We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has great potential”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Princesa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dangkalan Beach Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 183 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Has great potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The first thing that strikes you about Dangkalan is the location. Its a little way from town, right on the water, and quiet. There isnt much of a beach to speak of, and at low tide the water vanishes to the horizon. There is a pool though to cool off in. The rooms are basic but clean, there is cable TV but the reception can be mixed especially if there is a storm in the area. The breakfast offering is very basic to say the least, and is one area that could be improved. The staff are by and large excellent, nothing seems too much bother, and all are friendly and warm.
The distance from town is alleviated by using the resort van, and we took advantage of this every night to go into town to eat. There is a cost for the service, but they will drop you off and come back to collect you, or wait for you if you're eating fast food, or you can always take a trike back. The resort can arrange tours to the local attractions.
The resort to me offers so much more potential, the basics are there, its just lacking in some areas, like breakfast, but could so easily be improved. However, all in all, a very lovely stay, in a nice quiet environment, just what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Talavera, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Thank you Dangkalan Resort-Palawan for a nice and great accomodation. All of our request /needs has been attended and provided on time. You also made our tours hazzle free and well organize. My family has seen the beauty of Palawan through your kind and smiley staff. The food you provided for us is great even when we are on tours. 2 thumbs up for you Dangkalan Resort

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanny527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Staff were accommodating, except for one misunderstanding with a restaurant booking. The beach did not look too good, so we settled for the swimming pool instead. Food in the restaurant is good but a bit overpriced (compared to other restaurants in town). All in all, our stay was hassle-free and not too bad.

Room Tip: we stayed in a spacious premiere room with a veranda. these are farther from the beach so there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 000anna000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

True, there are other hotels closer to the center of town where all the restaurants and establishments are located. However, what this resort lacks in strategic location, it more than makes up for in service. we were met at the airport by kuya king. he was kind, courteous and smiling although our flight had been delayed for 30 minutes. he complied without complaining after we requested that we be allowed to stop at a small grocery to pick up snacks and drinking water and afterward, he whisked us off to the resort. the room we stayed in -- the family room -- was quaint and charming because it had a live dangkalan tree in the center of the room, with the top poking out of the ceiling. the room was next to the beach ( a word of caution, it's not fit for swimming although it makes for a good backdrop when you have lunch or dinner in the nearby huts). the hotel arranged all our tours which we found to be satisfactory. the guide, lotlot, never lost her temper or patience although we grilled her about her lovelife instead of asking about palawan. we had a late flight and sheryl, the resort manager, let us stay in another room free of charge until it was time to leave. she also gave us free souvenirs - rainmakers for each of us. when it was time to leave, the staff helped us with our bags and stood around the van as we got in, waving and smiling as we left. talk about a royal sendoff. maybe the resort just needs to upgrade its amenities a little but this is a charming and quaint place to stay in.

Room Tip: tree house is nice for honeymooners. family room a bit small for four people, best take the double o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Staff are nice. Excellent service. Free drink on arrival too. Accomodation is good...stayed here for 5 days.. we used the place mainly for sleeping though the place is good as well. The food is not too bad not great either. The free shuttle every 6pm and 8pm is very handy specially if you need to go to town to buy supplies like bottled water or if you just want to eat out. Tricycle fare back would be around P100 (Philippine pesos). Dont pay more than that. If they ask for more - just get another tricycle.
The pool looked dirty and there was a hose accross it the whole time we were there. People swam in it even with the hose accross it, but we just didnt try it. The sea view looked good during high tide but in low tide its muddy. I dont think the beach front is good for swimming... I like the bridge like structure though and the hammock. We hang out there.

Oh by the way.. a friendly reminder: INSECT REPELANT!!! Malaria is endemic in Palawan so slap that Off lotion on!.. if you can get hold of Doxycycline from your doctor or you can buy it from any pharmacy it would be great - prevention is better than cure!

Palawan is a paradise! ENJOY!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ychean84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucena city
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very accomodating staff. Very entertaining tour guides!! recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edubagsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Quite a nice place to spend nights in Palawan. Of course, don't expect 5-star service for cheaper accomodations. Only 20% downpayment, and the rest you can pay upon checking out. Ron and Grace of Reservations are extremely helpful, and gave us some nice souvenirs (rainmakers and bracelets) before we went home.

(FREE) Breakfast is great. Don't expect to eat like a noble - but eggs, longganisa, cucumbers and rice with coffee are heavenly for those who don't have spectacular expectations. The cottage at the end of the bridge is especially peaceful in the morning and at dusk - I did some silent prayers there. The front beach is clean but if you're in Palawan - best swim in the recommended beaches, not in your cottage's front yard.

On our resting hours, we played billiards, refreshed in the pool, had a really great seafood bilao, and had a nice drink - all in the inn premises. I asked around if we were loud that night - but surprisingly no one noticed. There must have been some soundproofing in each cottage.

The staff was very friendly, saying hello every now and then. I've stayed in a 5 - star hotel and there were less than a handful who greeted me - everyone was busy. Here, everyone had a smile. The van service was particularly helpful getting us out and from the city. The staff calls your room some minutes before when the van has been readied.

Best advice for travelers: Travel like a traveler - immerse yourself into the culture. If you can't afford to book like an ambassador or international star, then book as a true traveler.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jieroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
3.6 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Guest House & Cottages Palawan
Victoria Guest House & Cottages ...
#44 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Palawan
Blue Palawan
#8 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Balai Esperanza
Balai Esperanza
#23 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#4 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paboreal Boutique Hotel
Paboreal Boutique Hotel
#8 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dangkalan Beach Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dangkalan Beach Resort and Restaurant

Property: Dangkalan Beach Resort and Restaurant
Address: BM Road, San Manuel, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Dangkalan Beach Resort And Restaurant Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dangkalan Beach Resort And Restaurant Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing