We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome”
Review of Marina De Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina De Bay
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Awesome”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the MDB from 12-14Jan2012 and I must say that our stay was "Just Awesome". From airport pick-up with an introductory tour from Mr Jess to the Staff and Crew (especially Ruben and Merilyn), to our chartered tricycle operator, Mr Empoy. The stay was suited to our needs. Crew always goes the extra mile to ensure full satisfaction. Although the facilities were as can be expected of an older place, the Staff and Crew compensated with the ever-important "human" touch. There are on-going improvements to the facilities. My wife and I decided to book our accommodations in MDB on our next Palawan travel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: request to be booked at either the "Admiral" or "Commodore" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson-Moses J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

we stayed here a few weeks ago and i must say it really is a beautiful place.. crew are kind and courteous. if you love bar hopping this is not the place for you. its far from the busy and noisy streets of the city..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_santos24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulacan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We traveled to Puerto Princesa last Sept 17, 2011 and stayed there for four days.

The trip from airport to hotel took around 20 minutes and we were given a short orientation of the places along the way by the Hotel driver (Mang Jess). When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a cheerful smiles from the hotel staffs and served with welcome drinks.

Our room (Junior Suite Villa) is spacious and clean. Hot and cold shower are available. A small TV set is functioning with only 2 Channels only. WIFI is available but connection is quite slow. But what we enjoyed most are the breathtaking view at the poolside!

The food served by the "Celestial Restaurant" of the Hotel is quite pricey but the taste is delicious and the service is great! Thanks to Kuya Bong..

The hotel also offers tour packages... Over all we enjoyed our stay and would come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank engrllagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here for 5 days earlier this year and I definitely will have to visit again next time I visit the Philippines. Although hotel is located 20 mins NW from the city proper, their view overlooking the blue bay is worth the extra travel. The ambiance is very homely with sounds of seashells hung on door adding to the experience. Food is just yummy. Unpretentious, simple menu. International dishes along with Filipino food available. I highly recommend their chef's choices especially the chicken ratatouille. You have to make a plan to dine in for a night.

Lastly, this is unconfirmed but the hotel might have a different charge per room based on how you booked your reservation. I recommend calling them directly and making a direct reservation for the best price. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ji3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legazpi City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Me and my friends went on a weekend vacation last June2010.. And we chose this hotel because of its great reviews in tripadvisory.com.. so here are the things i liked most about the hotel:

1. Very nice and super accommodating staff. Especially the chef who even talked to us about the food, fun waiters who made us laugh and the hotel drivers who even showed us around the city.
2. The tour was great!! =) I was very happy and contented..
3. The hotel picked us up on time in the airport and in the city..
4. The accommodation was great! The brick rooms had a great feel of serenity.
5. GREAT FOOD!! =)

I really felt the warmth and hospitality in Marina de Bay! I swear I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pattyamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Reading the past reviews of this resort helped me a lot in actually ending up in choosing this resort to stay in. So, I'm making my own to help somebody else out there planning a vacation to Puerto Princessa. (:

I'm very particular about the luxurious qualities of a hotel or any accommodation I stay in, fro Marina de Bay, I have to say my expectation weren't met. But like like I said, it's only due to my personal taste.

We stayed in an executive villa and we we're a family of 5 but it can room up to 7 people (if you don't mind being crowded in a room). The space was big enough for 5 people because there's a 2nd level loft which housed 3 single beds. I like this particular part of our room because it atleast still gave you some sort of privacy. The one thing that I probably did like much about our room is that they did not provide comforters for your bed. Although we did not try requesting for one.

The things I liked best about Marina de Bay is the breathtaking view you get to see as the whole resort is over-looking the lake surrounded by Mangroves. Second would have to be their food. I can honestly say that in my culinary adventure on out trip to Palawan, it's the food at our resort that stood out to me the most. The last thing I enjoyed the most is the resort's new addition to its amenities which is their pools which me and my siblings got to be the 1st ones that ever used them. I like their pool area so much not just because we got 1st dibs on them but because of the style of their main pool which is an infinity pool that overlooks to the lake. If I could, I would've stayed there a whole day just soaking in the water and taking in the beautiful view.

Lastly, I have to warn you though that if ever you let the resort pick you up from a certain place in town, you're in for a long wait. 'Cause we experienced having to wait for almost more than an hour when we called them to pick us up from a restaurant. And turns out, one of my companions previously read a similar review on this resort on how they had to wait for an hour before they get fetched.

Room Tip: Book the Tour Packages with the accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kriziajeannine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My family and I stayed at Marina de Bay in Dec. 2010. We were pleased at how friendly and accommodating the staff were. The rooms were kept clean and good size for small and big groups. The onsite restaurant, Celestial, has a nice view of the bay and city of Puerto Princesa. The decor was nice and cozy. The food was good too if you're not looking for something fancy. I tried their danggit with fried rice and egg and it was very pleasing. The only thing that was kind of hard with this is the location. We had to take a tricycle ride from downtown to the hotel and it took us about 20 minutes to get there and the road was bumpy. If you let the front desk know that you want to go to town, they can make arrangements for someone to drop you off and pick you up. The place was quiet and can be romantic. We would definitely stay at Marina de Bay again if ever we go back to Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLavender74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
3.9 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
472 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
715 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Palawan
Blue Palawan
#9 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina De Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina De Bay

Property: Marina De Bay
Address: Purok Sandiwa Barangay Tiniguiban, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina De Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina de Bay is a private getaway resort situated just twenty minutes away from the airport. On that way from the airport, you will already see a breath-taking view of the Puerto Princesa bay and the mountain ranges. It is also at Marina de Bay where the private yachts and boats can be viewed docked at front. During the night, the ambiance becomes even more spectacular with the vast view of the stars in the sky and with the dainty lights of the city screaming in from across the waters. Marina de Bay is not like any usual hotel building simply built in the city, it encapsulates the natural wonders of Puerto Princesa - a hidden paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marina De Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina De Bay Hotel Puerto Princesa
Marina De Bay Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing