We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location and Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location and Great Service!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Miniloc Island is a truly beautiful place and the El Nido resort lived up to the location.

We had one of the overwater cottages and it was a delight to go to sleep listening to the water lapping below and to wake up to a wonderful view across the bay.

The snorkelling in the lagoon in front of the resort is great - made even better by the daily appearance of giant trevally who are fed from the jetty and a large school of small fish (Oxeyes?) who appear to be permanently located off the end of the jetty.

We had a special celebration for two of our party and booked a private dinner for five at the Big Lagoon beach. It was really special - the staff decorated the table for the occasion, and the food and wine service was very good, even though everything had come by speedboat from the resort.

The excursions from Miniloc are great also - Big Lagoon and Small Lagoon are must-see's and lunch at the Beach Club is also great. Plus there's diving and snorkelling trips to be had.

The only thing that was slightly less than excellent was the food. It's included in the tarriff (which is good) but the buffet was a bit average in quality and selection.

The staff, on the other hand, were outstanding; friendly and very helpful.

We had a great time and would happily go back again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jimandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    177
    42
    11
    12
See reviews for
221
388
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were fortunate to have perfect weather the whole time which made it even better, the service was amazing, as soon as you got on the boat heading the island everything felt like (and was) organised. We did most of the activities and found Miniloc Island to be very central to everything, we were asked the night prior what activities we would like to book, everyone addressed you by your first name, the guides were very helpful and knowledgeable, there were many different activities to do or you could just sit back and watch the day go by. The snorkelling was just off the jetty, it gave you something to do and see and to cool off at the same time. Highly recommend for anyone wanting to relax as well as do things in a relaxing way.

Room Tip: Don't take the cottage rooms down the back, there is a lack of water pressure and is annoying cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had our honeymoon in El Nido island, we thought of Miniloc & Lagen.
We tried to find out why there is a difference in price, and we knew when we went.
We stayed at Miniloc and went for a day use in Lagen.
Lagen is expensive because it is a luxurious resort and excellent for honeymooners.
Miniloc is best for families, rooms are really basic and need renovation.
Food in Lagen and Miniloc is almost the same.
Lagen has less access to close activities but Miniloc is central to activities.
Its your choice at the end :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ramy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stood in the resort as part of our honeymoon.
Facilities are great and staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. For example, everytime we got out of the water for an almost sunset snorkelling session, there was someone to hand us a towel

Island hopping tours are very intersting and guides are very knowledgeable to explain the sites such as small laggon and big lagoon.

Lots of activities you can participate in if you like but you can also just stay on the island and relax.

For divers: the place is top notch for snorkelling but not so impressive for scuba diving compared to other spots in the Philippines (but still very good)

Food was great with lots of fish (milk fish, rabbit fish, tuna, other fish) and meat as well as more European food if you don't like local food.

IMO the resort is better than Lagen because it is more central compared to all tours (15 minutes from small lagoon with the kayak) and has a better orientation regarding wind. Snorkelling is also better there.

I would definately be happy go back there again !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My second visit to El Nido. First time to stay at Miniloc. Staff VERY friendly, almost all of them addressed me by name. "Mr. David" for the entire stay. Great with activities even during the rain. Thatched villas was very quaint and adequate! Felt very Filipino. Very pleasant beach, enjoyed the evening sitting at the beach bar, sipping a drink and eating peanuts. At breakfast I got to watch the monkeys raid the whole fruit from the bar! Overall a great experience, great team. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

There are just three things that need to be noted:
1) food isn't that great, and I have this pet peeve with crooked/old spoon & forks
2) Miniloc is an old property, the water cottage isn't nice and the bathroom kinda scares me; the morning view is spectacular though
3) all boat rides take so long
Other than that, this place has made me love the beach. There are so many things that you can do and enjoy. I would like to name Simon who's very sincere and always checks how things were with us, and the guy from the island where we did windsurfing (forgot his name so sorry). He turned me into a Pro!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I'd always dreamed of staying in one of those resorts with bungalows over the water and I wasn't disappointed! El Nido resorts have about 4 or 5 properties on Palawan and while we had planned on staying at their Pangalusian resort, I'm glad it was full.

Miniloc Island Resort offered the friendliest people, beautiful scenery and exceptional attention to the customer's needs when it came to activities.

We stayed during rainy season, but that didn't dampen our fun in the least!(no pun intended). We were caught in heavy rain on our first day there and yet we were still snorkeling and paddle boarding...the water was so warm, just like bath water! The staff thought we were nuts! Haha

While not a fan of buffet style eating, it was fine for this place because they offered enough local options to not bore me as well as give me a taste of local filipino cuisine.

If I had to say something negative, there's only 1 small bar on the property and really just one small gift shop with hardly any options for purchasing drinks or souvenirs. And the drinks they do sell are mini bar prices, so it's not like you're gonna save money buy buying there and drinking in your room. I stuck with Happy Hour.

The rooms were clean and we got a nightly story and Palm leave with a message on it left on our step...which was a very nice touch. By the end of the trip, everyone knew our name.

If you're into nightlife and partying, this place is not for you...but if you want sheer tropical beauty and relaxing splendor...I highly recommend it. Getting massages in the bungalow by the water wasn't too shabby either.

El Nido handles everything, from their own chartered aircraft, to boat transfers from airport and inter-resort day trips once there. And if it was good enough to house the crew from SURVIVOR: Palawan (which incidentally was shot around that exact area), it was good enough for us!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
19.8 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
223 reviews
2.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
2.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
24.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
#6 of 86 in Palawan Island
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Property: El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#2 Spa Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing