We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waste of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Leonora Beach Resort
Ranked #92 of 183 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

this place is far from the city , nothing to do there, far from restaurants. We booked there for 3 nights and didnt stay and lost our money. we try to ask for a refund but they didnt give us any credit. The place sucks,The service sucks, it takes one hour to get our food and only two of us are their customers. The food are very expensive and taste bad. I recommend you not to stay in this place.

Room Tip: choose a room near the city for you to have lots of choices in terms of restaurants and lots of plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eze2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaleonoraresort, Owner at Villa Leonora Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Obviously someone didn't do any research or ask any questions prior to making their booking. A letter of confirmation is sent out to anyone making a booking. This gives anyone the opportunity to ask any questions.
It doesn't take someone with a masters gegree to know that you won't have a BEACH resort in the middle of a city. I sometimes don't understand why someone would wish to come to Palawan and stay in the city, Puerto is not that much different to any other Philippine city, so why waste your money and come to Palawan for it's natural beauty and stay in the city. Takes all kinds I suppose. On the question of time for making food, some people have become used to eating in fast food places and expect the food to just appear in front of them at the drop of a hat. We cook the food fresh and with love!!! We usually advise the guest to order their food in advance and let us know the time they want it to be served as many people are city dwellers who haven't been in Palawan long enough to unwind and are still at city pace. Bon appetite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We booked for 4 nights and left after 2. That the hotels has a really bad geographic spot is ok but the service was extremely bad! We were 6 persons ( all alone in the restaurant) and it took 1 hour and 10 min to get in our food. And then it turned up that it was all uneatable. The chicken was raw inside and bloody. We mentioned it to the staff and they didn't do anything about it. Either did they a discount on the bill.

Don't stay at this hotel !! You will lost both money and time! The service was soooooo bad!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamaicaManila, Owner at Villa Leonora Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
I'm sorry about the chicken, but they did offer to cook it more for you. The food is cooked fresh and is certainly not fast food as in a burger or noodle house. if there are different dishes they try to prepare them all together and not serve them piece meal. Were you not more disappointed you didn't get a discount than the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

What we loved:
- LOCATION. It's around an hour away from Puerto Princesa City. It's along the highway so you'll hear the (very few) vehicles passing by but we were usually tired from our day's activities that we barely notice the noise. We love that it is by the beach, it was very relaxing.

- ROOMS. We booked the fan rooms only but it was all we needed! The cottages were airy and spacious, just right for two persons per cottage. They did offer towels, tissue, and bath soap (no shampoo and toothpaste though, so bring your own).

- OWNERS. Miss Leonora was very warm and very malambing. It was nice talking to her. Arthur was very kind too :)

What we find 'just okay':
- SERVICE. Though she doesn't have that "trained and smart" vibe, the receptionist was pretty efficient and kind of friendly too. The other staff were okay too but I feel they're kind of awkward (for some reason) when guests are around, or maybe I'm just imagining things, lol.

- FOOD. Kind of expensive and usually took an hour to be served. But we have read that in a previous post so we were ready :D But we loved the breakfast menu and the sinigang na lapu-lapu!!! Yum!

What we didn't like:
- There was a gecko in one of the cottages that scared our two lady friends. The gecko was there the entire time we were :D It was funny, though we wish the staff helped us in driving it outside the cottage.

- We were charged P70 per liter when we hired the motorbike.

- We wish you also sell some toiletries and chips... :D

All in all, it was a great stay for us. Food was delicious, resort was clean and right in front of the beach (but the style and design is kind o outdated). We will book again here next we visit Palawan. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilygp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We just finished up our four night stay at the Villa Leonora - and we had a blast. As I looked at different places in Palawan, I was struck by how divided the reviews (both here on TripAdvisor and elsewhere) seemed to be on this property. Now that I've stayed there, I think I understand what's driving that to some degree, and as much as to report our stay, I'd like to address some of the complaints that have been lodged by some other reviewers.

DO:

Stay at the Villa Leonora if you want an out-of-the-way place to stay while you're in Palawan.

Stay in the air conditioned rooms, not the fan rooms.

Expect that the property is a good ways (an hour plus) out of Puerto Princesa - so if it's nightlife you are looking for, do find somewhere else.

Tell the staff what you want. Room cleaned? Breakfast at a certain time? Day trips to make? Just let the folks know, and they will be all over it.

Understand that the road is not far away, and there's no way to avoid hearing it. At this point on the island you have the road and you have the ocean, and there's not much that separates the two. We were so exhausted after every day, you could have run a semi truck by our beds and we wouldn't have heard it. But it's there. The resort in general is so quiet - but the road prevents it from being silent - so just be prepared.

Know that there aren't TVs in the rooms and there isn't WIFI either. But there is WIFI in the restaurant area.

Appreciate that Arthur is an authentic character. A happy-go-lucky guy who is fun to hang out with, but a human being like all of the rest of us. That means there will be times he might rub a person the wrong way. But his is a good guy - and the world needs good guys.


DON'T

Expect a resort like the Sheridan. It's not that. It's just a little hotel right on the ocean.

Expect it to be in the heart of Puerto Princesa, because its not.

Be surprised that it takes longer and costs more to get there because of its location.

Stay in a fan room unless you are budget constrained. They are bamboo instead of concrete and that's going to mean more bugs and more noise.


At the end of the day, it's a lovely place. The physical plant is well-maintained, the staff are very friendly, and anything you want to do, they can arrange for you. Could you find other ways to do your Island Hopping, etc? I'm sure you could. Could you find ways that cost a few hundred pesos less? Probably? But for me, my vacations are not exercises in "How many pennies can I return home with?" They are a chance to relax, unwind, and get away from the regimen of daily life. And for THOSE things, the Villa Leonora, Arthur, and his staff were just right.

One last thing - if you want to go on the Underground River Tour (we did - and had a great time) PLEASE let the Villa Leonora folks know 2-4 weeks ahead of time. Nothing is surer to disappoint then to arrive there and think that you can start working on getting your passes then. They are limited and these folks need as much lead time as you can possibly provide them.

Room Tip: Air con rooms only....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichiganTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaleonoraresort, Owner at Villa Leonora Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Hi Ted, hope the rest of your stay in the Philippines worked out well.

Thanks for the honest informative review. Yes we are a little more expensive than going island hopping from Puerto Princesa, but you wont be sitting in a boat with 20 or 30 other tourists, so you get a bit more of the personal touch.

Cannot stress enough how important it is to book the U/G River as far in advance as possible as there are times when it is fully booked up to 3 weeks in advance, especially during holiday periods.

Regards to you and your wife. From The Staff, Arthur and Leonora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Villa Leonora four nights and had a very relaxed and enjoyable time! The grounds are beautiful and it's right next to the beach. The rooms are clean and nice and the atmosphere is really chill and relaxed. If you want to stay out of Puerto Princesa and relax for a few days or just break up the trip going up north, then Villa Leonora is the place. Be aware though that there are no minimarts or shops in the area, but then again, you can get everything you need at the resort restaurant. There is a water cooler in the restaurant/reception area where you can fill up your water bottle for free.The staff is super friendly and Arthur, the owner is the best! Such a fun guy who really helped us with everything we needed from arranging accomodation to transport. We took a jeepney to Port Barton and Arthur made sure we had a seat on it (as there is only one/day and is already full once it gets to San Rafael..) but not just any seats! We got the best ones; right up front, next to the driver! Thank you Arthur for all your help!! Cheers and stay cool!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maailmalla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I am very happy with my stay at Villa Leonora, the resort has a nice garden and the bungalows, or the house with aircon, is just a couple of steps from the beach. The staff is very helpful and the couple that owns the place very welcoming, I got to come with them to a family celebration. Good food and a great experience! Also, internet is unusally fast in the restaurant compared to in Puerto Princesa, which was perfect since I had to do a lot of work during my stay.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This resort is really nice. Best location in the area (San Rafael). If you want to stay some place closer to the underground river and away from Puerto city i would recommend you to stay here. Its quite and the beach close to the resort is ok, with a nice sand bar about 200 m further in the ocean. I recommend to you to see the waterfall nearby. Really nice and unspoiled.
The owner of Villa Leonora is a guy from Newcastle (but lived in Palawan the last 22 years) called Arthur. He is also one of attractions here. In a good way. A warm and funny guy. He will make you feel welcomed. He also likes San Mig.. :-)
There is only one negative comment about this Resort. The restaurant. The coffee. Im not sure if the english owner is more used to tea, but they should provide a better coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaleonoraresort, Owner at Villa Leonora Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for a nice review Thomas. I will definitely do something about the coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
11.0 mi away
Nitivos Beach Resort
Nitivos Beach Resort
#66 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cooper's Beach Resort
Cooper's Beach Resort
#39 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jungle Beach Resort
Jungle Beach Resort
#3 of 79 in Puerto Princesa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Love and Peace Jungle River Paradise Resort
Love and Peace Jungle River Para...
#115 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.3 mi away
Palawan Mangrove Resort
Palawan Mangrove Resort
#9 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
20.3 mi away
Voyagers Palace
Voyagers Palace
#42 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Leonora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Leonora Beach Resort

Property: Villa Leonora Beach Resort
Address: Sitio Dacutan, Barangay San Rafael | San Rafael, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5400, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has eight air conditioned rooms en-suite with hot water showers. All rooms have double beds. Additional beds can be installed on request. Children under 5 years free. 5 to 12 years full. The resort also has 5 fan rooms en-suite with cold water showers. We arrange tours and are close to all the major tourist activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Leonora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Leonora Beach Hotel Puerto Princesa
Villa Leonora Beach Resort Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing