We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff, nice surroundings, far from main street”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tres Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tres Pension
Ranked #22 of 183 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
ho chi minh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly staff, nice surroundings, far from main street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

the garden setting is very nice, with sitting areas for relaxation; however, rooms are fairly small. water pressure is weak and bathroom has no shower curtain. wifi signal is extremely weak, almost none in the room. we had to sit outside to get some signal. this place is quite far from the main street where all the popular restaurants and shops are. the helpful front staff can help you to call a tricycle to Rizal avenue. a tri can fit up to 5 adults if you can squeeze. the free breakfast is only toast, jam and juice/coffee/tea but for 100 - 150 php you can order some proper breakfast. hotel provides free airport transfer but not to and from bus terminal, which is quite a disappointment for us as we arrived from El Nido by bus and had to spend 120php/ tri from bus terminal to hotel. before that I read reviews from agoda saying that they also picked up from bus terminal but not anymore when we stayed there. overall, our stay was OK but if there's a next time in PP, we would choose another hotel which locates along the Rizal avenue for convenience and close to nightlife activities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanchi228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    32
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Staff are very friendly,!:) we made some tours which were organised by them, that helped us a lot and it was really comfy that way. You also get a free breakfast delivered to your room, we even got it on the day we left at 5am. Rooms are clean. The whole facility was nice and quite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerakLeya001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you plan to visit Puerto Princesa with your elderly loved ones, I highly recommend Tres Pension. I made all of the arrangements thru email a few weeks before the trip and then the departure day came, since I wasn't travelling with them, I said a prayer that my first time Palawan seniors will have a good time.

My seniors had a fantastic time! They said, the staff were very professional, courteous and some were even entertaining. They assisted my seniors with everything from checking into their rooms, getting their rides and planning their city day tour. The rooms (According to my seniors) were all clean and well maintained. All in all. they felt well cared for and safe. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asian_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here while in Porto. It was great value for money. it is tucked away and you won't find it on foot, but once you get there it is great. The surrounding area is a bit run down but don't be put off by this. It seems that most of Porto's households burn something at night and the smog gets thicker than in Manilla. The staff are more than accommodating and super friendly. They helped us track down a lost camera and organised our tours to the underground river. The food was delicious and the menu is extensive. I had fried chicken that made Kentucky taste ordinary. I spoke with the chef but he would not divulge any secrets. It was a great find in a very busy little town.

Room Tip: The aircon room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 84William_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed for a week. We really had a blast from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. The facilities are beautiful and very well kept. Everybody is helpful, nice and polite. A highly recommended place for those who are seeking rest, relaxation and safety. The meals they offer are just right for your budget. They also offer free airport transfer and tour packages which is pretty much convenient for their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhaia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
578 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A real gem. Staff that are knowledgable and not afraid to give solid recommendations, all too often in the Philippines, staff seem to be afraid to give advice, and so they rather give none. The owner is very switched on, so I think he ensures that the staff are too. It's very much backpacker / traveller focused. The rooms are intersected by a road, so on one side you will find a restaurant and rooms, on the other, the reception and cabins. The room we had was quite small, but managed to have a TV and sofa; the bed was very small though, somewhere between a large single and a small double. The set up is cool - timber and bamboo based construction. In the common area you have little sections to sit on chairs or you can lounge on the bamboo floor using cushions - it's been set up so that you can interact with other guests with ease, or spend time on your own. The wifi is so-so, but that's the way it is on the whole on Palawan. They have their own driver who charges set rates and won't rip you off (but check with him that he understand what you have asked, he ended up taking us to a completely different place for food - not an issue, as it was very tasty).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very quiet and clean and for service i would give a 8 out of 10. Plus garden amenities where you can relax after a long day. Rooms are basic, bathroom, small sala area, AC, cable tv, and a closet to arrange your stuff. Its enough to get you through your stay. Although i did have a problem with my shower head in the bathroom, it would spray all over the place but managed. All in all i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awesomeaviation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Fuerte B&B
Casa Fuerte B&B
#71 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Uyang Bed and Breakfast
Uyang Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alta City Pension
Alta City Pension
#124 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ezy Stay Pension
Ezy Stay Pension
#27 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Subli Guest Cabins
Subli Guest Cabins
#1 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marianne Home Inn
Marianne Home Inn
#18 of 183 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Pension

Property: Tres Pension
Address: Purok Molave, Peneyra Road | Bgy. San Pedro, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tres Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tres Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Pension Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing