We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
57
12
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
12
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing villagemango treeel nidohighly recommend this placeclaudequentinturkeysfrogpalawanfilipinobackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I spent 4 nights there and i can say it's the best place I've never been! The staff is really really nice and the food is just amazing. Claude, the candadian-french owner, is full of informations and knowledge about anything. If you would like to be close to the nature, it's definitely the place to stay. You can see the real local fishing village and all the humble and smiling fishermen. The rooms are very comfortable and the garden with the river on the background is one of the pictures which will stay in my mind forever! Thanks a lot for all! The best holidays of my life!

Room Tip: Rooms in the bungalows are really nice and comfortable. it cost me around 30 $/night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having read the previous reviews and having stayed for a few nights myself I can say the following: Yes, the owners and staff are very friendly and are going out of their way to meet your needs. Yes, they know the area and give you tips on where to go. They are more than happy to lend you their canoe or bikes free of charge or arrange tours at a very reasonable price. Yes, the location is peaceful and beautiful, right by the river and only a 5 mins bike ride from the beach. Yes, the folks in the village are friendly and welcoming. Yes, the food is fresh, tasty and resonably priced.

BUT: The place is a zoo. I mean, quite literally. The five dogs freaked out barking every night, waking me up a few times. They will sit right next to you at dinner, begging for food. The 20 cats sit on tables and chairs and everywhere they like. The roosters start their crowing at 4 a.m., but I cannot complain about this as every Philippino village has dozens of roosters. The mosquito screens on my room window were ineffective and I got many bites despite keeping the screens closed at all times. My room was dark but I didn't mind as I didn't spend much time in it. The bathroom got flooded every time I took a shower. I know this is the standard bathroom design in the Philippines and I don't mind it if I pay local prices. But at 25 Euros per night for a single room the accommodation was too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a true piece of paradise. Nested in the jungle along the Langogan river, this is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the real Palawan. Our room (family bungalow) was big and clean.
We went on a day trip snorkelling, fishing with people from the village, eating our fish on the beach, and another day on a cruise on the river. We went to the village, enjoyed basketball games and hospitality from the people there... A genuine experience
But the most important point is that you are warmly welcome and looked after by Claude and Marichu. A home away from home. They will do whatever it takes to make you happy. And this is priceless.Even though we were heading to El Nido afterwards we did not want to leave.
Otherwise, very good food (fresh seafood and veggies everyday) and you gotta love animals (there are many adorable cats)... I recommend to spend at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontherock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Two hours drive from loud and murky Puerto, this place is a paradise for nature and people- lovers . The rooms are nice, the location is grand- over looking a river and a piece of the jungle, but without a doubt the highlight is the local staff and the people of Langogan. friendly, polite and welcoming.

Claude and marychu organize several grass-root activities like whale-shark watching and a hike to a nearby waterfall and the nearby beach is nice stretch of sand we had just to ourselves. on one night we were invited to join the local karaoke parlor (there are actually two!) and on another day were guest of honor in the local basketball game.

Really an amazing and heart-warming experience.Strongly recommended as a first stop in Palawan. Thanks Claude, Marychu, Roda and all the others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnierap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

All of the previous reviews making reference to the owners exceptional hospitality are 100% accurate ! That is the first and probably most important aspect of staying at this resort.
Claude and Marichu are genuine, good people whose sole intention seems to be to just look after their guests. Claude is a complete nature enthusiast, and whilst keen to impart as much of his knowledge onto anyone willing to listen, he still also has a passion for exploring the things he doesnt yet know exist around him, and this makes for great entertainment should you be fortunate enough to stay here whilst he is on one of his missions.
This is a place to stay if you have an appreciation of what Palawan is about, and Claude can guide you through virgin jungle, or point you towards a gentle river boat trip or host you on an exciting fishing or snorkelling trip.
If you come here expecting to close the door of your room and confine yourself to a luxury hotel, then you will be wasting your time. Go to the city for that !
Mangrove Resort is in a beautiful but accessible location and is ideal for experiencing a variety of outdoor activities. The accomodation, and the set up in the resort reflect this. The rooms are comfortable, they are basic but most importantly, spotlessly clean with a distinct pride taken by Marichu in offering high standards of hygiene and tidyness. No air conditioning, but fans are provided, and the dining area is simple and rustic but the food well presented and fresh !

If anyone arrives at this resort wanting to do nothing other than hide away in their room and be waited on hand and foot, then they are simply in the wrong place for the wrong reasons. And frankly, should not be taking a vacation or travelling in Palawan !! This is a place for people who appreciate good company, great scenery, outstanding nature and diverse activities. All of which, the hosts provide in abundance.

Overall great accomodation, but most prominently an excellent place to stay for anyone wishing to see the true diverse beauty of Palawan !

Room Tip: Just ask Claude ! for anything .
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freediver270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews