We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation”
Review of Marina De Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina De Bay
redondo beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“vacation”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

our room had a beautiful view of the ocean, the staff were excellent, courteous and willing to help, service with a smile, they had a moonlight festival event, buffet was not that great,the band was great,good music.our tour guide was very knowlegeable with the activities, we really had a good time and enjoyable vacation. thank you

Room Tip: third floor suite was the best deal,spaceous and clean,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estherRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    23
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malate, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

7 of us in our group, we were upgraded to brand new rooms and were the first gusts to stay in them.

The tour package is great value, excellent guides. Bong, a staff member will escort you on the Island Hopping and the City Tour, he has a great sense of humour and a really nice guy. The Underground River tour is handled by others and is a great day out.

We didn't venture into town on our three night stay, choosing to buy fresh seafood from the markets in town and having it cooked at the resort. Fantastic result.

Staff are excellent and go out of their way to accommodate the guests.

Tea House was closed for renovations to the pier which looked overdue, the owner also said he was planning to renovate the tea house.

Sure part of the road there is dirt and a bit bumpy, but as they say, thats the free massage enroute, haha.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly completed rooms, a three story building with 8 rooms, all very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

View is beautiful at night, with the help of the few lights. There must be more illumination though, to make guests feel more secured.This place is a bit far from the city proper. The receptionist did not inform us of the shuttle service pick up time,thus we were asked to pay 700php for a shuttle service going to downtown, and back to the hotel, but it seemed too pricey, so we just dined in their restaurant. Service in the restaurant was good though... Waiters served us well, and food was great! The T-House is CREEPY! When we checked it at around 5pm, there were food left overs, 2 opened handbags, some alcohol, with dried lemons, uncleaned table clothes,etc. but there was NOBODY in that t-house.It felt like the place was abandoned for months, yay! The bridge/way going to the t-house is also a bit not so safe,the woods are a bit old already, be very careful when walking there. My partner and i had a not so good experience there, we stayed at their executive villa,and we both had nightmares, and couldn't sleep well. We felt like there was somebody else in the room :( When i went swimming in their pool, they said you need a pool pass, but we didn't get one, instead they said someone will turn on the water first before i could go swimming, i waited for about 15 minutes before someone turned on their water falls(whatever you call it) Swimming there felt a bit strange, it felt like there were some creatures or something from the under, even the water was clear, still it felt weird.This was the strangest hotel i've ever been to! Will never go back there. Don't be fooled by their website photos.

Room Tip: Executive room has only 2 main lights, (aside from the toilet's of course) one downstairs, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cesar_15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Mediocre experience staying here but good value and good base to explore Underground River and Honda Bay tours.

We stayed in the Queen room which was a good size and they put my parents in the next room which was good.The rooms were not sparkling however and I did not want to hang my clothes in the wardrobe as it had a very distinct musty smell.

We had a lovely little terrace in the back of the room which was nice to sit and have a drink.

The pier needs work and the 'restaurant' at the end is nothing more than a run down hut. We did not eat at the hotel either except mangoes at breakfast.

My partner and I had massages each which was really good value for money.

The pool is not one you can really swim in but more of a child's pool.

Stay here if you want to explore near by, we used their free shuttle service into Puerto Princesa every night to eat which was so fun.

Overall it was quite good value for money but the hotel needs some improvements and I am not sure why they are extending it when they could utilise that funding on the existing facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tinathetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights during the week in the middle of July. It has all the things I look for: amazing views, comfortable lodging. But the huge bonus was the staff, who pampered us and went out of their way to cater to our needs. Despite the rain, they were able to arrange an interesting half-day city tour. We were lucky to have sun for the underground river tour, and managed to do some zip lining the morning of our departure. An early morning swim looking out over the bay, with a swallow dipping it's wings in the pool was pure delight. I will stay at no other place if I visit Puert Princesa again, which I hope does not take too long. As a writer, I love places that inspire me. Puerto Princesa is a jewel, and MDB helps it shine.

Room Tip: There is currently some construction on the property, but it didn't disturb me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmiraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This place is rustic but has a beautiful view of the bay. Service is very good. Bong our waiter all around kind of guy- is very helpful and gave us excellent customer service. This is Not five star resort but it has everything you need. We did Honday Bay on the first day and Underground river on the second day. We had a fantastic dinner one night at Badjao sea view restaurant. The food there is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family and sister -in-law stayed for 3d2n , nice place, thanks for pick up/transfer to /from hotel to airport, service is good also the food, our accomodation for couple and 2 companions @ MDB was so comfortable going to Sabang Puerto Princesa Underground River.. so amazing!!
Nice view/sea/birds playing/ cute ceiling in lobby,mezzanine house..
exciting and memorable trip for us..

Room Tip: rooms in front of office downstairs are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
3.9 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Canvas Boutique Hotel
Canvas Boutique Hotel
#2 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#4 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hibiscus Garden Inn
Hibiscus Garden Inn
#1 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina De Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina De Bay

Property: Marina De Bay
Address: Purok Sandiwa Barangay Tiniguiban, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina De Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina de Bay is a private getaway resort situated just twenty minutes away from the airport. On that way from the airport, you will already see a breath-taking view of the Puerto Princesa bay and the mountain ranges. It is also at Marina de Bay where the private yachts and boats can be viewed docked at front. During the night, the ambiance becomes even more spectacular with the vast view of the stars in the sky and with the dainty lights of the city screaming in from across the waters. Marina de Bay is not like any usual hotel building simply built in the city, it encapsulates the natural wonders of Puerto Princesa - a hidden paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marina De Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina De Bay Hotel Puerto Princesa
Marina De Bay Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing