We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Princesa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at Tarabanan in January for a few nights en route to El Nido. As soon as we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owner Mina who is absolutely wonderful. After a complimentary coconut drink we were shown to our bamboo made hut. Basic but lots of fun and waking up to the sounds of the waves was lovely. Each morning Mina cooked us eggs, toast, fresh fruit salad and the most amazing home made pineapple and mango jam I have ever tasted! Dinners were delightful (lots of fish freshly caught by the local fishermen). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Tarabanan to anyone who is looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. Thank you Mina for a lovely stay, Paul & Cassi.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2016
Thank you Paul and Cassi. We are glad that you find the experience at Tarabanan most authentic.

Mina and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you don't mind about occidental comfort (I mean : glass windows (well, just windows...), hot shower, no ants, etc.), this is a fabulous place to spend a week. Located in a remote area, Tarabanan offers peacefull atmosphere, nice beach with decent swimming, very friendly neighbourhood and, more of all, the warmfull of the owner, Mina, an incredibly dynamic women. Thanks a lot Mina, we spent a wonderfull week ! (The family of "Milo like mango").

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2016
Thanks Bruno for your wonderful note on Tarabanan. Next time you come back we will have more mangoes for Milo. Last year we had 100 kilos of mangoes picked from our own trees in the backyard!

--Mina and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstein, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We rented a motorbike to drive from Puerto Princesa to El Nido. On the way back to PP we decided to stay somewhere near PP. It was the best decision we made to go to left from the mainroad and drive the 300 meter to Tarabanan resort. We could only stay one night, but if possible would stay at least one week. Mina (the owner) has a lovely garden with lots of fruits and vegetables. The bungalows a very nice and it's almost like sleeping outdoor, at night you just hear the sound of the waves. So if you are going to Palawan.... go to TARABANAN.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeertsMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2016
Thank you WeertsMark! We try to make our guests feel the nature without trying hard. We're glad you discovered the place. Come back next time!

--- Mina and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our 5 days at Tarabanan Resort were a total delight. It has to be the most peaceful place on earth, and the food was from heaven. This is a 6 cabin resort right on the beach run by the enthusiastic owner, Mina Tesorio. We were the only guests.

We have stayed in several small Philippine beach resorts and Tarabanan is by far the best. The room was clean and comfortable, though not luxurious. The beds had Philippine style foam mattresses and typical hard pillows. I did miss the luxury of a big soft hotel pillow. They do an excellent job of keeping the termites and bugs at bay. A bit of care is needed as there are no window coverings. Putting on a show for all was easy. The photos on TripAdvisor give a very accurate picture of the resort.

The star of the resort was the Philippine food. Mina Tesorio is a truly outstanding cook and totally accommodating. We had fresh whole fish every day and I’ve never eaten better fish. The vegetables were amazing, specially the eggplant with lemon grass. I could make a whole meal of it and beg for more. The chicken was very local and flavorful, but had done a lot of walking. There were no deserts which was very much for the best as I gained enough weight eating the wonderful healthy main meals. Over the whole 5 days there were but 2 or 3 dishes that were less than excellent.

The beach at Tarabanan is short and mostly flat rocks. There were just two small sand areas up under the trees at the resort edge. This is better than it seems as the tropical sun can be brutal. The beach surprise was the excellent swimming. There is a good sand bottom starting just feet off shore and the water was shallow out 50 meters (yards). No coral or mud! The waves are much too small for surfing.

We arranged our trip as an inclusive package. This included all meals, airport transportation and an underground river tour. I specified not to use aircon cars and they didn’t. We traveled by cycle, a share ride van and a small open jeepey, dusty, but fun. I’m very glad we had the resort handle all, as the trip to Tatabanan from the airport is long, taking about 1 ½ hours. The entire package cost was about $100/day for us both. An amazing bargain. The meals alone would cost that in a big city and likely would not have been half as good! We WILL return!

Room Tip: There are but 6 cottages so no bad choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2016
This is so wonderful of you Ed! It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you so much for a very honest and reflective review. Very much appreciated. We love it. We are excited to see you again sometime very soon!

-- Mina and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We spent a week there last year and were utterly enchanted by the warm welcome of efficient and yet discreet staff at the heart of a palm tree forest, living in magnificent bungalows that made us feel like Robinson Crusoes for a while.
The white sand beach for us alone, the lull of the waves at night, the wonderfully tasteful meals; homemade and served with a smile, everything made this trip a truly memorable moment.
If you are looking for a soothing place, away from the sound and the fury of the world, this is it...
p.s. the rocks along the shore make it a little difficult to walk into the sea ... but we survived ...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2016
Thank you DTShura. The first review that made Tarabanan a special place. If you'll come back today, nothing much has changed. It is still the way you liked it. Hope to see you soon!

--Mina and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
5.1 mi away
Villa Leonora Beach Resort
Villa Leonora Beach Resort
#94 of 185 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#14 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
26.6 mi away
Puerto Beach Resort
Puerto Beach Resort
#46 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#6 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
22.2 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cooper's Beach Resort
Cooper's Beach Resort
#41 of 185 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant

Property: Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant
Address: Km 68, North Road, National Highway | Sitio Tarabanan, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are certified as an eco-friendly establishment utilizing minimal energy for bare necessities,water manually pumped from a deep well and and patronizing local harvests as well as promoting community-based tourism. We promote an environmental way of vacationing and relaxing by leaving less carbon footprints. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarabanan Resort And Restaurant Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing