We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was small but fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kookaburra Travel Lodge
Ranked #82 of 201 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2010

It was a nice hotel. Its just 1 year old, but the hotel is always booked up. it has fridge in the room. also close to the beach. they have free shuttle service to and from the airport. Free breakfast as well and nice staff. but the location of the hotel is a little far from the city center. Advantage its on quiet place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justin1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

Before going to Puerto Princesa for a weeklong holiday I had, as most of us do, scoured the list of tips and insights in terms of where to stay, what to do, etc. We settled in kookaburra since most of the reviews about it were nice. Our arrival was at about 9:30 a.m. and the guy from the hotel has been waiting for us when we got there, it only took us about 5 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport. They had welcome drinks waiting for us, and the room that they gave us was on the ground floor, which was behind the reception. It had its advantage and disadvantage, for one it means we won't have to walk our way up to our room (i didn't see any elevator, it was only 3 stories after all), but the disadvantage is in the morning when they are busy you could hear some of the staff. but that was ok. we checked out the beach which was called pristine beach that is only about 7 to 10 minutes walk from the hotel. It was a bit disappointing though when we got there as there was a lot of students; it was a sunday. you have to pay 20 pesos entrance to go to the beach. back to kookaburra, the room that we had was small but clean, there was hot water, a mini fridge, a quiet airconditioner and a t v with cable.
the staff were friendly and the backyard had some tables where you can sit with a few bottles of beer. i guess the only thing i didn't like was that the beer here cost 65 pesos, when restaurants outside would only charge 45.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank catinca15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel was nice. We had a room on the ground floor. It was clean, a little small, but okay.

The staff were friendly. Breakfast was included, but it arrived stone cold. The view from the restaurant is nice, though.

We were a bit annoyed one day - we booked a tour to the Underground River and were told that the company would come to pick us up at 7am the next day. We got up at 6am, showered and went for breakfast, arriving at the front desk at 6.55am ready for our pick up, only to be told that no, the company won't be arriving until 8.30am. Needless to say, we were quite annoyed that no effort had been made to tell us this the previous evening!

Next to the hotel is a track leading down to a beach. You have to pay 20 pesos to enter but when we went, it was full of youngsters drinking heavily. The beach next door is nicer and quieter - it's called White Beach and also costs 20 pesos to enter. You can get to it through the first beach, or walk along the road (come out of the hotel and turn left) and follow a different track.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TropicalStormKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Kookabura lodge (a year old new bldg) close to the airport about 3 minutes by car or tricycle( though they have a new aircon van to fetch hotel guests back and forth to the airport at no extra cost).It is about 3 minutes walk(via a wide paved road) besides the hotel to the nearby Pristine beach(a white sand and clear sea water for swimming, no difference from the beaches in Honda Bay.They have a ready and active service staff from the van driver (to drop you to any place in the city center(about 5 minutes)for free as there are plenty of tricycles u can hire to bring you back (P40), nice lady cook to attend for hotel food orders or your private food(after u buy fresh catch at the city market) for a reasonable fee (P75 a dish)although nice restaurants abound close to the hotel e.g. Badjao Seafront Restaurant(also along Abueg St),Jo's Chicken Inato (at Rizal Ave).Nice free breakfast (coffee,juice, tapsilog,or cornsilog.etc.) served by active waiters. U don't have to go to the mall to look for low- priced palawan made pearl earrings and bracelets is just downstairs sold by a lady vendor. A value-for-your money vacation place in Puerto.
Princesa.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 298573Nisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed here for three nights to explore Honda Bay and the Underground River. We were picked up and transported from the airport to the hotel in an AC van and was greeted by very friendly and warm staff with a nice ice-cold welcome drink. Check-in was easy and smooth.

The hotel was very clean throughout. Our standard room was a little small but okay, nice and modern decor, very good bed, cable TV, AC, fridge and good sized bathroom. There were ants around the room but I have learnt that they are everywhere in Philippines so you have to learn to share everything with them. Our room was cleaned and made up everyday if we left our key with Reception.

The location of the hotel is away from the main town but only about a 10 minute tryc ride so is very peaceful. In the evenings, the security guard would always help us to flag down a tryc and we never waited more than about 10 mins or so.

Breafast was very limited: American (egg, bread & a choice of meat) or Philippino (rice, egg and a choice of meat). I just wanted some fruit but this was not an option. The dining room provided great views over the island.

We booked our tours (Honday Bay and Underground River) through the hotel and they were both well organised, good sized groups (8 persons) with good tour guides who spoke good English.
I personally found the tours in PP overpriced and of less value compared to those in Coron and El Nido.

Kalui's seafood restaurant I think is overated. The restaurant is nice and authentic but I found the food was okay, nothing special, however it is of good value.

Kinibuch Grill and Bar did great food - very tasty, good quality food which was cheap and big portions. The atmosphere here is very good with good music, pool tables, plasma tvs and big screen projection which showed the world cup football matches every night. Their lumpiang Shanghai is the best I've ever had but we weren't brave enough to try their wood worms or crocodile!

As many others have said on TA, the staff here are a great attribute to the hotel. They are always warm, friendly and professional. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

good food. great view. nice place. but what sets it apart from the rest is the staff who wear a warm smile all day long. quite frankly, their hospitality and warmth is something you would not expect from a place that is very affordable. visit this place and be treated like royalty without having to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yonsi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

great location, just a 5 minute walk to the beach. breakfast at the rooftop with a great view. the staff were all warm and welcoming and they even turn on your aircon the whole day. just beware of trike drivers who will try to overcharge you when going home from the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monique730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
33.3 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
14.7 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
543 reviews
22.3 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#9 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#47 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
50 reviews
4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palawan Village Hotel
Palawan Village Hotel
#29 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Travel Lodge

Address: Abueg Road | Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: £23 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kookaburra Travel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Travel Lodge...your home by the sea in Puerto Princesa City, Palawan, Philippines. Kookaburra Travel Lodge is ideally located in quiet and tranquil surroundings of Puerto Princesa City , Palawan , Philippines . Just a 5-minute ride from Puerto Princesa City Airport and walking distance to a nearby beach.It consists of fifteen (15) well appointed guestrooms that would make a selective travelers feel special and comfortable. It’s professional and friendly staff complement its excellent facilities and services.Our spacious Montezon and Katrina rooms open on to a private furnished balcony and overlooks the beautiful Puerto Princesa City Bay , a perfect way to relax and watch the magnificent sunset over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kookaburra Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Travel Hotel Puerto Princesa
Kookaburra Travel Lodge Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing