We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
628
102
31
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
102
31
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach villa main restaurant complimentary activities pool bar el nido resorts reef sharks straw hats banana chips small lagoon viewing deck lagoon tour the general manager private dinner on the beach monitor lizards the resort manager huge bathroom sunrise hike
Filter
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed almost a week. The staff were warm and attentive without being overwhelming. The food was extraordinarily well presented, fresh, and tasty. The accommodations were luxurious in space and quality. We stayed in a beach villa and loved our trip being narrated by the surf, three meters away from our deck all week. The hike to the observatory at the top of the island was a great diversion from relaxing. The snorkeling in the cove was some of the best I've ever experienced anywhere in the world. The activities staff encouraged guided experiences to other islands, swimming with sharks, kayaking, etc. If you want clubbing and people watching, this is not the place. But if you love nature and luxury, I can't imagine a better spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomevaluate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This place is beautiful and the service is phenomenal :) I felt like a queen for 3 days and 2 nights. My friend and I initially booked @ Lagen but decided to upgrade to Pangulasian , El Nido's newest and most exclusive resort . You will feel the warm hospitality from a mile away ...Literally! . As your boat approach the island , you can see the welcoming crew singing their hearts out and you are greeted by the general manager and ... wait for it...... your Butler!! It can't get any more luxurious than this. We stayed in two different villas, the first villa was beach front, we were impressed on how beautiful the room was. The decor is modern filipiniana, the bed is comfy with high thread count and the bathroom ,ahhhhh every girls dream. The second night we upgraded to the pool villa, same room configuration except there's a pool on the patio overlooking the beach. Our "butler" Martin aka "Dark Knight" aka "Choco-Martin" did an amazing job keeping us on track with our excursions. The island offers daily complimentary activities such as island hopping, snorkeling and kayaking (big and small lagoons) . Our new friends at Pangulasian (August,Martin and Chef Joshua ) surprised us with a private dinner on the beach and serenaded us with a couple of songs. Definitely made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Pool Villa 29 has the best view :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank iapple79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is the most beautiful island with a newly built 5* plus resort - and service standards to match.
An hour long flight from Manila in a 19 seater plan, a 40 minute boat trip and you are about as far away from city life as you can get.

The overwhelming impression is first of the total service commitment of all the staff on the island who cannot be praised highly enough. Czarina our "butler" was totally committed to ensuring we made the most of our time - much longer than from dawn to dusk!! No-one could have done more to ensure that we all had a totaly amazing time. The activities team provided amazing levels of support and made travelling around the islands. kayaking, snorkelling and scuba diving into a totally pleasurable and relaxing experience. The restaurant team were discrete but highly attentive.

Then there is the beauty - of Panagulasian Island itself and of the whole El Nido area. Breathtaking views are everywhere but the climb to the top of the island (5.30am start!!) to see the sun rise and sitting in a small boat to watch the sun set incredibly quickly provided images that will never fade.

This was a family reunion trip with 4 adults and 3 children aged 5 to 11. Worked well with the children as they are the kind who enjoyed the beach and quieter water sports - no water skiing or banana boats here!!

The buffet food is good and incredibly wide ranging in nature with chefs on hand to cook to order as necessary. Personally it was the fresh fruit that I enjoyed the most - mangoes have never tasted so good! We had an amazing table outside with astonishing panoramic views.

It really does not get ANY better than this.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! The main difference is that some open onto the beach, some have a (small!!) pool of their own, some are higher up with a better view of the water and other islands. It all depends on what is most important to you!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tonybennett900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Pangulasian is a breathtakingly beautiful private island. An immaculate luxury resort where the amazing location and first class service, staff and food easily justified the cost and time taken to get here. It is a long way from our home (New York), but was our Philippine highlight and is now one of our best ever holidays.

Arriving was an adventure itself, a small plane from Manila, a few minutes in a jeepney (jeep), then 30 minutes in a boat sailing by tiny islands, beaches and limescale cliffs, arriving as the sun was setting, Amazing!

We stayed in Canopy Villa 36, a large, gorgeous villa on stilts on the edge of the forest. A big balcony with ocean, sunrise and sunset views. And the occasional monkey in the trees!

We had come from 3 nights in sister property Lagen and did some trips from there (big, little lagoon, cave), so were happy to spend time at Pangulasian relaxing by the pool, and exploring the beach. We did one boat trip to the lagoons, and a guided snorkle at the beach, which was excellent. Without the guide we would have missed the turtle and some of the special fish.

Favorite memories;
- snorkeling, tropical fish nibbling my fingers, swimming with a sea turtle, seeing baby blacktip reef sharks
- sunbathing by the pool and watching a monkey in the trees above
- private, candlelit dinner for our anniversary
- thanksgiving dinner by the pool covered in candles, with live local music/dancing (tinikling!)
- 5.30am sunrise hike to the viewing deck with 360 views of El Nido

I would recommend...
- booking flights to arrive as early as possible and leave as late as possible, get as much island time as possible
- take a big camera memory card & underwater camera, so many amazing sun rise, sun set, monkeys, tropical fish and island life to photograph!
- if you like to snorkel, take a top to wear in the water, we don't have one and have the sun burn to prove it, after two hours in the water
- we stayed 3 nights, would have loved longer, 4 or 5...

Room Tip: Of the canopy villas, villa 36 is on the end and so the most private with the best sunrise and sunset views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the El Nido islands. We were in Miniloc and Lagen in 2010. this year, we wanted to experience their newest resort. We had Service deluxe with very knowledgeable and patient guides. Our butler Martin was always smiling and accommodating our requests. We had a special dinner for our anniversary where they set up a single dinner table under the full moon with lanterns to light our path. We had a special snorkling guide who helped us look for sharks and pawikans...the corals and the various fish were so pretty, we didn't notice we were swimming for 40 minutes already!. We took their sunrise hike up the mountain (30 mins up starting at 5:30am) and the 360 degrees view was breathtaking! A full moon on the west and the rising sun at the east....amazing!!!
The villas were fantastic!
So many things to do!
Highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: You have a choice between the canopy villas, the pool villas, or the beach villas
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flyingfriendlyskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews