We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad”
Review of Skylight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skylight Hotel
Ranked #35 of 189 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious. The hallway is quite charming. The hotel layout is quite confusing though. The food on the other hans is quite average. But their chicken inasal and bibingka are interesting. Relatively decent place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexbonife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
10
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The location is not bad, since you are accessible to convenient stores and restaurants. But the rooms need major upgrades. The adjacent lobby, transforms to a buffet restaurant at night on weekends. the food are affordable, but so-so in taste. Improve your comfort level please.

Room Tip: Get a room that has an electronic card lock. Other rooms have the traditional room key, that maybe v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We got this hotel from a suggestion of a travel agent so I'm not really aware of the price and the breakdown from a package tour. We stayed in a standard room, was clean, linen was changed everyday, clean towels were provided and changed, AC was good and the best thing -the free WiFi is super fast. When it comes to negative, the water from the shower was too bad; too weak that you need a lot of time and need to be patient if you want to have a nice bath.
Location wise 'coz it's in the heart of the busy district. Near the airport, popular restaurants, fast food,bars etc., there's even a sari-sari store in front if you want a mint. One more good about skylight is that they have they're own restaurant. Daily breakfast is included, there's a lot of selections including selection of fruits and a salad bar far from the one I've read from the other reviews or maybe we had a good timing and got lucky! Aside from that they also offer fresh seafoods the so called "ituro mo iluluto ko". For those who don't want to eat outside and can't get a reservation from most of the popular restaurants, you don't need to go far.
Staff were very friendly from the driver to the front desk, housekeeping and waitstaff. Very accommodating and polite. They will do any possibilities if you have a certain request.
Above all what more can I say. If you're going to Puerto Princesa you're day will be filled with fun and adventure. The friendly staff will offer you a tour on your free day that you can't say no otherwise why spend a day in the room? You will only see them very early at breakfast and in the night saying goodnight. So....for you to sleep.... Not bad... I can still stay at Skylight.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hon_hon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We chose Skylight Hotel because my mom had already stayed here before so there's no worry about the cleanliness of the rooms. The only remaining question was the price so I called their Manila office and inquired. Well, well, well, they were very affordable! Their budget room for two people costs P1300 and their budget room for three people costs P1980! Imagine that. :) The rooms have a private CR, a telephone, wifi access (though the signal's a bit weak), an A/C and a TV. Towels were also provided for each person. Sulit diba? :) The amount also comes with airport transfers, a welcome drink and a buffet breakfast (hurrah!). I so love buffets. :)

Read the rest of my review here

http://whimsandcapricesinlife.blogspot.com/2012/11/review-of-skylight-hotel-and-kuya-rolan.html

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyssa Loren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Initially not our 1st choice after reading many reviews from various sources. We chose another budget hotel but due to a slip up, the booking fell through. Skylight was the next best for the location and so we booked directly from the hotel. True enough, it was right smack in the centre of the busy part of town yet not noisy. Very convenient to walk about to many known eateries (within 2-10 mins walk), shopping at NCCC (<10 mins) and even to the Baywalk (20 mins). Hotel appearance from outside was not appealing (faded signboard) but when we entered the reception, the big space and friendly reception changed our perception. For the price paid, minimal room facilities are expected but the wifi is free and strong, buffet breakfast was a thumb-up esp. when you need an early start to a long day trip out. Fast and personal services from all hotel staff - housekeeping, driver, frontdesk, etc. Yes, special thanks to 2 persons - Neila (manager) for her prompt email replies to all queries before the trip & for preparing her staff well when we arrived; and Leonardo (F&B) for being attentive to diners and informative in recommending places to go.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay slightly more, take the Standard room @ P1950, still a good deal for better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WANMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel located in a good location that you can walk out and find places to eat easily. Also offer free shuttle pick up from airport. It is a simple hotel. The room is not so big, no complomentary water or coffee in the room. We asked to borrow hair dryer one time but all was lent to someone else and we never asked for it again. Breakfast is quite little and not seem to be refill until more guests coming and not lot of choices. The second night was very noisy from group of people and all of the hotel can hear it cause on the corridor had made holes that people can see from top floor to ground floor. We have called to complain for that cause it was very late night.

Most of staffs are friendly but if compare the price with all hotel services, i think it is quite high. So what we have seen.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKoeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Princesa hotels

Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Visited Skylight a year ago and good location (within city proper). No need to worry about nearby atm machines or fastfood restos. Getting ash tray was quite a process since I had to wait 10-15mins to get one - I dunno if it is because of the smoking policy implement in the city. Breakfast is ok and at least one can a full stomach before exploring Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fleuris
Hotel Fleuris
#26 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marianne Home Inn
Marianne Home Inn
#20 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Teofila Pension
#99 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dad's Bayview Pension
Dad's Bayview Pension
#14 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islands Stay Hotels - Puerto Princesa
Islands Stay Hotels - Puerto Pri...
#155 of 354 in Palawan Island
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Runway Suites
Runway Suites
#66 of 189 in Puerto Princesa
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylight Hotel

Property: Skylight Hotel
Address: 210-A Rizal Ave, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylight Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Skylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylight Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing