We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deep Forest Garden Hotel(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balay Tuko Garden Inn(Puerto Princesa)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lagoon Inn & Suites(Puerto Princesa)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Tree Garden Hotel(Puerto Princesa)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Floral Villarosa(Puerto Princesa)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolce Vita(Puerto Princesa)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Astoria Palawan(Puerto Princesa)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
16
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We stayed at Tarabanan for 4 nights and it was the perfect spot for us.

First of all Mina the owner of the place, is a carismatic woman, she's fun and interesting to talk to. Her cooking is excellent. Every dish we had was tastefull and well prepared. Mina uses organic fruits and veggies from her own incredible garden.

The staff were incredibly sweet and helpful.

The cottages were clean and cosy.

It's 70 km away from Puerto princesa, in a little village with sweet people. Here you can make great trips to native villages and to the underground river.

Best regards
Louis & Ndey

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ndey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Hi Louie and Ndey!
Thank you! We hope to have you again in Tarabanan! Our fruit trees have more fruits now. And the sea is very xlam for swimming. Hope to see you again in the future!
Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Great things about Tarabanan resort:
1) The beach is all yours
2) A lot of peace and privacy in a low key setting
3) Homecooked meals
4) Nipa huts!
5) Affordable
6) Very easy booking process and checkout. We were emailed very specific instructions on the booking process, how much things would cost and that someone will meet us at the airport. Checkout was easy, we just paid in cash
7) Tita Mina, the owner of the resort. She met us at the airport, helped us obtain permits for the Underground River (no service fees whatsoever), made us delicious dishes and made sure we were comfortable during our stay

Recommendations for anyone planning on staying here:
1) From the airport, ask Tita Mina to take you to Robinson's to buy your snacks and groceries, then take the van/ bus to Concepcion. If you don't have a permit for the underground river yet, Tita Mina can accompany you to the government office to obtain them
2) You can get to the Sabang (Underground River) from outside the resort but it takes a while. My buddy and I took 2 buses from the front of Tarabanan. If you have limited time, I suggest booking thru one of the "Lexus" vans to pick you up from the resort.
3) From outside the resort, you can also catch a bus/ "Lexus" van that goes all the way to El Nido
4) As with most places outside Puerto Princesa, bring cash. No ATMs closeby
4) Enjoy your private beach!!!

I recommend at least spending a night here, I even enjoyed it here more than crowded El Nido

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Hi Louie,

Thanks for this extensive comment. Very much appreciated. We are so humbled. Thanks for taking time to write your experiences with us. Please visit us again.

Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Tarabanan is the perfect spot to relax and disconnect from the chaos of life! Our stay there began with a private pick up from the Puerto Princesa airport and Mina (the owner) greeting us with beautiful shell necklaces. Upon our arrival, we were treated to fresh coconut water (straight from coconuts picked from the trees on the resort!) and given time to take in our surroundings. The resort hosts a handful of small cottages and 2 big cottages. The small cottage easily accommodated my husband, me, and our 2 year old son. Each cottage has its own bathroom, but it does not have hot water (however, in February it was not needed). During our stay there, we greatly enjoyed Mina's cooking and produce from the trees on the resort itself and from local farmers - especially the freshly roasted coffee sourced from local coffee farmers! For the majority of our stay, other travelers came for brief stays on their way to or from El Nido, but overall it was very quiet and peaceful. Furthermore, we appreciated the time Mina took to talk with us about local culture and share with us her passion for pouring back into the local community and preserving the beauty on Palawan. Hailing from Palawan herself, she holds a unique perspective and strives to continually make a difference in the lives of people in her local community, Palawan, and the Philippines. Tarabanan is one of those places that I could see myself returning to many times!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you Sarah and family! We're glad you enjoyed Tarabanan. You have a home here in Palawan.

Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I will start by saying that I am sorry Mina, for the extremely long delay for writing this review.
We stayed at Tarabanan in January 2014 for a quick 3 day getaway from the reality of the reason of our trip to the Philippines. My mother in laws last request was that her ashes be brought back from Canada to her hometown on Luzon. We were fulfilling her last request. Our group of 9 arrived at Tarabanan after a very beautiful and peaceful drive through the mountains from the airport by Mina and her driver.
Tensions amongst our group were high considering the reality of why we were all there. One of our group boiled over after we arrived at the resort and Mina did a wonderful job of maintaining order and peace, and providing a solution to keep the peace. She handled it with grace, and poise. I cannot say thank you enough.
After the rough start because of said members boil over (whom Mina guided to another local hotel), we settled in for some wonderful home made food.
Next morning we woke up to the ocean waves, that wonderful smell of the ocean, and sunshine. Then, breakfast. Homemade, pure natural cooking.
Mina's homemade mango and pineapple jam are simply to die for. Sounds silly for just jam, but after you taste it, you'll know. Then, a first for our entire group, wild board (bacon?)! Again, simply to die for!
Mina arranged for a day of island hopping, just a wonderful experience. Some amazing snorkelling on the islands and the sand bar we stopped at is just a sight to behold.
After 1 day, it felt like we'd known Mina for a long time. She's a wonderful lady and a perfect host.
I'll sum it up with this, if you want to stay in a natural setting, very little distractions to allow you to clear your minds and souls, you cannot go wrong picking Tarabanan.
If you are looking for 5 star millionaire for a week hotel, look elsewhere because you won't be doing Mina any help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you Anton for this heart-warming note. It was our pleasure to host your family and provide you with a relaxing place to stay. Please always remember that you have a family in Tarabanan! --- Mina and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This resort is very secluded which makes it a better experience as you're not close to other tourists. From Puerto Princesa we took a mini bus which dropped us off at the Batak Information Centre on the side of the main highway. From here we asked directions from the locals and we were directed down a wide pathway with bamboo huts on either side.

Upon reaching our destination we were warmly greeted by the owner, Mina. She showed us where we were staying and then made us refreshing welcome juices. She introduced us to her grandchildren who help her clean and maintain the resort.

As there are often no other guests, we had the resort to ourselves. The cottage was very basic but met all our needs. Upstairs there are two beds with mosquito nets installed. At night the breeze passes through the window, and we had an electric fan to keep us cool. Downstairs there is another bed, a lounge area and the bathroom. The cottages are facing the beach which is was rather rocky, but still nice to swim in.

There is no set menu at the resort. Mina may ask for preferences, however the ultimate decision lies with her. She prepares delicious and authentic Filipino food at a very decent price (food is not included in accommodation costs). Meal times were what we looked forward to most as she surprised us with scrumptious meals. We always welcomed her company as we ate, and we would exchange our stories, experiences and backgrounds.

From here we had to get to El Nido, however Mina took it upon herself to help us get a cheap air conditioned bus at a convenient time. She also arranged a guide to take us through to the mountainside across rivers, to visit the local Batak Tribe, which was yet another authentic experience. Overall we had a fantastic time, and would highly recommend this to travelles who are seeking a truly authentic Filipino experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bushid0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarabanan, Owner at Tarabanan Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Thank you BushKid for this review. Thanks for helping us describe what an experience in Tarabanan is like. We hope to have you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews