We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean resort, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

- Employees are very friendly.
- Our room was clean. The room was cleaned daily.
- No TV in room. No coffee/tea maker. Had a safety deposit box and small fridge (with mini-bar). 2 small bottles complementary drinking water daily.
- Provided room slippers, bath towels, toiletries (soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, cotton buds).
- Beach towels provided.
- Hot and cold shower water available.
- Room was almost perfect except for the lack of a shower curtain/shower enclosure. Almost everything gets when you take a shower. Bathroom floors you walk on become wet.
- Room type: Beach Villa (2nd floor). Better to get 2nd floor so you can hang out on the balcony with more privacy.
- Had a lot of food choices for lunch and dinner. Breakfast choices were kinda limited.
- Drinks are not free (except water, coffee, and tea).
- WIFI only available in restaurant area.
- Don't avail of the olive oil and sand foot spa. The therapist was too rough on my feet. She scraped off a small piece of my skin :(
- The whole resort was generally clean except for the public bathrooms near the activity/dive center.
- I understand why Dos Palmas' rates are expensive. They are on generator 24/7. Food and other supplies are transported via motorized boat which is roughly an hour from the main island.

Room Tip: get 2nd floor beach villa so you can hang out on the balcony with more privacy
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Although Dos Palmas is having renovations this season, it didn't bother our stay and we still had a blast celebrating our surprise 40th wedding ceremony for our parents (with the help of Mr. Kin Hupanda & his friendly staff- who did a great job organizing the ceremony). FOOD was really great, we enjoyed the lavish and freshly cooked buffet they served on our breakfasts, lunches and dinners.
Scuba diving instructors were also friendly that made our scuba diving experience fun and memorable. The hilot massage was very relaxing.
Rooms and amenities were fine. However,looking forward for better rooms and amenities after their renovations :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyentrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Given the luxurious positioning and pricing of Dos Palmas, we were expecting at the very least, modern facilities. Unfortunately, the island resort fell way short on this - shower heads were rusty, faucet water (although knowingly internally treated) tasted like the ocean, the dining area's roof was almost falling off, the kids' play area is quite old and doesn't look clean at all. We were not informed early on too that renovations were on-going around the other villas and the nearby swimming pool.

The only consolation? The staff are great, great, great! You are well-greeted by every staff wherever you walk around, every request and whim is not denied (requests for food, drinks, video viewing, towels, etcetera), plus my wife and I had complimentary massages (after complaining about the facilities). Another consolation for staying overnight is the lunch picnic at nearby Isla Puting Buhangin.

Advice to the first time traveler: (1) if you want to stay overnight, request at least a 50% discount (the rack rates are totally not worth it); (2) stay overnight only if you want to experience the lunch picnic at Isla Puting Buhanging; (3) do not expect snorkeling here to be as awesome as other places (such as Bohol); (4) take a day-trip only if you really want to experience the site (only P1,500 I believe).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nomad_HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had a hastily organised side trip here to escape from Puerto Princesa, which believe me, is a place that you need to escape from. The resort, which is about a 90 minute boat ride from Palawan, is at first glance, pleasant enough though you seen realize that it's actually a bit run down and tatty in parts. Wouldn't take a great deal of money to spruce it up but apparently, there isn't the will to do so. As with so many places in the Philippinrs, the staff are welcoming and do try hard to please. The room was OK, clean though "functionally" furnished and the spa provided some light relief for the ladies. Nearby snorkeling is worth a look and we did a lunchtime picnic on a close by, Robinson Crusoe-type island, organised by the resort which was a very pleasant place to while away a couple of hours. The picnic was simple but certainly did the job and whilst beer and soft drinks are carried, if you want a bottle of wine you need to let them know in advance.
The resort is frequented by hordes of daytrippers from Palawn so can get a bit crowded and by the time we realised that bicycles were available for guest use, there was only one minus brakes available. We politely declined. Food is, by Philippine standards, not bad but overall, not a place that I would particularly want to revisit unless I had a flight diverted to Puerto Princesa.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BazSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed with my family last September 2007

We were looking for a place to go to as a reward for being able to finish school and being away from home because of work. And so we came across the beautiful Palawan :-)

(+)
*Staff picked us up from the airport (private van&boat)
*Grand welcome music, drinks & necklace (we're feeling like the royalties)
*Owning the private island to ourselves (2 honeymooners are the only ones in here)
*You can leave your valuables anywhere (I guess the staffs were properly trained not to steal :-)
*We got ourselves 2 beautiful small bungalows, with very clean rooms/cr right infront of the beach
*The food is fantastic! Eat all you can. Seafood paradise indeed.
*We tried kayaking around the island, beautiful mangroves
*Play tennis for free


(-)
*You'd really have to pay big bucks to experience all of these, but IT'S DEFINITELY WORTH IT
*A bit skeptical on what negative thing might happened to us because of the 2negative things that had happened here (famous actor died in his sleep & abduction of foreigners by abu sayyaf-they were caught and was sentence for life), but that was all in the past. Cheers!
*Many people in the morning because they offer day trip in the island for a cheaper price, that didn't bother us for the island is so big and I think they are only allowed in one particular area
*Be prepared to be stuck on this beautiful island, you'd need to ride a boat to go back to the city


------
Note: Would definitely go back for sure! I miss the food. I miss the island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icetheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

its quite expensive place but i enjoyed the food, activities and the staff were good & friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights in July with my husband and 2 children (ages 9 and 10). Package included land/boat transportation to and from the island, accommodations in villa room with 2 good-sized double beds (1 queen, 1 double and a sofa that could sleep one more), meals and activities (kayaks, snorkeling, 2 intro dives, 1island picnic lunch, plus other amenities such as use of 2 pools, table tennis, night time entertainment, movies etc). Although I initially thought the package was pricey compared to other resorts in Palawan (we also stayed 1 night at Daluyon resort in Sabang), it turned out well worth it considering the excellent meals served and all the activities we were able to pack in during the stay. The accommodations were beautiful and the common areas equally so. We loved the landscaping and lush greenery all over. My favorite place was the spa and the under-used pool there. It is right on the shoreline - very peaceful and a good place to watch birds in the afternoon.

The best thing about the resort was the wonderful staff. They always made us feel that they were there to cater to our every need - always polite and smiling. An itinerary was suggested to us but we rarely kept it and no one seemed to mind. They were all very flexible with our activities and we never felt rushed. Kudos to Bryan who always stopped to make conversation with us and give us a little history of the place (such a great guy with such a great disposition).

Staff at the aquatic center were equally accommodating and pleasant. Carlos was our snorkeling and sea kayaking guide. He was very patient with our family who had never done these activities before. Both were a blast. We felt completely safe in the calm waters surrounding the island. We took advantage of the 2 free dives and arranged for intro dives for our children as well. Thanks to Manny and Victor, our very capable dive masters. My kids will never forget that experience which became the highlight of our entire trip to Palawan.

Do not miss tide-pooling at low tide and the beautiful sunsets.

Hard to think of negatives in the resort. The water out of the tap/showers/pool is desalinated water which tends to still have a briny flavor/smell that takes some getting used to. But the resort provides ample bottled drinking water, and the water they serve at the restaurant has no taste.

All in all, a wonderful short stay and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYMom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Princesa
14.4 mi away
Princesa Garden Island Resort & Spa
Princesa Garden Island Resort & ...
#9 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
498 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
88.7 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.6 mi away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
7.8 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#11 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
235 reviews
11.1 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#5 of 51 in Puerto Princesa
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa

Address: Arrecife Island, Honda Bay, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Princesa
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range: £89 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Palmas Island Hotel Puerto Princesa
Dos Palmas Island Resort And Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing