We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012 Oct stay”
Review of Duchess Pension

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duchess Pension
Ranked #125 of 189 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2012 Oct stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

good pts on:

1. our friend's child is free
2. i think the cheapest stay in Coron
3. personnels gave us privacy bec they dont care a lot (as if we arrived wet with sand fr island hopping or too late at nyt)
4. a 20 min walk fr the food chains/market
5. no deposit, no hidden charges

however:

1. seems personnels dont want to help guests. I asked if they have hot water available for my morning coffee.The men on the phone (fr Duchess Pension) said, twice, they have none. But I found out they have it in their pantry. I just wished they should have said 'just pay for it, it's not free' instead of me going out the place imagine just for a mug of hot water.

2. clean, aside from a clogged drain in our shower room

3. some noise at night coming from a videoke nearby store.

4. no welcome drinks/rain caller gift (fr a website info, they have these.but none)

5. curtains are undersized, sunlight made the aircon room hot.


over-all:
anyway if u just looking where to sleep in Puerto Princesa but most of your time will be spent outdoor, then avail Duchess Pension...

Room Tip: other here says choose room at the back away fr the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
5
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This place has simple amenities for solo and group travelers: Simple double deck or queen sized beds, clean sheets and good ventilation. I tried the fan room. I remember I paid P800 for 4D3N there with three more friends. You can verify if this is still true via their website.

Good wi-fi connection. I need this when traveling. They also have friendly staff who attend to your needs. We ate our breakfasts here - though not all for free - and they pretty much accommodating on any requests we made.

They offer tours, but we didn't avail them. It's a good location too because from here we were able to visit different nearby villages. I can go back here anytime I go PP again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

They keep improving the place. Always painting and now new Wi-Fi router for an even faster internet. they constantly up grade the place. Saw a rather unfair review...Guests experiencing issues, can simply inform the staff who will fix them immediately, unless it's the middle of the night...but they will try, anyhow. Pics of the Duchess give the reader an accurate of the facilities. Most guests like me highly recommend this cozy Puerto hotel, that has a great location!

Room Tip: Discuss with the front desk what you are looking for in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

if you're looking for a place that you just need to sleep in when you're done touring for the day, then this place is pocket friendly. why? 250 for a single room, 350 for a double with common toilet and bath, walkng distance to city center. if you need your private en-suite bathroom and A/C then you pay more, just check their website for rates. they also arrange tours, serve affordable breakfast and trikes pass by outside anytime of the day. place is located in a residential area so expect some unnecessary noises at night and rooms are very basic so dont expect a lot. can book without paying, i just called to reserve a room. nice garden view too!

Room Tip: get a room at the back, less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Double room P350. Helpful, friendly, wonderful service, wld highly recommend!
If u stay here go eat at Blue Ginger, amazing! x

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My sister was here last december 31 and she talk a lot about this place. This place has cheap accommodation with great service. She said she will be back here this coming october.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights because we were told you could stay here really cheap. They have private rooms with shared bathroom for 350 p but we ended up staying in a room with ensuite for 800 p (including tv). The room had a window towards a corridor so very dark. The water leaked a lot in the bathroom so it became quite grose. There is wifi in the common area but not in the rooms. Note that the rooms do not look like the pictures on their website. The location is quite good and it's quiet (which is a nice change in the Filippines).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Princesa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
1.6 mi away
Palawan Village Hotel
Palawan Village Hotel
#28 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Gallo Travelers Pension
El Gallo Travelers Pension
#121 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Teofila Pension
#102 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden Traveller's Lodge
Eden Traveller's Lodge
#135 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Circon Businessman's Inn
Circon Businessman's Inn
#245 of 354 in Palawan Island
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Sun Inn
Tropical Sun Inn
#119 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Duchess Pension

Property: Duchess Pension
Address: 107 East Valencia St., 5300, Palawan", Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duchess Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Duchess Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duchess Pension Hotel Puerto Princesa
Duchess Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing