We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest staff!!!”
Review of Grande Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Vista Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Iloilo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The friendliest staff!!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It's an economy hotel as rated by the Dept of Tourism but the staff is equivalent to a 5-star hotel!!! Very accommodating, approachable, kind and proactive! The hotel itself has very good amenities with reasonable price, clean rooms, and a convenient store having reasonable prices of its goods! A must stay hotel when vacationing in Palawan!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DysCalculia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
12
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Looks like a 5 star hotel, and the staff service is really great (bookings, information, advices, ...)

More expensive than many hotel, but really affordable (around 1800 PHP / night + 10% tax).
And there is a pool, very small but at least one :-), and on the roof and you can see the view around, this is great !

Breakfast is really poor ! only 3 or 4 choices, and not so great...
The hotel not in 'down town = Rizal Avenue' but you can walk 5-10 minutes to reach it, or 2 minutes by tricycle (20PHP for 2).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renaud L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is located on a busy Malvar street of Puerto Princesa and is believed to be at the center of the city's buzzling activities. When we first walked in, we were awed by the intricacies of native ornamentation. The basic amenities of a standard hotel are available here at a very competitive price...flat screen (21-inch), a ref, and an excellent A/C. A couple of times my wife had to turn it off coz she couldn't bear the cold. Rooms are always clean as they change towels & replace toiletries everyday despite having no door sign that says "PLS. MAKE UP ROOM". A few problems, though. The bathroom door lock in our room was broken, the tissue holder was broken, the shower head had very weak water flow, the shower curtain was narrow so that water splattered to the toilet area damping the whole floor.
The hotel has no elevators so you need to take the stairs to your room and to the 4th floor for breakfast. But It was not so much of a painstaking effort taking the stairs to the top floor as the steps are pretty low. Breakfast is no buffet. Choices limited only to rice or bread with egg & a choice of tapa, hotdog, tocino, smoked fish, ham plus juice or a 3in1 coffee. Best part is there's a stairway to a viewing deck. You get a 360-degree view of the city and adjoining islands surrounded by water.
There's also Wifi access on every floor but signal strength was weak at times.
As to the staff, they're friendly and polite; they always greet you even in the hallways. And the doorman readily assists in getting you tricycles.
The Hotel also offers free airport transfers. Overall, we give it a two thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFrancis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

stayed in this hotel twice during our trip tp to palawan
basic rooms but good t v and hot water in the shower.
nice pleasant staff,
good transfer service to the airport and concierge staff excellent

the only let down was the cafe on the fourth floor the breakfasts were terrible oily rice,oily eggs oily everything and they were more interested in chatting and watching tv than working. i d replace them with someone competent and interested in the job.
served with partly cooked french fries which an idiot could see they were still raw no apology or anything which sums up the service from the 4th floor

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quezon city
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We checked in on the 2nd day of our 5 day stay coz our first day we checked in on a cheap pension house since our flight is 8pm, arrived 9pm in Puerto princesa and nothing to do but sleep. Then after waking up late had breakfast and grande vista service van picked us up at the pesion house.

Checking in at the hotel was a breeze, reception and concierge was friendly and helpful, staff are friendly too always greets you and smiles, and the doorman will help you if you wanna go out and ride the tricycle.

We checked in on a family room cost 3500 a night, we are two groups my family of 6 and my wife cousin a family of 4. Theyr room was way way better the ours with a big bathrrom too, our room have 2 single bed an a queen size bed no sofas, theyr room had 2 sofas and 2 queens, tv was too small only 23in lcd tv, bathroom kinda messy when you take a bath coz the shower curtain is to short, so the splashes will make the entire bathroom wet, good heater and strong water though, A/C is strong and cold too.

Now the free breakfast part, beef tapa is like carabao meat I think... and it dosent taste like tapa, hotdogs don't taste like hotdogs, even my kids was complaining why it taste so weird! chicken tocino and pork tocino is also so weird! it does not look like tocino and does not even taste like tocino! I think they should hire a better cook! these are simple food even I can cook those food only better! I haven't tried theyr sisters resto menu coz Puerto princesa have lots of eats outside the hotel.

The facilities are good too, but the pool area really needs to be redesign, pool is on the top floor of the hotel where my kids spend most of theyr time, even after whole day at the beach they still wanna go swimming on the pool wow! Now the area has to have a dedicated janitor so he can sweep the water splashing out of the pool and making a lot of puddles, 2 kids already slipped on the wet floor and the tiles they put was so difficult to see if it is wet or dry! its a brown beige rusty color pattern, especially on sunlight you wont even notice if its wet or dry. A janitor who mopes the floor only on the stairs but no ones mopping on the pool area. Wi-Fi connectivity is strong but on and off, I called concierge but they cant do nothing about it, told me theyr connections are fine and its all 1 system.

But if swimming pool is not important to you, I would suggest you check in on those pension houses, way cheaper and affordable, like angelic pension house, its a newly built hotel, tricycle drivers don't even know where it is hehe. we only slept here 1 night since our flight was 8pm, then checked out the following day to go check it at grande vista.

Room Tip: If your a family of 5-6, do not get the family room! deluxe room with 2 queen size beds will do, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragster180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Looking online for good places to stay in Puerto Princesa, I stumbled across Grande Vista. Having checked the rates i found it be very competitive and therefore decided to book my room. What impressed me most was that the staff would reply to my emails without any delay (that did play a great role in me booking the room). Having got there, my initial reaction was that the hotel itself was a bit small but that did not matter as the room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. Staff was, as expected, very helpful and the location isnt bad at all. All facilities are available nearby. They even arranged the underground river tour for us, for which i'm really greatful as i came to Puerto Princesa wanting to see one of the wonders of the world. Would ceretainly recommend this place to my fellow travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsid2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to take the Underground River tour. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. We were first assigned the cottage room on the 4th floor, but asked to be switched because the a/c did not really work well and it was very noisy being backed against the pool and restaurant area where lots of guests were hanging out. The staff then moved us to a 3rd floor room which is quieter and has a better a/c unit but doesn't have a safe and has lots of little tiny bugs in the bathroom. The location is ok. It's within walking distance to a public market and a little mall facing the Bay Walk. There are lots of tricycles available to go to Rizal Ave (the main road).

The two stars is mainly for the friendliness of the staff. The hotel property is not modern like the pictures would indicate. The bathroom of the room is awful (the kind that gets everything wet when you take a shower), and with electrical wires of the water heater tank right inside the shower! The breakfast included is very limited and not very good. Overall, we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clam1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Princesa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.8 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#31 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Empire Suites Hotel
Empire Suites Hotel
#13 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rema Tourist Inn
Rema Tourist Inn
#44 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
Ipil Suites Puerto Princesa
#20 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
88 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#24 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Vista Hotel

Property: Grande Vista Hotel
Address: Malvar Street, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRANDE VISTA HOTEL offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travellers. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel, situated in the heart of the city of Puerto Princesa, Palawan; features 30 spacious and handsomely-appointed air-conditioned rooms; each is tastefully furnished, equipped with modern-day essentials such as television lcd/plasma screen, non smoking rooms, safety deposit box in superior & deluxe rooms and a mini bar. The hotel's indoor mini pool is an ideal place to relax and unwind after a busy day and is well maintained by the hotel’s accommodating and capable staff. It also offers 24-hr room and front desk service, facilities for the disabled, dining services, KTV room, Function Room that can accommodate up to 60 persons, 24-hr WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Zenrooms, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Vista Hotel Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing