We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this resort in October of 2012. Almost a year later I still day dream about my time there. We booked a garden cabin and it was very lovely and clean! We were greeted with a Filipino song and a fresh coconut drink. The food was good with plenty of variety. They plan your day according to what you would like to do and how busy you would like to be. If you enjoy snorkeling this is the place for you! Since it is a wildlife preserve, the number and variation of fish is countless! I saw fish that I never knew existed!! Warning is not to hang out in one spot for too long, if you happen to be over a fish nest you will get bitten and it will likely draw blood like it did for me! There were jelly fish too but they had stings similar to a horse fly, annoying but not enough to keep you from swimming. We were able to take out the kayak as much as we wanted and we toured the islands nearby and watched the sunset from our kayak. Absolutely beautiful!!
The one thing I would complain about is that we never received a phone call for a morning wake up. We wanted to go on a sunrise tour. We were there for four nights (you need a minimum of 4 to see everything) We requested a wakeup call every morning and when we complained about it they said the reason why they didn't call is because they thought the water was too low. In their defense it was low but still high enough for us to enjoy it (we set our own alarm on the last day). We went to the big lagoon for sunrise and it was well worth getting up early. We saw all sorts of wildlife and we had the whole lagoon to ourselves. We certainly would have missed out had we not set our own alarm!
Also there wasn't much to do in the evenings. We just went to bed early to make the most of the morning. We will most definitely be returning. It is well worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    175
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
213
376
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Vincent de Tyrosse
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 5 nights in the miniloc and 4 in the Pangalusian.
Our experience was amazing!
We really enjoy our stay in Miniloc. Everything is well organised, the staff is outstanding and the place itself is paradise.
When you arrive you are welcome by the staff with dance and music and a delicious fresh Young coconut.drink, called 'Uboku' or something like that :) and it's alcohol-free.
Then you are introduced to your steward which will organize with you your stay: every day, you plan the day after... very good!
The perfect planning:
- Wake up at 6am to see the sunrise on the deck
- then have the breakfast in the little restaurant with view on the bay (excellent breakfast, mango are incredible...)
- then ask the staff to bring you to the small lagoon with a kayak (it's free) and leave at maximum 8am
- after 15mn, you arrive in the entrance of the small lagoon... no one is there; you have one hour without anyone. You can go with your kayack in the small lagoon throught a little hole in the rock.
- After one hour, people start to arrive, you go out from the small lagoon to go to this little desert beach in the entrance of the small lagoon. Then start snorkling!! There is a crazy coral bay colorful and I've seen twice a eagle ray (in 2 different days).
- Your boy is there, waiting for you to go back to the miniloc... it's 11.30am
- Once back in the resort you leave to have a picnic in the beach club Entalula (that you've booked with the staff the day before)!!! You arrive there and choose one of the little hut to let your towels and paddle. Then you go and sit under the coconut trees, the staff arrive with a big plate full of delicious fresh food... amazing
- After eating you can snorkle among amazing fish just in front of the main beach or climb the rocks arrounds with safety equipment.
- Once you've burnt enough, you leave entalula to go back to Miniloc and have a fresh shower in your deluxe seaview room.
- Go to the bar in front of the bay and order another 'Uboku'
- It's time for the diner, so choose a table on the beach, the show will start soon...
- Good evening, good food you arrive in your room, there is a little leaf on the bed: Good night Mr & Mrs XXX (every evening they write you something)

There are not many things to change there:
- maybe the prices (drinks are fiveb times higher than the mainland El Nido city)
- the little souvenir shop is very poor, no choice, very disapointing. Even for them it would be another way to earn money.
- massages are not good. It doesn't worst the money. We tried in two different resorts (Miniloc and Pangulasian) and it was painful and not professional.


So we would say that the best there are the staff and the place itself. Food is good and varied but not incredible. Don't hesitate to ask for anything, they will manage it (for free or not)

We would recommend you this place without any doubt. Go for it!

Room Tip: The deluxe seaview, first floor Spacious and very well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crisis_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are native in concept . Native means old, rustic . Its ok if its just native but the toilets needs renovation. The service and the food is really good . There are always fresh seafoods. If the rooms will be improved it would have been perfect . Our guide weng is very accomodating snd we are very satisfied with his service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessauy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

So last August 11-16, 2013.. my husband and I went there...

Sleepy and exhausted due to uncomfortable flight schedule from Jakarta.
From Ninoy Airport, you have to go to ITI hangar for island transfer.
Looking for breakfast at Ninoy arport could be tricky, but looking for ITI hangar was not as hard as we thought.
The small hangar was nice, the staff are helpful and effective. The snacks, coffee and tea were served on the table, the lounge was cozy, the bathroom was clean. Making us feel at ease already even though we were exhausted due to lack of sleep.

When we arrived at the Lio airport of the main island, we were greeted by pouring rain.
We had no idea that typhoon was approaching Manila!
It was a small small small airport...hiding behind all palm trees by the beach.
But the staff...OMG the staff were so organize! No hush no fush...and all under control...
Snacks, cofee and tea ready on the table, our lugages were checked, and we ready to be transfer by boat to Miniloc island!

Rain followed us to Miniloc island...
Aaaahhhh....the view!!! Like a heavy load lifted from my shoulder...the fresh air....just what we needed. The view is just like in the website. Simply Amazing...

We chose the water cottage, not too big, just right for the two of us. No TV, so bring your books! But no worries coz there are lotsa activities you want to experience there and you wont even miss your book! The room was cleaned 3 times a day, so when you get back to your room from activity, you'll find your room smell so fresh again!

The food were good and fresh. The staff were well trained, friendly, very helpfull, know the island so well and care for the environmental too! We were kayaking, snorkling and swimming despite the heavy rain. The fishes were so varies and beautiful, you can litteraly see variety of fishes just by swimming near the beach area!

Miniloc was probably more appropriate for family or those who experience Palawan island for the first time. Or a short honeymoon.

In short, it was an amazing experience!

Room Tip: For honeymooners - you probably want some privacy. So choose the water cottage. For family - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vey_travel_junkie_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona Del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Went to El Nido with my wife and two small children. Rooms weren't perfect. Food wasn't five star. Staff made mistakes. But the attitude of the staff (helpful, playful, and smiling) coupled with one of the most amazing natural settings on the planet renders this resort peerless. We had an excellent vacation and my kids still talk about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Princesa City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

When I saw the place only one word I whispered " Paradise". It's really a paradise! Perfect holiday destination for all ages, Specially to us.It has crystal clear sea water so we could snorkel and see those multicolored tropical fish. We also experience their beach bar and the most important, they have a friendly staff. We had our Island trips too, It was extremely fun and I may considered the climax of this tour experienced. The food was really delicious! They had the best sea food. Only one thing was a problem, the sunlight was so strong, so don't forget your sunblock when you go there specially in Island tour.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage is very native and natural, cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilivasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

From the very second that you step foot in the transfer lounge in Manila, everything runs like clockwork. The transfer hanger is on the main drag alongside the airport and a little tricky to find, but taxis will know "El Nido" more than Palawan or Miniloc as the destination. Once there, your bags are taken, and you are efficiently transferred by plane and boat to the island. In rough weather you'll be provided with towels and wet weather gear, and your bags will arrive bone dry. The transfer point from plane to boat has toilets, drinks and is well organised. This operation is military in its precision, and is not what you have most likely endured on any other trip around the Philippines.

You will be met at the island by the beautiful singing of the staff, and welcomed to enjoy a breakfast buffet of a high quality. There is fresh brewed coffee, but let me tell you that the coffee made at the bar by the beach is as good as in any café, and perfectly balanced.

The rooms are excellent, if a little small. The cleanliness is exceptional, and the air conditioning and ceiling fans keep the room cool; the power is not on if you are not in the room, so get two key cards and get in the habit of leaving one plugged in before you head to dinner to return to a cool oasis.

The staff are more than accommodating, and will happily organise any venture. There are free canoes with plenty of life jackets, and grab a pair of flippers and a mask for the week. There are loads of large fish in the harbour, but the big ones and the turtle reside just the other side of the breakwater, where the sea bed drops suddenly from 3 metres or so to 10+ metres. This shelf is rich with fish, although all coral is muted in colour, and sparse.

There is a small hidden cave on the head, just outside the breakwater, at the end of the beach huts on stilts. Little tricky to get in and out, but amazing inside. Take a canoe around the harbour to the left side of the resort (with the resort behind you) and you'll find a large lagoon hidden between the cracks of the cliff walls. Staff will guide you anywhere, and a boat hop around to any of the nearby beaches is easily arranged. Don't be surprised if an armed guard comes along for the ride, they take the welfare of guests very seriously.

The food is plentiful and of a high standard. Loads of seafood as you'd expect, but great stews, pasta dishes and a variety of meats at every serving also. There is an omelette bar at breakfast, and the chefs will whip up eggs anyway you like them. Fresh bread is always around, as well as pastries. Drinks are a little expensive, but you are on a remote island so get over it.

All in all, this place is a paradise, and if you want to do is hang about on a quiet beach, play some pool by the bar, have a game of table football, or drink a few cocktails, it is perfect. The sea is clear, and the photos you see are a very accurate depiction of what you'll get. Don't be fooled, this place is expensive, but you get world class quality.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms are quite small, but would suit a couple, or with two single beds there is just enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
19.8 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#11 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
2.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
24.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
#6 of 86 in Palawan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Property: El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in El Nido
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing