We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, Basic amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MaryGold Beachfront Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in El Nido
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best location, Basic amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Room: townside room can accommodate 3. 2 real beds + 1 mattress on the floor. We git an adjoining room foe my other 2 friends. Slept soundly except when the aircon started making gurgling sounds due to ice.

Electricity: You'll be woken up by 6am when electricity goes off across town. Remember to charge all electronics at night after you come home from fabulous island hopping, electricity starts 2pm.

Breakfast: simple and included in the room rate. Best bet is the corned beed w/rice & egg. Fruits are good too!

Area: ideal! Townside is across a police station and they close a few meters of the street at night so it's quiet. Sea side is nice, beachfront and the spectacular view of Adlaw island await. Boat docks on this part so no need to rush to tour boat after breakfast. Dinner can be at any of the neighboring restaurants. Cool, laid-back town vibe.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank alexij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    125
    72
    13
    5
See reviews for
50
99
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked a standard room for 4 nights and was hoping we would get some view from our room but unfortunately we got the one that didn't have the view. But it was okay as we were out and about during the day anyway. Our room was neat and gets cleaned everyday but lacking ventilation. Bathroom's tiny. Breakfast was okay. What I liked about this place is its location - it's right on the beach with a nice view of Cadlao Island and close to everything - shops, restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mareeyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Marina Garden Hotel has great views and an awesome garden surrounding the hotel. Breakfast is very good with the staff knowing who you are and having a place for you to sit your first day there! Great location on the beach and only a few steps to your awaiting tour boat for the day, super fantastic! Room was a nice size and the bathroom clean and large as well. Wifi is only available at the lobby and only during when the power is on, but not a real problem as you are typically out all day island hopping. It is a little noisy as the hotel is on a road, but it does die down as it gets later in the night, so never had problem sleeping. What makes this hotel so amazing is the garden around the pool, very romantic and beautiful. If we are ever lucky enough to go back to El Nido, we will for sure stay here.

Room Tip: If the "Beach Front Cottage" is available, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxpower11260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We checked in marina garden at 2am aug. 24 and our room is ready and waiting for us. In the morning u could just lay down and relax at beach front enjoying the view. I notice dat only marina beachfront was the cleaness while other have drainage directly flowing to the sea. I salute marina garden in contributing for the waste management of el nido...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arlene111280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My travel friends and I only spend one night here, but it was a good choice. We arrived here after a long few days of travel, and the room size was great for the 3 of us. The beds were fairly comfortable, and we were all happy to have air conditioning, a fan, electricity, and internet! The room was also very clean. The price was great, and the location was good, right on the water, and we could walk all around El Nido.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RavenNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Marina Garden's location is hard to beat. It's right spot on where the boat operators dock. That means if you're cold and wet from swimming the whole day, you can go straight to your rooms upon alighting the boat. The room we got was newly painted. It was basic and a bit on the small side. The same goes for the bathroom. It suited our needs though so everthing was ok. Breakfast was plated with a number of choices. Marina Garden provided us a nice area where we could sit or swing on the hammock, feel the breeze and enjoy the stunning sights. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mba a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked this hotel as a part of our travel package. For the price, it is not bad considering the good location. The rooms are small but clean. Breakfast is excellent.

Mosquitos in our room was a bit of a problem but I was able to request for an insect spray from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjguanlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.5 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
7.0 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#9 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
APTR - A Place To Remember
4.0 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#7 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaryGold Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaryGold Beachfront Inn

Property: MaryGold Beachfront Inn
Address: Quezon Road (formerly Calle Hama) | Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines (Formerly Calle Hama)
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Nido
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#7 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of El Nido's first accommodations, MaryGold (formerly Marina Garden) is a small, family-owned inn located right on the beach, near everything you could need for your visit. Rooms are simple, clean, comfortable, and perfect for the middle-of-the-road traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Garden Beach Hotel El Nido
MaryGold Beachfront Inn El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing