We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golden dream vacation came true”
Review of Subli Guest Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Subli Guest Cabins
Ranked #2 of 187 Puerto Princesa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“golden dream vacation came true”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am one of those filipina who married a white guy, an English man to be specific. my husband and 11 year old son are so skeptical, conservative and very picky in just about everything. I myself is very hard to please specifically on cleanliness. Having said all of those the SUBLI GUESS CABIN exceeded on all of those and beyond. if you are looking for 5 star hotel and had no place to put your money this isn't what you want. if you are looking for what your money is worth this isn't what you want either because SUBLI GUESS CABIN way pass over of what your money is worth. From the airport to the unit we reserved it's all but welcoming. it's like home away from your home. that's if you know how to clean your home if you don't you would wish it's your home. security,accommodation,food you just simply say it they will make it happen for you,they would even tell you what is the on going price of the commodities and fare and knows their surrounding. all their recommendation are excellent. as I write this I have brag and recommend the place to few of my friends and I know I will continue to brag and convince all of my friends to go and stay in one of the cabins. every minute is worthwhile staying.

Room Tip: just tell them what you need they would put you in the right unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
First of all, we thank you so much for bragging about Subli. We have always said that all the blessings that are coming our way are because of our guests who put in more than a good word about Subli. A huge thank you to you and to all our other guests!
Second of all, we truly appreciate your saying that you get more than your money's worth by staying with us. Thanks a lot! We do try to do a bit more than what is expected of us, and we are very grateful for your appreciation.
We hope you all can visit us again - perhaps in the summertime, when our mango tree is overflowing with green mangoes! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    33
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
142
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at Subli which was recommended by my sister and her friend who grew up in Palawan. The picture of the cabin was enough to convince me to stay there. I wanted a "native" feel and got more than that. The setting is perfect, with a huge mango tree in the middle and several hammocks under it. I only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy them. It rained for two of the three days we stayed so our underground river tour was cancelled until the third day. We went to Estrella Falls which was also a nice place. We checked out at 11am and they were kind enough to hold our belongings until we got back from our tour. When we got back, Nancy offered us her cabin to shower and freshen up before our flight back to Manila. This was great because we got wet during the underground tour. I don't think we could have done this if we had stayed at a "regular" hotel. Nancy and her staff really made us feel like we were family and not just paying customers. Another thing I liked was that we got to meet the other guests in the open dining area. Guests with like minds, all looking for the ambiance that Subli offers. Subli took care of our tours and made our stay truly enjoyable. "I shall return"... Need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMManiquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks a lot for the great review!
As much as we would like to take credit for the "perfect setting", we have to admit that we have nothing to do with it, and it is all the work of our Father in heaven. It is a real blessing for us to have this natural ambience. Special thanks to you for appreciating the way we look.
Thank you as well for mentioning Estrella Falls. We hope that other visitors will also make an effort to see the south of Palawan. It is as beautiful as the north, in its own unique way.
And yes, indeed, our guests are of like minds - highly intelligent, adventurous, curious and interested in everything, and most of all, nature-loving and fuss-free - exactly like you and your family!
A huge thank you from all us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed four nights here in April 2014. The staff was so friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful. Breakfast was very good; cabin very unique and comfy with good AC and wifi. The grounds are well maintained, they have a little fridge where you can purchase cold drinks including beer. A couple of mina birds live on the property and make the place seems even more tropical. They assisted with arranging day trips and did everything with a smile. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
The girls are thrilled to know that you looked forward to the breakfast each morning of your stay with us. They send you a special thank you for appreciating their cooking efforts.
Thanks for all your kind words about Subli. You make us feel that we are doing something right. And although we know that all accommodations try to do the best for their guests, you make us feel that we do better than all the rest. Thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our first stop during our 3 week vacation in the Philippines and we could not ask for more! From the airport pick up through our daily activities, the staff was very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating! Our flight actually came earlier than expected and someone was already there patiently waiting for us! Nancy, the owner was also there to greet us warmly on our arrival. The atmosphere of this place is very relaxing. It is only about 5-10 minutes from downtown but you will feel like this place is isolated, giving a serene environment. You will hear birds chirping in the morning and rooster crow, which to us was very refreshing! They gave us complimentary ride to downtown whenever we needed. They also called agencies/restaurants for us for reservation or whatever we needed for our activities. This is especially beneficial for international travelers who might not have a local phone. They also provided complimentary breakfast which we always looked forward to every morning! Breakfast included choices of plain/fried rice/toasted bread, beef tapas, bacon, longganisa, danggit, tocina, spam, corned beef, scrambled egg, fruits, orange juice, etc!! You will experience true Filipino breakfast for free! Also I was very happy about their pressurized shower! Haha Well as far as I know, many places in the Philippines won't have that. So I was happy to see that here at Subli. This place isn't your usual 5 star hotel, but for the price you pay, this place has gone above and beyond! Cozy, comfortable, clean, and hospitable!!

Tips: bring a bug spray! Needed anywhere you go in the Philippines

PS. They have house rules which only makes sense! The one important house rule was to not eat food/drink in the rooms to prevent pests, which is very understandable and everyone should follow this! They have nice eating areas anyways. The rest of the house rules were flexible

Thank you Nancy and Subli Staff for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! The tiny fridge is, perhaps close to my age...haha...but can still keep a few bottles of beer cold. We hope to have a bigger one soon so please come and visit again. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a long overdue review, but I would like to share this nonetheless

To Ms. Nancy, Mr. George and the staff of Subli,

We would like to say thank you for a very memorable stay we had at Subli during our recent trip to Puerto Princesa on October 13-15. Subli is very much unlike the usual tourist accommodations we have been to so far in terms of ambiance but more so in terms of hospitality. We appreciate that through it, you are able to let tourists from other countries feel how it is like to live in a Filipino abode, for tourists from the metro to understand the true meaning of “chill” or for tourists from other provinces to feel the coziness of home they are so used to. Staying at Subli indeed feels like home, or perhaps more like visiting a grandmother’s house for a heartwarming welcome, for good food, for free tea and coffee, for simple delights such as reading in a hut, playing sungka, sleeping on a hammock or just listening to chirping birds and talking mynas.

Our Subli experience since day 1 of our vacation has been a really good one. Aside from the home-y ambiance of the place, it was the hospitality you showed us that made staying at Subli really worth the while. Thank you to Mr. George for driving us to our dinner destinations in the city proper and for giving suggestions on where to eat; to Ms. Nancy for a really warm welcome and for making sure that we have all we needed; to the staff of Subli for always wearing a smile and for making sure that we do not get pressured eating breakfast even if we were almost in the nick of time for our tours.

Our stay at Subli is definitely one of the highlights of our trip. We look forward to going back to Puerto Princesa and staying at Subli again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariedel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Better late than never, is what they say, Ms. Mariedel, and your very kind words are truly worth the wait! You make us feel that we are doing something right, and for this we are profoundly grateful. Subli is a reflection of our personalities and we'd like to believe that as long as we stay true to who we are and what we are, we cannot go wrong. But more importantly, Subli is a reflection of everyone who comes here - laid-back, nature-loving, friendly intellectuals who put value on family, friendships, culture and history. Thank you, thank you a million times! Hope to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ph
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thank you, Nancy and your whole staff for the warmest of all welcomes (and accommodation) we received! I actually wish we just spent our last hours there instead of doing the city tour ;) The reading room is so perfect. Zofia loved your pet birds and the fish magnets on the fridge. JP and I will definitely go back - hopefully in December.
Thank you so much for making our short vacay and Zofia's birthday wonderful! please don't change .... :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limbo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Once again, we would like to emphasize that it takes a special kind of person to appreciate the uniqueness of Subli, and you are that, Ms. H. Whereas other people would dismiss our reading hut as a rundown shed, for you, it was perfect! And all of us loved little Zofia - we are trying to teach the birds to say her name, but it may take forever before they get it...hahaha...yes, please come back in December...we will definitely not change the way we are right now, but we will have some new things to make Subli more interesting and different. Thanks very, very much from the bottom of our hearts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we really enjoyed our 2-day stay at Subli Guest Cabins. the staff were really very friendly and accommodating, the cabin was super nice and cozy and it had all the basic necessities that we needed. we'll definitely stay at Subli again on our next trip to Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamkatsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Nancy S, Owner at Subli Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, although it was a bit short. It takes a special kind of person to appreciate the coziness of our cabins and the genuine friendliness of our staff, and you are one of those special people. Thanks so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
1.7 mi away
Floral Villarosa
Floral Villarosa
#3 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#13 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#24 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palawan Village Hotel
Palawan Village Hotel
#25 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uyang Bed and Breakfast
Uyang Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 187 in Puerto Princesa
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Balay Tuko Garden Inn
#1 of 187 in Puerto Princesa
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subli Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subli Guest Cabins

Property: Subli Guest Cabins
Address: 55 Socrates Road | Barangay San Pedro, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Subli Guest Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Subli Guest Cabins is a unique bed and breakfast that features bamboo cabins in a peaceful, camp-like setting located in a private cul-de-sac 10 mins from the airport. Each cabin is fitted with its own private bathroom with hot and cold showers, cable television, WiFi service and air-conditioning.Subli prides itself in providing a relaxed, laid-back, family-style atmosphere where guests can swap stories under a century-old mango tree and help the kitchen staff prepare dinner in our one-of-a-kind cooking hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Subli Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Subli Guest Cabins Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing