We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday - great people, great activities, and great resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday - great people, great activities, and great resort!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My boyfriend and I with two other friends stayed here for 4 nights. It was a great resort with plenty of activities. Food was surprisingly good, especially the marinated BBQ beef! SO GOOD!! I read the review before booking the resort and stayed at Deluxe Sea View which is the most expensive room type. I like the room but next time I'd probably try Water Cottage which looks very nice from the outside (that photo on the homepage of the Miniloc Resort webpage is actually water cottage NOT deluxe seaview)

Going into the city would be a pain and I am not under the impression that the resort offer free transportation for that so we didn't bother. However, in addition to Miniloc, you can take the resort's shuttle boat to Lagen (around 40mins boat ride and there's a fresh water pool) or two other beach clubs. We only went to the nearest beach club and had lunch there - it was only around 20 mins boat ride form Miniloc and has beautiful white sand beach. Lunch there was lovely although not too different from what they serve at the resort.

Lots of activites to do around the resort - highly recommend snorkling and kayaking around the resort. Feeding jackfish and swimming with them is also lots of fun! Two of us did discovery dive which was a great experience and lots of of; the other two went through the whole open water PADI program in 3 days to become certified - friends have lots of fun and said it's not hardcore at all.

A very family friendly resort. The only downside is everything is basically closed at the resort at around 10pm (and when I say everything I meant the (only) little bar by the beach)..so if you are a group of young people - best bring some additional night time entertainment. We regretted not having brought pokers with us! Also we were a little shock that despite being on a sizable island, the resort itself is actually quite small so you can't really hike up the hill or walk around outside of the resort.

Be careful if you are taking ITI flight - I strongly suggest not to take the last flight of the day (3pm) to El Nido and the 2nd flight of the day from El Nido (1pm) during low seasons - they're often cancelled and with not much warning! That was the only thing that we could complain about the trip but once we discovered that the resort/ ITI immediately took great care in fixing the situation so we really don't have much complain over this. Last the not the least - we love the staff at this resort! Everyone seems genuinely happy and very attentive to every guest. I never said this but I actually think people at this resort was also part of the highlight of our trip! Definitely plan to come back at some point!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordofShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    177
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
217
380
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elberon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a 19 day Honeymoon in which part of this included a stay at Miniloc!!! WOW! By far this was the best place I have ever stayed in my life! From the airport in Manila which took us to El Nido, Palawan, Philippines to the greeting we received when we arrived at the airport and then at the resort, we were treated like celebrities by one of the nicest groups of people I have ever met (I was crying when I left.. they became our family away from home), the views were incredible, the food was out of this world, the water cottage (#1) was awesome in which we were away from the mainland and could sit on our balcony and watch the fish swim, listen to the waves crash on the rocks, and take in the scenic breathtaking views, and the options for "things to do" (if you wanted) were fantastic (Snorkeling, island hopping, private beach lunch, kayaking, paddle boarding, basketball, pool table, etc). I have to say that I don't think any other place on earth will ever compare to this experience. This was ABSOLUTE PARADISE!!!!!

Room Tip: The water cottage was the best and if you can, ask for #1 as it is the first one so the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenVanSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This place really wowed me. The moment we checked in for our flight it was VIP treatment. All the way to the island, it was very consistent and just beautiful. I couldn't stop gushing about how amazing this place was. Not just about the natural beauty of the islands itself, but the hotel, the food, the service and the people made it pretty special. It was worth every penny. A place i would love to go back to!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 3D4N, with 3 adults. Stayed at the cliff cottage hut. After all the research and pictures and activities we felt this property (miniloc) suit us the best (apulit, lagend, pangalusian are the other properties ) . We booked straight from their site which was no problem the inclusive package including the ITI air transportation. If you have enough time and haven't been to puerto princesa you can book the local airline to take you to that airport from manila, its cheaper but prepare to travel about 5-6hours to el nido town.
Here are the breakdown:
ITI terminal in MNL - does its job, they provide light snack, (don't come hungry) check you in discreetly, nice bathroom, and no issues with our 5ibs over-baggage
Arrival to LIO- took care of everything traveled a short distance on a cool bus to singing greeters then to another set up of drinks and light snack. This is where you will break up to your corresponding island resort and meet your guide. we got Oliver
Trip to miniloc-from LIO airport you take 30-40min boat(banca) to the resort i know it may seem long but you will forget about the time as you look at the cliff limestone and clear waters.
Arrival and Stay- as we docked we where greeted by a song, a leaf necklace and drinks. The resort manager (mike) offered to carry our bag and escorted us to the lobby. After a brief Dos and Donts about the hotel, we where asked to have our lunch which was buffet style. Rooms are a bit old but still have a great rustic filipino feel, the bathroom is outdated and water pressure is not that great(but gets the job done) after we settled in we went back to the lobby to plan the rest of the trip with Benjie our trip activity planner. I was a little confused with so many options on the piece of paper while she talks. After asking a couple questions and not even taking notes down Benjie confirmed our itinerary. Plan on meeting/making friends with other vacationers here, saw the same people from out flight, at the bar, island hoping which was cool because you realize how small the property was.
Activities- again all inclusive which included island hopping, snorkeling, kayak,long boards etc. Oliver was great and entertain us, he goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable specially to one of my friend who is not a great swimmer. He made sure he was okey and offered to do anything to make him have a good time. snorkeling in Miniloc beach front not that great but make sure to snorkel with the Jacks at the end of the pier as they feed them pretty cool see. Small and big lagoon of course must see. if you go to Lagend resort make sure to spend some time at the pool and hike behind the property. The hike is pretty intense so make sure you bring shoes and bug spray, you will be rewarded at the end and you have options how to come back to the property.
Food- food is great, we were on a routine with our breakfast lunch and dinner. Dont expect 4season foods but for where you are and what you pay the selections are good. Don't miss out on having lunch on their private beach or on their other properties. happy hour is 4-6p buy one get one free, san mig is 250 pesos you are in a resort a typical markup.
Service- out of the other 2 properties we visited Miniloc par non has the best service. When i was carrying 2 plates they carried the other one, our waters are always full. They know when to assist you and make sure you are having fun. our guide Oliver talked to us and asked if we were doing anything in the AM and offered us to come along with them on a snorkeling trip. I also forgot my water bottle and as soon as i called from the room they said it was on its way up.
Overall if you haven't stayed at any El Nido resorts you must try it once, whats great about it is that they have multiple properties and used ALL of them to enhance your stay. Cant wait to see the renovations, hope to come back soon. B.E. G.R.E.E.N :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRStravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Party of 4 booked a 3 night 4 day package including air directly on the El Nido website. The facilities were great, staff was always cheerful and helpful. Meals were mostly buffets with the exception of an excellent picnic lunch. Buffets were much better than resorts in the Americas. There is always something for everyone. Food was tasty. Must try the local Filipino dishes and dessert. The halo halo a mix of sweetened preserved fruit, beans , purple yam, creme caramel topped with crushed ice, milk andice cream was outstanding.

The excursions were accompnied by an experienced and helpful guide. We did snorkeling,
kayaking and stand up paddle boarding. The marine life was something not to be missed. Be sure to catch the feeding of the jack fish in the morning. Drinks are not included in the package and are priced at North American levels so relatively pricey for this part of the world.

The only sour note occured on our last day. We were supposed to depart the resort at 3 PM for a 5 PM flight back to Manila. The process is to leave by boat for the airport only when the plane from Manila departs. Rain and zero visibility at El Nido airport resulted in the last flight of the day getting cacelled at 5 PM. Our bags were off loaded and we checked back in to the resort.

Shortly after this we were told that there was a layover fee of 4000 pesos (about $100) per person
to stay 1 more night and depart the following morning for a 6 AM flight. I refused to pay as it was not my fault that the flight was cancelled. By the way the airline and the resort are separate compnies owned by the same conglomerate. Airlines in similar sitautions provide a hotel room and meal voucher. My complaint was escalated to Frank Merot the ranking manager. He then told me:
- this was a business and he cannot allow us to stay at resort unless we paid the layover fee
- it was not El Nido's fault that the flight was cancelled (I guess I was at fault since I was being asked to pay). I should go after the airline and get them to pay even though El Nido issued the invoice and collected payment for air fare
- he said the other option was he could have us taken to the town by boat and his staff would help us find cheaper accomodation. We would then have to make our own arrangements t get to the airport in the morning. By this time it was past 7PM and pitch black. The local staff told me it was not safe to travel at this time. It was apalling that Frank had higher regard for his bottom line than the safety of his guests. There were at least 16 of us in a similar sitation including 2 small children.
- Frank advised that if we stayed at the resort and did not pay the layover fee he would have his security detail detain us and prevent us from leaving. He did mention that this was not a threat tnough I don't know what it was.

I told him he can do what he wants but I am not leaving. After further discussion between Frank and the Resident Mgr they decided not to charge guests. I assume they were going to work something out with their colleagues in the airline. Kudos to Miniloc's resident manager who had a big picture view of the situation. BTW per the contract if you cannot arrive on the day of your reservation there is no refund for that missed day.

Lesson learned be sure you are clear on what the process is to handle similar situations as some will want to take advantage of a difficult situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JoeyMToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElNidoResorts P, Manager at El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our facilities, staff, food, activities, and also the rich natural environment of the resort. It was unfortunate that your wonderful vacation ended on a sour note because of unforeseen circumstances beyond the resort’s control.

El Nido Resorts takes great pride in ensuring its guests’ safety and security. We understand that there will be situations which are beyond our guests, the airlines and our control. During these instances, our team assists each guest to ensure that they are taken cared of and provided proper accommodations until their flights are cleared. In these rare situations, guests have the option to avail of El Nido Resorts layover rates which is a fraction of its normal rates. These rates are inclusive of all meals. As an alternative, guests may opt to avail of accommodations at the town proper.

Island Transvoyager Inc. our airline partner has its own company policies and procedures. Per the air passenger bill of rights of the Philippines, in case the air carrier, in this case, Island Transvoyager Inc. “cancels the flight because of force majeure, safety and/or security reasons, a passenger shall have the right to be reimbursed for the full value of the fare.” This is similar to the liability clause provided by international carriers due to Force Majeure. Force Majeure is any condition beyond the Airlines control, including weather, acts of God, riots, civil commotion, wars, hostilities, strikes, labor-related disputes, government regulation, shortage of labor or fuel, or other facts not foreseen by the Airline. If a flight is delayed, cancelled, or you miss a connection flight due to a Force Majeure Event (and this includes weather), the Airlines’ only obligation is to refund the passenger’s ticket.

We also offer a third party travel insurance which would cover these occurrences but also other any unforeseen difficulties in time of travels.

We hope that this explains why we offer these options as a convenience to our guests. We have taken note of your other concerns and rest assured these will be addressed accordingly. Once again we thank you for staying in El Nido Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From start to finish, Miniloc Island ensures that you and your family will have an experience to remember. Granted it is not inexpensive, but when you realize the room rate includes all meals and most activities, it is absolutely worth it. The staff is amazing, food delicious and surroundings beautiful. The only negative is that the rooms are a bit small, but that is a minor concern.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As a family of four we stayed for a week at this resort in the Philippines. Our two sons stayed in one of the chalets built on stilts over the water and we stayed in the lodge. Both accommodations were absolutely lovely! This resort is the El Nido resort to choose for water activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, boating, paddle boating, kayaking, etc. There is really not a more beautiful place in the whole world in our opinion. We fell in love with this resort!!!!! The food was great and the staff most accommodating!! We will definitely plan a trip to this paradise island again. We had a wonderful trip of a lifetime here!!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny with a large balcony. The views from any room are breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjpedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
19.8 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
2.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
24.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
El Nido Resorts Apulit Island
#6 of 86 in Palawan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island

Property: El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Address: Miniloc Island, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in El Nido
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miniloc Island is a rustic and charming hideaway reminiscent of a coastal village. Miniloc Island is located in El Nido, in northwestern Palawan. It takes a 75-minute direct flight from Manila to get to El Nido or a 6-hour travel by land from Puerto Princesa City (Palawan's Capital City).Miniloc Island Resort is tucked within a beautiful cove surrounded by towering limestone cliffs and a vibrant coral reef. It is a gateway to popular activity sites in a breath-taking location known for its high biodiversity. The resort has 50 cottages and rooms built in traditional Filipino design over the water, beside the beach, or surrounded by garden and limestone cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Resort Miniloc Island Hotel El Nido
Hotel El Nido
Resort El Nido
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing