We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Go Hotels Puerto Princesa(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Suites(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citystate Asturias Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centro(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aziza Paradise Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kawayanan Resort(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panja Resort Palawan(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palawan Uno Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
92
60
32
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
60
32
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonda baypooltricycletourtransport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked hotel over phone, as we were choosing out of 2 hotels in palawan. As soon as we got confirmation we canceled the 1st one. After we thought everything is settled they called as back and told thay after one night we will have to move to another room, as someone requested pool view !? Then they trasnfered us to a room with no view.
Food is poor, comes cold, coctails sounds international but tastes weird.
Watch out when ordering.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mindo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOberoi, Manager at Royal Oberoi Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Mindo S

Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Royal Oberoi.

I wanted to address some of your comments on our review.

We do apologise for having to move you to another room on the second day of your stay, but we had already booked that room two weeks previously. We did actually inform you about the room change on the phone when you booked your stay and at the time you did say that this was OK.

Our food and presentation of our food is some of the best on the island and I apologise if you didn't like it. All of our guests comment on how good their meals have been at the Royal Oberoi.

I would like to thank you again for your review. Reviews positive or negative are very important to us here at the Oberoi and we strive to make sure everybody has a perfect stay.

Best Regards
Terry Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had the most wonderful time in Puerto Princesa. We chose to stay at Royal Oberoi Resort from the recommendation of a friend. We booked a room for 2 adults and 2 older children. The room was clean and cozy, the mattresses were a little springy but we didn't go to The Philippines for the room. We were so happy with the resort. It is far away from the city and beaches, but we knew that beforehand. Mark, the owner of the resort was very accommodating. He helped us plan all of our tours and trips throughout Palawan. The pool was amazing and clean. The chef was fantastic. He even made food for us that wasn't on the menu. The staff was beyond helpful and so very nice. A ray of sunshine each and every time we needed something. The pool has a swim up bar and the drinks were very inexpensive. We enjoyed tours to the Underground River, to the neighboring islands, snorkeling and a city tour. Each time we were picked up at the resort and assisted along every stop along the way. We loved our trip and will forever be thankful for this amazing Spring Break trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessihead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

very nice place, big swimming pool with a little one for the kids.and specially very very good restaurant. we enjoyed alot the food there. our room was comfortable and clean with hot water and air conditioner. good breakfast. you can have your meal in sweeming pool area or in the restaurant. it is close to fruit and fish market so you can enjoy to take a walk .the only weak point is that it is far from nice see side

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManiaRonchail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I travelled Puerto Princessa with my family and friends and we were really excited about this vacation. On arrival at the hotel our first impression was not that great as the hotel reception area was quite small and very unlike of a "Royal Reception". When we entered our rooms we found rooms were clean however there was no view as window of one of the rooms were opening to the walls of other cottages. This was reported by my friend to front desk and it was well attended, we were shifted to better rooms (Suite Villas) with a nominal charge which made us little happy. Let me start with our experiences on each of the areas of this hotel:
1) Food and Beverage department :
Excellent Service : Will rate 5 star for the courteousness and willingness to serve the customers
Good Food Quality : Will rate 4.5 star as we are Vegetarians and the choices were limited but the Chef and his team tried their very best in providing us the best food we can have during our stay. The supplies in terms of variety of vegetables though need to be provided to F&B team to cater to the needs.
Great Hospitality : We were travelling with very young kids and the Chef and his team made us feel at home by catering to our kids special diet requirements. 5 Stars for that.
2) Facilities :

Pool :This resort has a huge pool (100 m) which looks very beautiful and eye pleasing with clean water. The only catch is that the water levels are quite deep (min 5 feet and max 8 feet) which restricts the usage of the pool to only the efficient swimmers and beginners like me sometime have to struggle (specially when on 3rd day of my stay water level were 3 inches more than my usual expected levels :-) 4 stars for the beautiful pool and pool bar.
The pool chairs were sufficient for us during our stay but would suggest to increase the numbers as if there would have been few guests more there would have been some shortage.

The management can think of adding some more options like snooker table or table tennis which can provide options of in house entertainment during a rainy day.

Spa : Our better halves tried the massage services being offered in the hotel and they seems to be satisfied 4 stars on that.

Quality of the Toilets and Shower near pool area can be improved a little bit.

3)Rooms and Villas : Our first impression of the suite villas was "wow" it was nicely decorated with wooden art effects every where. It was a two floor villa with beautiful wooden bed at the ground floor and the en suite bathroom. The wooden stairs lead us to the first floor which has 2 queen size beds, a TV and mini bar/fridge. Air conditioner was on the first floor and a fan is provided in the ground floor. The phone set was at the first floor which made us do some physical exercise every time it rang when we were at ground floor, thus a cordless or an extension at the ground floor is highly recommended, similarly a loo at the first floor will greatly help to the families with young kids :-).
There was a beautiful balcony with marble table but it faced the front side while the windows faced the pool side, how wonderful it would have been if balconies would have faced the pool side.
4 star for the rooms and Villas and the comfort level.

4) Wifi and Internet : The connectivity was available throughout the resort however signals were little weak, about which Manager Terry assured us that he is working on it.

We will definitely like to make special mention of the Chef and his team including the servers, front desk staff Mike, House keeping and Manager Terry.

Some minor hiccups, structural design and un availability of few things like fitness center or in house entertainment facilities made me give a 4 Star overall rating otherwise from service point of view its a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: If you are a family will advise to take Suite Villas which has beautiful view of swimming pool from the window and a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I and her two teen-aged nieces took a trip to Palawan at the end of the year and arrived at the Royal Oberoi with no expectations. One of the nieces joined us unexpectedly, so we were now four, and had only booked a room for three. The friendly staff easily accommodated us, with a minimal fee for the extra guest. The room (two rooms, actually), was very pleasant, clean, and spacious, with a few artsy touches, making us all feel right at home. Soon after arriving, I wandered out to the grounds, which were grand,, encompassing a lush tropical garden and a spectacular pool and deck. Alongside the pool, I found a tall smiling Dutch woman, entertaining her daughter in the pool, who I queried about local sights. She told me that she and her family were enjoying the grounds at the hotel so much that they were in no hurry to explore. In the next day of being at the Royal Oberoi, dining at their top notch restaurant, relaxing at the pool and enjoying the company of tourists from all over the Pacific, Europe, and the US, I experienced that very feeling conveyed to me by the Dutch visitor.

We very soon got to explore many of the sights in the local area and mix with the locals as well as enjoy their food. But the hotel was such a great restful experience for all of us in the group, that we were sad to leave there after our 3 1/2 day stay. This place really made our first stop in Palawan a great travel experience in itself.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nicely situated.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RTK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews