We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina de Bay :)”
Review of Marina De Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina De Bay
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Marina de bay resort in puerto princesa, palawan met my expectations. They're about 20 mins away from the airport and they offer transfers in comfortable vans. They are quite flexible in terms of check-in/check-out time which becomes cruicial when you have tours before your return flight. In our case, they let us extend the check-out time from the usual 12nn to 3:30pm for our 5:30pm flight back to manila. They also arrange tours with other agencies, but if you are budget-conscious, i'd recommend you to compare prices. They arranged our firefly tour (P1,200/pax with set dinner, transfers), underground river tour (P1,500 with buffet lunch, transfers) and honda bay island hopping tour (P1,200 with buffet lunch and transfers + optional P150 for snorkel and P150 for aqua shoes. Note: tour guides would normally say you may need aqua shoes because it's sea urchin season. That may not necessarily be true.) marina de bay's accommodations seems fair for the price (we got the voucher from ensogo at P1,700/pax for 3D/2N). They offer old brick villas with 1 queen sized bed, 1 single bed, and a pull-out mattress, hot/cold shower, bidet ( i love resorts with bidet), and a small veranda overlooking mangroves). They have a nice floating resto. I recommend grilled squid and mussle soup). Their pools face the bay (1 big pool, 1 small pool, 1 jacuzzi. They charge extra if you want bubbles on the jacuzzi. ????) the pools are toddler-friendly too! Breakfast is inclusive of the fee but depending on number of guests, they either serve set meals or buffet. If you want to go to the city, you can rent the van for 1-way trip for P320, or P2,000 for 4 hours. But they have free drop-off and pick-up to and from the city at shakey's. The staff are accommodating and friendly but are too laid back. They sometimes forget your order.. Hehe. Overall, the experience was good.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Sandbeneathmytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Marina De Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A place to totally enjoy nature. Clean and spacious rooms friendly staff and everyplace you go you got a nice view of the lagoon or the mangrove. You'll enjoy reading a book or just sit down, relax and enjoy the view of the sunset

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jaycee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed from Dec 26-30.although we booked only a day before,we were surprised that there was a shuttle to pick us up at the airport even though we did not make prior arrangements. There was a welcome drink for all the guest who arrived at the resort.

Here are our + points for the resort:
1. All Staff are very accomodating.they entertain all our concerns and queries
2. The ambiance is excellent.
3. Rooms are big enough for the family
4.foods have variety and our budget friendly

Things need to improve to:
1. Improve room hygiene.some parts of the room have termites already which may cause detoriaration of the facilities
2. Check lightings as there are busted bulbs already
3. The kiddie pool needs to be cleaned.our kids was not able to use the pool
4. Consider having additional activities on the resort so as to make guest have a more enjoyable stay at the resort
5, make cable tv availble on each rooms
6. Provide hi speed wifi network

Also, we know that this is beyond your control but it wil be very helpful if the road going to your hotel will either be cemented or asphalted. This will definitely play a role in whether guest will decide to return at your resort. We dont mind not staying at the city proper but it will be very helpful if the ride is comfortable and not a bumpy one.

Overall,i can say that it was a very memorable and enjoyable stay in Marina de Bay. All the staff are so warm and treated us with utmost pampering.

Regards and God bless!!!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank denzel1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Room:
We stayed for 4 nights in one of the Executive Suite Villas which faced the mangroves and the bay (Alpha or Delta, not sure which room exactly). The room was very large (definitely earned the title of "suite" for me), although it was only a single room plus the bathroom. Large, wrap-around windows covered two entire walls and let in a great amount of sunshine and offered fairly nice but not spectacular views of the water. The room and linens were clean, the bed was comfy, the water was hot and the air conditioner worked well.

Tours:
We booked a number of tours through the hotel in advance of our arrival. The rates were the same as I had found elsewhere, so for no additional cost it was nice to have the convenience of the hotel making the necessary bookings for us. This was especially true for the underground river tour, which has a limited number of spaces each day for environmental preservation reasons. We also did a scuba tour, the City Tour, the Firefly Tour and maybe one other that I can't think of. All were fun and definitely worth the time and money (although diving is so much better in El Nido, just like the hotel staff had told me before we booked). The staff reminded us about our tour schedules ahead of time so we knew when to wake up and have breakfast, etc.

The Food:
Breakfast was included in our hotel stay, so I'm not sure how much it normally is, but it was really good. They have a list of maybe 6-8 traditional Filipino breakfasts and so we just each chose a new one each morning. Some better than others, but in my opinion all worth trying. The garlic rice is fantastic even just by itself. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant just once or twice. The food was also good, but in my opinion just a little overpriced compared to what you could get outside of the hotel (although at just USD 12-15/person, it's still not expensive). Plus in general I think it's more fun to eat outside of your hotel (although eatting outside may not be an option if you're already back at the hotel for the evening since the hotel is quite far from the city center).

Location:
The location was good and bad for different reasons. The hotel is quite far (maybe 20-25 minute tricycle ride) from the downtown area, with maybe 5-10 minutes of that nearest to the hotel going along a very bumpy dirt road. Being away from the city lights and sounds made staying there much more exotic and peaceful for me. I felt very far away from the bustle of the city, and to me that was relaxing. I wasn't going into the city 4-5 times per day. We left the hotel for our tours in the morning and generally stayed out until we were done for the day, so a longer commute wasn't a big deal for us. Plus, I've read a few reviews complaining about the cost of a tricycle from the city to the hotel. We never paid more than PHP 250 as far as I can remember. That's around USD 5-6. Not bad at all. To get such a large room, as clean and as relaxing as this hotel but smack in the city center would have cost a lot more than that taxi ride. We occassionally had some problems with the tricycle drivers not knowing where the hotel was, but after they asked one or two other drivers for directions we were off with no problem. I would guess that's a problem with all hotels except for the huge ones (Hilton, etc.).

Service:
1) When I booked our room, I booked the room plus several tours. Then a few days later I was looking through their website again and noticed that the room and several of the tours I had booked were included in a package deal that was a good bit cheaper than what I had paid. I sent an e-mail to the hotel explaining what had happened and asking if I could get the package rate. No problem at all, they told me. Since I had only paid something like 50% as a deposit, they changed the total price, credited me for the deposit I had already made and then I was all set for an even cheaper vacation than I had been expecting.

2) The Philippines is overflowing with delicious fruits. We bought a bag of mangos, pineapple, mangosteins and some other things and brought them back to the hotel for a snack later. We called roomservice and asked if we could have a knife to cut the fruit and instead they took our fruit and came back with a gorgeous fruit basket. Everything chopped up and beautifully displayed. Really, really great service without even asking for it. They set it up for us at one table in their restaurant which sits apart from the rest, overlooking the bay. It was a beautiful and romatic setting. Perfect end to the day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive Suite Villa facing the mangroves and bay (Alpha or Delta), which was nice...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Everything was great, except the distance from the the city and activities. The staff and all entities involved with the operation were top notch. Very helpful and went out of their way to assist you in your needs. I have read some bad opinions of the "T" house out on the pier. The opinions are not that true. We had a nice light dinner there and enjoyed the peacefulness of it all. There were some people doing some karioke and we even joined in. I say peacefulness because there were no other noises (motor, people yelling, clanging, etc), just the singing and then the sound of the water underneath when there wasn't any singing. My ONLY disappointment was the distance to/from the city. It wouldn't be so bad, if they provided a more than one time shuttle service, which was from 6:30 to 8:30. For someone who wanted to experience the night life, it would have been too expensive to stay past the pick up hour, and, 8:30 is just a bit too early to return from enjoying it. That item aside, this place is a fantastic getaway from it all, if you just wanted to relax and chill out. They did provide touring services connections and provided it very efficiently and professionally. But, if you just wanted to go into town to experience the city (daytime or nighttime) it was difficult or basically under that aforementioned time period. I would stay there again, for sure, but, I would have my own transportation for me and my partner. It was worth the stay as a whole.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWC1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I traveled to Puerto Princesa to celebrate my 26th birthday with my family. I didnt know what to expect since it was my first time to travel there. From the time I called them up to book my trip I already felt that the staff were really nice and willing to help and answer all my questions. When we arrived there they helped us plan our DIY City Tour.

One thing I love about the place is the very nice villa. It was very relaxing and the beds are really big and comfortable. They also have a very nice place at the restaurant where you can eat breakfast and see the sunrise. Simply beautiful! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Come here for a relaxing, convenient and reasonable vacation. I enjoyed the large swimming pool, excellent food and much more. This resort is not large but is very friendly and includes a full bar, spa, and views across the bay to the main port.
This is the perfect place to escape the city crowds and fine a quiet, peaceful resort. Get a great massage while you're there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
3.9 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
498 reviews
3.2 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#4 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
252 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus The Ivywall Ho...
#7 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#8 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
326 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
742 reviews
14.3 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#6 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina De Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina De Bay

Address: Purok Sandiwa Barangay Tiniguiban, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: £18 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina De Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina de Bay is a private getaway resort situated just twenty minutes away from the airport. On that way from the airport, you will already see a breath-taking view of the Puerto Princesa bay and the mountain ranges. It is also at Marina de Bay where the private yachts and boats can be viewed docked at front. During the night, the ambiance becomes even more spectacular with the vast view of the stars in the sky and with the dainty lights of the city screaming in from across the waters. Marina de Bay is not like any usual hotel building simply built in the city, it encapsulates the natural wonders of Puerto Princesa - a hidden paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marina De Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina De Bay Hotel Puerto Princesa
Marina De Bay Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing