We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
729
209
45
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
209
45
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big lagoon el nido resorts big mac jack fish garden cottage water cottages sister resort entalula beach club full board meals activity coordinator buffet style buffet lunch boat ride our honeymoon resort staff marine life private dinner
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

El Nido Resorts, Miniloc Island, is a nice place to relax. However, I noticed that in our stay of 3 days and 2 nights, the food seems to be basically the same, with little or no variaion, except for some items which our group provided ourselves.
Also, we had a horrible expirience during our last night in the Resort. We were scheduled to have dinner in a raft in the Big Lagoon. However, while dinner was being served, there was a sudden downpour, and we had no choice but to go back to the abandon the planned dinner at the raft and go back to the main resturant. There were three (3) boats used to ferry Us back. Unfortunately, I was in the second boat and on the way back, the steering cable of the boat snapped and broke. It was pitch dark and our boat did not have any light at all. In fact, the 3rd boat behind us, almost rammed into our boat in the middle of the sea. Also, none of the our boat crew was carrying a radio to communicate and seek help in situations like that.

I wish the resort would be prudent enough to see and take measures to ensure the safety of their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aquilalegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My sister, a friend and I stayed there for 3 nights. 
What I liked: cleanliness, beauty of the scenery /island (just near small lagoon), great staff very helpful and loooot of activities! 
Yes, the staff was very nice and helpful, they know all the good spot, the dive guides are great and they all help to organize my sister's birthday! 
They offered us a cake, played songs and even gave a present to my sister! :) 

We can do kayak, stand up paddle, volley ball, badminton, table tennis, snorkelling. All of these activities are included in the price. Extra charge for diving.
 Food is very good and with plenty of choice! 

The only negative point: the management! We had great difficulties to join them: we send many many mails to know how to get there, but no answer. We got to call them but here again, we got to call many times before someone answers. 
We booked the room for 3 peoples so there was an extra charge for the third person. The website we booked the hotel on, said it was $3/night but actually it was $120/night and the manager wanted us to pay whereas it is said in the mail of confirmation that the hotel is responsable if there is a mistake! 
We spend a whole hour to argue about it and finally didn't have to pay. 
The thing is that the manager came to talk to us whereas we had dinner. He could have wait until we were done! So we were a little bit upset about that! 

Except this unpleasant episode, everything was great. I just suggest to stay 3 days 2 nights is enough if dont dive. 

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked our trip with www.ImagineAsia.co.uk and had good advice based on local knowledge and a good local handling agent. We were originally meant to break spend a week in el nido with a few days in Apulit and a few in Miniloc. A late change in flight times by PA resulted in our flights from HK arriving too late for the Apulit transfer, Imagine Asia and El Nido Resorts were great sorting out a change in the programme, and we ended up staying in Lagen and Miniloc, and had an upgrade thrown in. Both resorts are really nice places to stay, we were 2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 11. We went diving, snorkelling, boat trips to all of the local breach clubs, sailing and windsurfing, kayaking. The local staff were outstanding, make sure you speak to the organising staff as they come round the tables at night and book as many trips as possible ( all included in the hotel booking). The food was good, don't expect high cuisine, but its good, fresh and varied. Again don't expect the Six Senses, or the 6 star nonsense you get in the middle east, the rooms and decor are more 4 star, we liked the lack of pretension. Highly recommended, I would split the visit as we did between two resorts, Miniloc /Lagen if you like a pool and have kids, Pangalusian if you are on a honeymoon like trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElNidoResorts P, Public Relations Manager at El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you and we look forward to your return on the islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Fabulous welcome as you step off the plane. Then boat out to the island. Then an amazing welcome by the staff - its their speciality! Did a 5am canoe trip across the bay that was magical. Had monkeys dropping coconuts on the bedroom roof but i didnt mind. Was invited to let loose some new born turtles. Oh and the diving was brilliant. Loved this trip to philippines and will go again. Reception at airport in manilla was 5 star too!

Room Tip: Didnt have the beach villa but didnt mind. Take care if you do the traditional dancing. The wooden poles can be dangerous.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datavalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElNidoResorts P, Public Relations Manager at El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We are glad that you were able to help us release and make sure those turtle hatchlings reach the sea. Great that you enjoyed your stay in Miniloc. We hope to see you soon in our other islands. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

what i liked most:

1. Pristine beach, nature, lagoons, marine life
2. Great buffet whether it be for breakfast, lunch or dinner, their selection and range of food were really great and of good quality
3. Staff service, high up there, experienced one of the best services, very professional, whether it be the concierge, guide to the lagoons or snorkeling around, orientation on the gears or dining area concerns
4. Beachside Cottage Room - modern and spacious! :)

what needs improvement:

1. the island hopping tour needs to provide mineral water for guests while touring around
2. check the shower heater in the rooms before leasing it out to your guests

Room Tip: better to choose the beachside cottages, more value for your money :)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinumspg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews