We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sea and jungle experience in El Nido, literally”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea n Jungle Resort
Ranked #19 of 101 El Nido B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2014

PROS
- amazing view overlooking the bay
- good price
- privacy in your own balcony
- personal service
- secluded and quiet jungle surroundings but still a short walk to the town/bay

CONS
- no power generator
- bathroom and toilet problematic (in Room 2, Cottage 1)
- water has metallic smell
- the room is hot (ceiling fan was not strong enough for such a big room)
- bed was not made up nor the room and bathroom cleaned
- no fresh towels

We stayed at Room 2 at Sea n Jungle for 3 nights at the end of March and had a wonderful time. It's set on a steep hill surrounded by a jungle. Day and night we could hear the jungle wildlife while enjoying the fantastic view of the sea and the bay.

While Sea n Jungle is typical of a small outfit in that amenity standards are not always up to par but they make up for it in service. Their personalized service feels very authentic.

All in all, Sea n Jungle has the ambience, atmosphere, and service that makes for a memorable stay.

For my complete (and long version) review of Sea N Jungle, see my blog post at: http://wanderlusting.me/lifeinthephilippines/hotel-review/sea-n-jungle-budget-hotel-in-el-nido/

Room Tip: If you want the best view of the bay, cottage 1 cannot be beat, but if you want better and cozy room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlusterus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Wow, what can I say,stayed here for a few days while in el nido,where do I start,this place is heaven,lovely huts that stand out from the others,and the surroundings is perfect for that peace and quite,a few steps to climb,but paradise awaits you at the top,the view from the balcony is just breath taking,the owners Stephan and Olivia,go out of they way to make you feel like one of the family, they put you first which is what I like...thanks guys

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Amazing views from the huts. Worth the 100+ steps. Basic huts, ok beds, functioning toilet and wet room shower. No safe. Walls of woven grass matt, not very sound resistant, overgrown wild vegetation also adding to the rustic theme. Initially Owners/manager, German Stephan and Filipina Olivia seemed nice, accommodating and informative.

Day2 one room got broken into and robbed. 60, 000 peso(1,400usd/1,000euro) stolen from two suitcases. The room had a gap between the door and the frame, leaving the easily swiped lock exposed. The robbery happened in the middle of the day. The hotel had no security! No watchmen, no fence, along a public walkway, badly lit at night, overgrown bushes, set about 100m into a rural residential area where everyone could see you leave.

Upon reporting to manager/owner, he prioritized his beer over discussing the situation. Then told us NOT to inform police, questioned our integrity, acted shocked that theft existed?!, defended the easily cracked door, no hotel investigation and quote “hey, it's only money guys”. We felt exposed, frustrated, undermined and really UNSAFE, we left but got no compensation for three rooms. Unprofessional and condescending, shamming Philippine hospitality, clientele safety should be number one priority...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveaLagrada, Manager at Sea n Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

This review is completetly wrong and a lie!!
The author stayed anonymous, but must be part of a Philippine/German family, we had as guest 2 weeks ago.
First of all: We are NO HOTEL, only a small pension.
There is only one single accessway there: The stairway, where, as the author mentionend by himself, everybody can see people walking up and down!
Why should a robber choose this place? In case somebody’s coming from up or downstairs he would be in a trap. And why should somebody do the exhausting walk up 110 steps and break in a room without having any clue, whether there are precious things inside?? As are guests told us, the wallet and the watch was still there! And in the room next door, just 5 meters away, was not broken in, the precious underwater camera was still inside!!
But even if there was are robbery WE ARE THE ONE to talk to our guests: “You want to call the police”???
But they didn’t like! Instead they went down for dinner!!!!
Late evening they come back, changing their mind. They wanted to go to the police just for the insurance!! Unbelievable, 6 hours after the claimed “robbery”!! And they didn’t even have a receipt from an ATM!!
But they kept us busy half night talking with the police, which came to our place!!
Is that’s like “manager didn’t care”???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Sea n' Jungle is a combination of simplicity,beauty and economy! This place will challenge you at first but will let you savor the victory when you reach the top of your more or less 200 steps uphill climb! This place has the best view in town and will make you thank the Lord for every morning you wake up because of the scenery set out for you to see! I recommend you to get one of their 2 single detached rooms. It has it's own balcony(all of the rooms have their own too) and you'll like the native design of the house. The bathroom is pretty basic but definitely clean and spacious. They also have a small clothesline with hangers so if washing your clothes is an option well you can do it here. You'll have free instant coffee and tea in your veranda's table so that's definitely a plus. The place is also just 10 minutes walk away from the town proper so it's no fuss when you want to go out at night. Just be sure to have the mindset of conquering the 195 steps on your way back. Hehehe. Sleeping in this place is a wonderful experience too. You'll hear a lot of sounds that will cradle you to sleep. Wind breezing through tree branches and leaves, geckos, lizards, birds etc.. Nature at it's finest. Olivea and Stefan(the owners) are very nice! They are always there to be of help. You just have to ask them and they'll give you helpful tips. Olivea is very hospitable, she even gave us balm for the rashes we had on our tours. Very nice of her. You can ask her for the tours, the places to eat and drink, the people you can look for around town that can be of help. So definitely you'll never have any problem with the owners. On our stay we paid php1500/night so it's pretty economical for this kind of lodging in El Nido. Even though it's not beach front it has a different vibe to it. You'll feel secluded from the town and have peace and quiet in this place. I would just like to suggest one thing though, maybe they can serve breakfast in the future. A simple breakfast will do because they don't serve breakfast just yet and you have to go down town to have breakfast. So olivea if you read this serve na kayo ng breakfast next time po. Yun na lang ang kulang! Hehehehe. But don't get me wrong i'm not complaining. I love this place. So there you have it. Try this place and you'll fall in love with the view and the adventure it will give you! Thank you olivea and stefan!! And we're the first filipino guests they had! So i'm glad to be the first!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here 3 nights leading up to New Years 2014.

The reason to stay here is the view. Period. It may very well be the best in town. (El Nido Viewdeck Inn is also good but still inferior, while El Nido Overlooking might compete, but we didn't go there.) You get a great view of El Nido and the bay, all framed by the surrounding jungle. And in the jungle itself, its pretty easy to spot monkeys swinging around.

The rooms are fine, but nothing special. There are no hot showers or air conditioning. You do however have a fan and mosquito net and between the two we had no trouble with insects inside the room. We did have a few problems with the water however. Two or three times our water stopped working due temporary problems, but each time it was quickly fixed.

Also, for the price, they should include breakfast, as is done at comparably priced places, but they do not. In fact, there is no restaurant at all here, so you will have to walk down to town to eat. Its not far at all (5-10m walk), but there are a lot of stairs involved.

All things considered, I recommend including 1-3 nights here during a stay in El Nido, just to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djstrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The huts are up a lot of steps which is actually grand, except with your bag in the heat. Hut is very basic with cold water shower. Olivea was very friendly and helped organise our boat trip with no fuss. Good budget option but maybe not as nice as the reviews make it out to be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFabrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful view and nice people. Definitely a place to stay longer. Maybe the best accommodation in El Nido. At night its really quiet and you can here relaxing jungle sounds (monkeys, geckos, bats etc...). Stefan and Olivea became friends. You can get everything there, from laundry, to breakfast, to drinks. And the 180 steps upstairs is a good fitness program. You are save there, even when a typhoone hits El Nido.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Ingeniou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.0 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
0.0 mi away
Mansion Buenavista
Mansion Buenavista
#3 of 101 in El Nido
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Erlittop Garden
Erlittop Garden
#15 of 101 in El Nido
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bulskamp Inn
Bulskamp Inn
#2 of 101 in El Nido
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ursula Beach Club
Ursula Beach Club
#12 of 101 in El Nido
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea n Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea n Jungle Resort

Address: Main Street, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea n' Jungle.Rooms to rent overlooking El Nido We just added 2 more cottages!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea n Jungle Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing