We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If this place happens to be available, BOOK IT!”
other travellers have booked this property
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
This private Beach forms part of the Property. This soft, sandy Beach is yours exclusively for the Duration of your Stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
This private Beach forms part of the Property.
This soft, sandy Beach is yours exclusively for the Duration of your Stay.
You can have this stunning Beach all to yourself.
Ylang-Ylang Suite with its own Dining Room, seen from the Garden.
Ylang Ylang Suite (Bedroom)
Baby Pen for Toddlers
Breath taking Sunsets from your Bedroom Terrace are part of the Package
View from your Bedroom Window.
The Ylang Ylang Suite at Sunset
Tongkat Ali Room (partial view) : Shower and Bathroom
Front Entrance Gate
Front Garden
Pergola, Outdoor Kitchen and Bar (in the Background)
Open Kitchen and Bar
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
Yoga Platform, Poet's Corner, Viewdeck...? It's our favorite Spot for romantic Dinners.
What's more relaxing than a siesta in a Hammock - with a view of the Beach ?
Rain or Shine - Nature is always Breath taking...
Free Range Chickens provide deliciously healthy Eggs and Meat.
Large Organic Garden (partial view)
Organic Vegetables, Herbs and Spices are harvested fresh for every Meal
Olive Backed Sunbird, endemic to Palawan, frequently seen in our Garden.
Ashy Fronted Bulbul (endemic to Palawan) resting on the Perimeter Fence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Palawan Province, Mimaropa

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
trael2
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It wasn't quite what we had hoped for...”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked the villa for 5 days because we wanted to get away from it all, spend time with each other, laze on the beach and swim in the sea.
We corresponded with Herwig, who was very helpful and informed us that he would arrange for transport to collect us from the airport to take us to the villa. He also asked whether we would like his wife, Theresa, to join us as she apparently loves to cook and would be pleased to prepare meals for us at a very reasonable price. As we were aware that the villa is in a remote location and we weren't sure exactly what cooking facilities were available, we thought that this would be the best option. So, we arrived at the airport and were collected by Herwig in the van to go to the villa. He informed us that Theresa would join us the following day. In the event, Theresa did not arrive at the villa at all during our stay and, early on the second morning, Herwig left the villa without a word or a note. We didn't know why he had gone, where he had gone, whether he or Theresa would return, or how we could contact them should we have any issue (there is no phone or internet reception at the villa). To date (now 2 weeks on), we have not any communication from them to explain their absence. Bearing in mind the incredibly remote location (and even if it weren't so remote), this is unacceptable. Perhaps they had some family crisis, in which case I feel for them. But, even so, it would not have been difficult for Herwig to very quickly scribble us a note to explain his departure.
Our meals were cooked by Amos (who we were introduced to as the gardener), who was a lovely man. However, we had essentially the same meal every day (either marinated chicken or fish with rice) and everything was drowned in coconut oil. With no shops and no means to communicate, we had to eat the food.
The villa is, indeed, in a beautiful location and the beach looks absolutely stunning. It is rare to have such a wonderful location all to yourself. A word of warning about the beach (which it would have been very helpful to know about in advance). The sandflies are absolutely ferocious. On the first day, we went onto the beach and did not reapply insect repellent after swimming and we were bitten probably in excess of 200 times. After this, we were very careful about being covered in deet at all times and, even so, it was not conceivable to stay on the beach after 3pm, which rather curtailed our enjoyment of the beach.
So, in summary, this place is in a lovely location and you do have a gorgeous beach all to yourself but it really is rustic and I don't think that you can rely on the hosts to look after you. If you do go, make sure you have buckets of deet and that you like coconut oil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your comments in your review.

At the amazing villa, we receive a variety of guests. All of them have different expectations and we do our best to cater to each and every one of them in a personalized way. If you read our reviews on this and other websites, you will see that this personalized approach makes for a superb customer experience and is a big part of the success of the Amazing Villa.
You summarize it well when you say that you “wanted to get away from it all, spend time with each other, laze on the beach and swim in the sea”.
During the two days I spent “with you” at the villa, you did exactly that and not much more. I tried to interact with you and find out how to please you but after two days of looking at a closed bedroom door and an empty bar, I concluded that it would be best to respect your privacy, retreat discreetly and leave you in the capable care of our staff. Our staff, by the way, are trained to look after you and they are quite good at what they do. They live on site (permanently) and can help you with any request. You do not need the hosts to look after you and you should definitely not command our presence.
If you felt that our cook was overly generous with our virgin coconut oil (by the way, we also use olive oil and butter, if you don't like coconut oil), you should have pointed it out to him right there and then, giving him a chance to adjust. Our cook was trained by Theresa and has done very well with other guests. We have noted your complaint and we will still discuss it with him.
Sand flies is something you do not leave to chance. On a good day there may be none on the entire beach but on bad days (especially late afternoon) you need to take precautions. Lying on the beach late afternoon without insect repellent is not something we would recommend. Applying mosquito repellent frequently (we prefer the natural ones, not the DEET versions) on all exposed skin is the thing to do.
You may have noticed that we take sand flies seriously. We rake our beach and remove all seaweeds twice daily. This disturbs their breeding patterns (sand flies lay their eggs in the sand and under decomposing seaweeds). Furthermore, we have cleared and burned the undergrowth 50 meters inland from the beach to destroy the breeding grounds for mosquito's. We are experiencing very encouraging results from our efforts (there are significantly less sand flies now and they continue to get less and less). We can see from other guests that it's possible to enjoy the beach without being covered in bites.
We are sorry to hear that your stay at the amazing villa was not what you expected it to be. However, I hope that you did enjoy your time away from it all and that you found ample time to spend with each other in a pristine environment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbcrane
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If this place happens to be available, BOOK IT!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Long story short -- I thought this was too good to be true, but it surpassed my expectations. The owners go out of their way to help save you money, and make sure you have the best possible time. I would go back in a heartbeat. Prices are extremely reasonable and the service is superb.

I visited the villa with my girl friend and two friends. It was amazing. We were met by Herwig at the airport with a van that took us to the supermarket to buy food for our trip. 2 hours later after a bit of a bumpy ride (dirt/rock road) through the rain forest we arrived at their beautiful villa. The beds were comfortable, the drinks were very very reasonable and the food was amazing. We planned on cooking our own food, but once we tasted the cooking, the 350php/meal price was simply too good to turn down.
We celebrated my girl friend's birthday there and Herwig and Theresa made sure it was memorable with a BBQ on the beach, and an amazing dinner on the view deck with 3-4 courses of amazing food.

Oh, and don't count on being connected to the world - no power during the day and definitely no internet or tv. A great place to get away from everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service and private beach
Liked least: if other guests are up early, you can hear them outside
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ross O
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An AMAZING slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We visited the Amazing villa in January 2014 with a group of friends (10 of us in total, all teachers aged between 25 and 38) and had an incredible time. Herwig, Theresa and the staff were totally warm, welcoming and helpful in every way.

When we arrived at the villa we were blown away by how beautiful it was. It has stunning gardens, beautiful animals and great facilities. Every room in the villa was airy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All rooms have ensuite and are beautifully decorated. There is also a weights room, indoor dining room, outdoor dinning area, bar, sun terrace and yoga platform.

Shortly after our arrival we were given complementary rum and cokes. Herwig is a genius behind the bar and has an extensive range of delicious cocktails. Drinks are incredible value for money and it was easy to enjoy a refreshing drink at any time of the day.

I was blown away by the quality of the food here. Theresa used fresh organic ingredients all picked from her garden. The meat comes from their livestock and the fish is locally caught. All of the meals were cooked over an open fire and utterly delicious. The meals ranged from beef casserole to local fish dishes and were honestly some of the best meals I have ever eaten.

On two occasions when we were down at the beach and swimming in the river, Theresa offered to come to us and do a lunch time BBQ. Both times also armed with coolers full of beer, cocktails and soft drinks…… AMAZING!

As far as location goes this place is a dream. Luckily, the road to the villa is not yet finished, meaning that the villa is free from tourism and a completely natural, un-spoilt, environment. Below the villa (a couple of minutes walk) is a private, white sand beach and warm stretch of sea. Up above the villa are untouched rainforests, fresh water mountain springs and a lot of very clean and very fresh air. Surrounding the beach is a palm tree paradise that wouldn’t be out of place on a postcard.

All of this combined with a villa that most people would only dream of staying in leads you to think that you must of either won the lottery or you are a film star in your own private getaway.

The villa also has a paddleboat, snorkeling equipment, beach games and equipment (Frisbee, badminton etc.) and they even have local remedies for you to use if you get bitten by mosquitoes or alike.

One of the best things about this accommodation is that Herwig and Theresa really made us feel like we were on holiday. Honestly, they could not do enough to make us feel comfortable and relaxed during our stay. They are also, super nice, interesting people who are great to chat to over a glass of rum and coke on a hot and sunny day.

In short, if you are thinking of visiting the amazing villa, please do!

Thank you to everyone at the Amazing villa for making our holiday such an unforgettable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice review. Very few things feel as good as being able to share your passions and the things you value in life with people who truly appreciate it and respond so enthusiastically. Theresa is flattered and says thank you for inspiring her to cook with all her heart. You were a great group of wonderful people. Thanks for choosing our place and know that we will welcome you back as friends any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiwanna...
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my absolute dream holiday. Heirwig and theresa are FANTASTIC hosts. They are genuinely concerned for your wellbeing and do everything they can to ensure you have a fantqstic stay! The locqtion is a once in a lifetime locqtion with beautiful white stetches of privqte beach. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfy with sea breeze flowing through them. Apart from the superb location, the food was an absolute highlight. Theresa is the worlds best cook, using orgnanic veges, spices and fresh meat to produce meals with flavors you can only dream of. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone! It was probably one of the best holidays of my life! 

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your heart warming comments.
Great to hear that you enjoyed it so much. My wife and I definitely loved hosting you and hearing that this was your absolute dream holiday... WOW. That feels good. Thanks for sharing it with us !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, Philippines
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the food
Liked least: It was all great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice comments. It's always heartwarming to meet like minded people who appreciate the same things in life we do: unspoilt nature, good food and quality time spent with the ones dearest to you. We truly enjoyed hosting all of you and we wish you a great stay in the Philippines. Don't forget to check in from time to time as we continue to add new features to improve the guest experience. You will always be welcome !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
institrab...
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments in your review.
First of all, thank you for your kind words about us and about the food you enjoyed in our place. Cooking and baking are indeed two of my wife's passions. I hope you enjoyed the baguettes and the brioche she baked especially for you to accompany the foie gras you brought with you to the Villa. We will always strive to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible. We realize that our place is quite unique and not your usual “resort by the beach”. We live in a pristine environment, surrounded by rain forest and unspoiled as of yet by the developments of mass tourism. While we will never stop improving our facilities, we realize that there is also a price to pay for living amidst unspoilt nature or “away from civilization” as you put it.
The road going to our place is quite rough indeed. The good news is that the Philippine government has approved a substantial budget to concrete the entire stretch from Puerto to our place and beyond. While this will reduce the travel time to one hour or less once finished, the ongoing construction works do create added inconvenience and make the roads harder to navigate. Rough as the roads may be, they are in no way dangerous. The fact that you have navigated these roads at night – your flight was delayed by 5 hours – may have influenced your perception. Traveling at night is something we had warned you about but I guess these were unfortunate circumstances.
Sandflies is something to be prepared for. On a good day there may be none on the entire beach but on bad days you need to take precautions. Applying mosquito repellent frequently and on all exposed skin does help. We also suggest liberal use of our coconut vinegar to take the sting away and to prevent itching. We are very sorry to hear that you had to take medication to control your itch and we hope you will all be better soon.
As far as mosquito's are concerned, we feel that the fact that we changed all our light bulbs to LED, which is invisible to mosquito's, has helped quite a lot to control mosquito's at night. Our resident bats and lizards do their part as well.
When you say that you did not know that the rental car that picked you up from the airport was to be paid, I would like to remind you that all the details about this were communicated to you in writing.
While our place may have turned out to be less urban than you had hoped for, Theresa and I wish that you can keep alive the memories of family bonding and the good times we shared.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$300
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing