; ths was welcoming and tasty.

It is located on a street that runs parallel with the beach so you can easily access the beach and all its restaurants / bars.

Power is an issue at this hotel. On our last night they had to cut all power as the air conditioning unit was on fire. this made sleep impossible and after an hour thankfully we had power back...

Unfortunately we didnt feel we could quite trust the staff during our stay as a bag was found opened on our return, luckily nothing had been taken, however we felt uneasy the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McSpawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILMAC09, Owner at Hotel Garnet, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
good day, im the owner of garnet hotel and as far i know there is no incident that our hotel was bring into the local authorities for stolen or lost things.maybe this guest just forgot to close their luggage and they thinked they did, people made mistake or sometimes forgot, they should consider that they forgot to do it. Our housekeeping staff are honest in fact there is an incident that our guest left money on his laundry that he gave to our housekeeping and the money was returned by my staff to the guest, the guest was so glad of their honesty,he even wrote it in his review, READ IT!!! my staff maybe poor but trying their best to make a living in a right way so it is not a righteous thing that you accused them of doing something that they did not actually do. maybe the problem was you are kind of people who cannot trust people around you and paranoid that every people around you wants something from you. if you dont lost anything and my staff has intesion of stealing, does it mean you dont have any valuable things left in your room? I dont think so! even a shirt or a shoes can be valuable for thieves. we are sorry you cannot trust people but its not our fault if your paranoids, we are trust worthy and respected people here in our small town and we would not ruin our own business for worthless accusation.thanks for staying anyway...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Stavanger, Norge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed at Garnet for 1 night only, so my impression is based on that. Good location, 2 minutte walk to beach and beach resturants, shops and bars around the hotel. Welcoming and nice staff, good room and bed. Breakfast is across the street at Hajibi bar and resturant, good breakfast that get you started.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is hard to miss the Garnet hotel since it is painted bright red and green and is the tallest building (four floors) on the main strip. Unfortunately, the neighbors have caught on and decided to also build an equally tall building next door, while the neighbor right in front of the hotel has “tried” to extend their rooftop, which all in restricts sea views of the bay. The only room, which has any sort of view, is room 9, which also comes with a balcony.

This hotel could be much more but it lacks any sort of character and atmosphere. A modern hotel with old dusty couches and low grade furniture located on every floor. This reception area was found dusty. The first room we were shown was at the side of the building and dark, fortunately the reception staff were very accommodating and relocated us to a brighter room (Room 9) when we asked. We were lucky.

Each room is supplied with TV, fan and aircon, however there is no double lock or security chain on the door. The fan was not working, while the TV investment is perhaps overkill for such a hotel type. Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis, one wonders why not since at the price charged it should be done.

We will not stay at this hotel again as there as other hotels located within the same area that look better.

Room Tip: Room #9 has a balcony, located on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I've stayed at close to 200 hotels in more than 50 countries, from $2 per night to $500 per night, but the Hotel Garnet was the worst experience I've ever had. It ended with the staff harassing my girlfriend and I as they followed us on motorbikes and the owner used local police to extort money from us.

Things seemed fine when we checked in--the windowless room didn't come with breakfast but was clean and relatively cheap. But when we checked out we were told the price was twice what they had quoted us the night before! Needless to say no prices were listed at reception and no receipt was given--we took them at their word and were scammed.

When we refused to pay the extra money constant harassment ensued, spurred by the owner. The staff seemed nice enough but the owner, who the police referred to as a local bully, apparently told them if we didn't pay the extra amount they would have to.

When we held our ground on the shake-down the police said they would lock me up if we didn't pay. After a day of this headache we paid half the amount.

I can't urge you strongly enough to choose anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookS244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILMAC09, Owner at Hotel Garnet, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Good day, im the owner of GARNET HOTEL and i would just like to say that no one doing the right thing has been extorted if that what he call it is.the guest was very uncooperative, the lady receptionist at nightshift is the one that accepted this guest and they check out early in the morning between 7-8am saying they will go back to puerto princesa , so as the morning shift receptionist always do is to check the guest registration form for the given rate for each guest but unfortunately they where different from what they heard(MISHEARD) so this guest strongly says that they will not pay more, as the owner i was consulted by the receptionist what to do and i told him that ask the guest to stay a little bit until the nightshift receptionist arrive to clarify the issue but the guest insisted to go so i think that this guest has no intention to pay the amount in the 1st place. we followed them, yes because we want to brought the conflict to the local police for legallity, if we wanted to harrast them then we dont have to call the authorities but we do it so everything can be solve peacefully.We found out later that they didn't go to puerto instead they just move to another hotel and use a different road just to confuse us where they are going knowing that the hotel they just transferred is just straight ahead of our hotel,so that was very intentional for me, i thought.so the local police invited them to the police station and even the Chief of Police is explaining to them that Garnet has no rate that low because it was peak season. even the fan rooms in elnido was ranging 1200-1500, which far on what we offered to them. The guy even threaten me that he is a journalist and he would write bad things about the hotel that he say " you choose i will pay you 1thousand pesos and do a lot of bad reviews or let us go without paying you". i got intimidated by his threat and said that do what ever he want just pay us what he owe the hotel .the tourism officer urge him to pay but he is too hard to explained with until the tourism officer ask me just to let them go and accept the 500pesos additional that he offered just to finish the conflict even if we has the right to hold them we didn't do it and just accepted the offer knowing that the police and the tourism officer has alot of important work pending because some people cannot understand and accept that they heard the rate wrong.but since they write us their promise revenge review we cannot let this matter pass again without explaining our side of the story, we have a lot of good things on our reviews and you can see that their review is nothing but personal. We are very sorry for the inconvinient and shame that YOU brought to YOURSELVES.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

stayed here last march (fiesta week), thru friend recommendation. the hotel is almost new from doors to the toilet. the staff are very hospitable (the real asset of this company). the price is justified by their service and facilities (all)... will recommend this to anyone including those travelling w families. 20 steps away from the beach...bfast is at habibi rest, accross the road, recommending the el nido especial, a must try for tourist.godbless and more pwer garnet hotel

Room Tip: no need to look for a beachfront... anyway, activities will not be there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berongski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.2 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#59 of 90 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buena's Haven Travelodge
Buena's Haven Travelodge
#18 of 99 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
balay Paragua B&B
balay Paragua B&B
#20 of 90 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
2.5 mi away
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
#35 of 99 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Our Melting Pot El Nido
Our Melting Pot El Nido
#5 of 99 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garnet

Property: Hotel Garnet
Address: Calle Hama, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garnet 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Garnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garnet El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing