We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deep Forest Garden Hotel(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balay Tuko Garden Inn(Puerto Princesa)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Tree Garden Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Floral Villarosa(Puerto Princesa)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolce Vita(Puerto Princesa)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Astoria Palawan(Puerto Princesa)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
16
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you don't mind about occidental comfort (I mean : glass windows (well, just windows...), hot shower, no ants, etc.), this is a fabulous place to spend a week. Located in a remote area, Tarabanan offers peacefull atmosphere, nice beach with decent swimming, very friendly neighbourhood and, more of all, the warmfull of the owner, Mina, an incredibly dynamic women. Thanks a lot Mina, we spent a wonderfull week ! (The family of "Milo like mango").

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thanks Bruno for your wonderful note on Tarabanan. Next time you come back we will have more mangoes for Milo. Last year we had 100 kilos of mangoes picked from our own trees in the backyard!

--Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We rented a motorbike to drive from Puerto Princesa to El Nido. On the way back to PP we decided to stay somewhere near PP. It was the best decision we made to go to left from the mainroad and drive the 300 meter to Tarabanan resort. We could only stay one night, but if possible would stay at least one week. Mina (the owner) has a lovely garden with lots of fruits and vegetables. The bungalows a very nice and it's almost like sleeping outdoor, at night you just hear the sound of the waves. So if you are going to Palawan.... go to TARABANAN.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeertsMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you WeertsMark! We try to make our guests feel the nature without trying hard. We're glad you discovered the place. Come back next time!

--- Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our 5 days at Tarabanan Resort were a total delight. It has to be the most peaceful place on earth, and the food was from heaven. This is a 6 cabin resort right on the beach run by the enthusiastic owner, Mina Tesorio. We were the only guests.

We have stayed in several small Philippine beach resorts and Tarabanan is by far the best. The room was clean and comfortable, though not luxurious. The beds had Philippine style foam mattresses and typical hard pillows. I did miss the luxury of a big soft hotel pillow. They do an excellent job of keeping the termites and bugs at bay. A bit of care is needed as there are no window coverings. Putting on a show for all was easy. The photos on TripAdvisor give a very accurate picture of the resort.

The star of the resort was the Philippine food. Mina Tesorio is a truly outstanding cook and totally accommodating. We had fresh whole fish every day and I’ve never eaten better fish. The vegetables were amazing, specially the eggplant with lemon grass. I could make a whole meal of it and beg for more. The chicken was very local and flavorful, but had done a lot of walking. There were no deserts which was very much for the best as I gained enough weight eating the wonderful healthy main meals. Over the whole 5 days there were but 2 or 3 dishes that were less than excellent.

The beach at Tarabanan is short and mostly flat rocks. There were just two small sand areas up under the trees at the resort edge. This is better than it seems as the tropical sun can be brutal. The beach surprise was the excellent swimming. There is a good sand bottom starting just feet off shore and the water was shallow out 50 meters (yards). No coral or mud! The waves are much too small for surfing.

We arranged our trip as an inclusive package. This included all meals, airport transportation and an underground river tour. I specified not to use aircon cars and they didn’t. We traveled by cycle, a share ride van and a small open jeepey, dusty, but fun. I’m very glad we had the resort handle all, as the trip to Tatabanan from the airport is long, taking about 1 ½ hours. The entire package cost was about $100/day for us both. An amazing bargain. The meals alone would cost that in a big city and likely would not have been half as good! We WILL return!

Room Tip: There are but 6 cottages so no bad choices
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

This is so wonderful of you Ed! It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you so much for a very honest and reflective review. Very much appreciated. We love it. We are excited to see you again sometime very soon!

-- Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We spent a week there last year and were utterly enchanted by the warm welcome of efficient and yet discreet staff at the heart of a palm tree forest, living in magnificent bungalows that made us feel like Robinson Crusoes for a while.
The white sand beach for us alone, the lull of the waves at night, the wonderfully tasteful meals; homemade and served with a smile, everything made this trip a truly memorable moment.
If you are looking for a soothing place, away from the sound and the fury of the world, this is it...
p.s. the rocks along the shore make it a little difficult to walk into the sea ... but we survived ...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you DTShura. The first review that made Tarabanan a special place. If you'll come back today, nothing much has changed. It is still the way you liked it. Hope to see you soon!

--Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Manager at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews