We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene, Secluded, Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kawayanan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kawayanan Resort
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
127 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Serene, Secluded, Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

My first time to Puerto Princesa and I immediately picked Kawayanan based on the good reviews here on Trip Advisor

I really have nothing much to say about it
The staff were very helpful and warm, the tours went smoothly as planned
the food in the resort was rather simple but delicious
the rooms were clean and relaxing
the whole resort had a feel that you are in the middle of a vast bamboo thicket in the mountains while the sound of the water in the pool could create an illusion of a nice mountain spring

i'd come back again here

Room Tip: Make sure you call in advance! Just a few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank paul360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    36
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We had a nice stay in this resort. The owner and the staff are all accommodating. They booked the tours for us. No problem encountered during our stay. Our only complaint is the smell in our room, a weak sort of urine smell.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank c2maecab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

we arrived in Puerto Princesa at about 1755H and we were greeted by Kuya Ronald who picked us up from the airport to our hotel/resort.

We checked in at the Kawayanan Resort located in L.A. Abaa Road, Bgy San Pedro, 15 minutes from the airport. It’s a beautiful place that’s full of, you guessed it right, bamboo trees or kawayan in Filipino language. Its center attraction is their large swimming pool with a couple of slides. But if you need a place to relax, this is the best place to be. The resort only has a total of 13 fully airconditioned rooms. That makes it a quiet place. And when the wind blows, you’ll hear the sound of the swaying trees.

Kawayanan Resort - A Resort Within The Heart Of The City

Aside from their resort, Kawayanan also have their own travel and tours agency. At Php5,800.00 each, we already got a 4 day-3 night accomodation plus tour packages of Underground River, Honda Bay and a half-day city Tour. The package also includes free breakfast and lunch. So we only spend for one meal a day, dinner. Did I already mention that they also offer free wifi anywhere in the resort (except inside the room) and 32-inch LCD TV, mini-ref, hot & cold shower? And by the way, the package also includes free airport transfers. But the best part of it all is that the place is being managed by the owners themselves. In fact, as soon as we got there, we were greeted by the wife, Ms. Mary Rose, who gave us a few words about the resort and Puerto Princesa City as well.

Please visit http://bukool.com/my-blogs/ to read the rest of our Puerto Princesa trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Bukool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

My fiancee and I decided on Kawayanan after the great reviews on tripadvisor. Kawayanan picked us up from the airport and placed our bags in our room while we had a quick lunch at their restaurant. It is a very charming place and just what we were looking for during our romantic vacation. The story of Kawayanan is also something guests should hear. The land it's built on used to be overgrown with bamboos (kawayan is bamboo in Filipino -- hence the name, Kawayanan -- a place of bamboo). And when they cleared the land, everything they took out (all the bamboos and plants) were used again to build everything in the resort: the rooms, the office, restaurant, the furniture in the rooms, everything. Amazing! The pool was really nice and refreshing, and we found a nice spot by the "waterfall" to hang out and watch the other guests and their kids splash around. We had a secluded room -- the farthest one away from the pool and restaurant --- so it was very quiet. I recommend that you ask for this room if you're looking for more privacy.

The Kawayanan staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and accommodating. The city tour was fun and a good way to get a quick look of the city. Definitely do Honda Bay -- we did island hopping and lots of snorkeling --- and the lunch Kawayanan provided for the Honda Bay tour was excellent! The Underground River and Mangrove tours were great. The Ugong Rock "spelunking" was really fun! We did that on recommendation by the staff. The resort is in the city so it was a quick 10min ride to the market and city hall and restaurants and of course the airport.

Loved it! We'll be back soon, maybe even for our honeymoon next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tkelly060411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

I first stayed at Kawayanan in 2006, again in 2007, and now took my boyfriend there for the 2010 holidays. Kawayanan is more beautiful than what I remembered. There are new gorgeous fountains and flowers and plants springing up. We saw a few tiny frogs hanging out in some of the plants (it was a little rainy during the first half of our trip), which kinda showed how environmentally friendly this place is. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. A lot of locals come to swim in the huge pool and picnic there for the day, which is great so it doesn't have that stuffy touristy feel. Our room had a mini-fridge which was helpful since we bought drinks and fruit juices.

We were joined by friends a couple of days into our trip, and we had organized several tours with Kawayanan: snorkeling at Honda Bay, Underground River and Mangrove tours and the Ugong Rock expedition (highly recommended). We also rented the Kawayanan van for a 3-day excursion to El Nido for more snorkeling and kayaking (very highly recommended -- fyi, the van was a personal request that was done months in advance, so not sure if they generally offer this service).

We already miss Palawan... but for sure we'll be staying at Kawayanan on our next visit. Thanks for the memories Kawayanan!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lea1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

the receptionist seems dont know the rules and true guidelines of the resort, theres a lot of prohibited things which are not listed/flagged/posted or delivered to the customer prior to the visit. ..must be considerably courteous to the customers whether what kind of status in the community they may have, be fair especially involving money matters, for sometimes they have issue on classfying age range from children to adult (talking about entrnce fee), and the lifeguard seems very unfair, taking advantage of his authority to levelize the less fortunate customer while letting the foreigners or social-class people to do whatever they want to do in the pool...during the entire stay at the resort my feelings really deteriorate as they continue watching our deeds, pending themselves to see which things they can notice against us, its not that fair and its very frustrating to stay there for awhile...I WILL NEVER EVER GO BACK IN THAT PLACE AGAIN, and for those future tourist who are planning to get there for leisure, just make sure to review side comments for the resort, .am origanilly from puerto princesa, this place boomed for public for a very short period of time, (the reason why i chose this place) but now, popularity went down so fast, i think their customer service and relation capability reasoned to have some negative impact to business. there are so many good place to stay in puerto than KAWAYANAN RESORT!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 141985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just a 10 minute tricycle ride away from Rizal St & the city centre, this gem of a resort was perfect for my husband and I. Tricycles could be easily found by walking <5mins out to the main street (National Hwy). The air conditioned accommodations were cute attached bungalows with a nice porch that looked out upon the beautifully landscaped grounds. The resort was earthy & decorated with simple & traditional bamboo motifs. The room was a good size & included a clean private bath, mini-fridge, cable tv, ceiling fan, plenty of windows all around, closet, long wooden/bamboo chair, towels, soap and lots of room for 2 ppl to move around. A medium sized breakfast with choice of coffee/tea/juice (though juice always seemed to have been out for us) was included in their cute terraced restaurant where free wifi was available. They also had a huge outdoor pool (with slide) & lounge chairs surrounding it that was a bonus. Mary Rose and her staff are extremely courteous, responsive to email correspondence and provided excellent customer service. I really think they went above and beyond to help us with our many questions about Puerto Princesa & the surrounding area, and even our inquiries about Manila, which was our next destination. The price was also right (900P per person per night) and includes airport transfers. Tours to the Underground River, Island Hopping, City Tours, etc can also be arranged through Kawayanan at the same price as everywhere else. We did our own 'city tour' by hiring a tricycle for the day (100P/hour) and while it takes a bit longer by tricycle vs air-cond'd van, we went where we wanted for however long/short we wanted, stopping if/when we choose, which was our preference. We did do the Island Hopping tour booked through Kawayanan and it was extremely fun (the guide was hilarious and professional, the food delicious and the day just perfect). We arrived 1 day early of our reservation and stayed in the city centre where it was noisy, chaotic, polluted, so we were so thrilled to move to this gorgeous oasis while still being able to easily and quickly access the city centre for the rest of our remaining 3 nights in PP.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CNL_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#28 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rema Tourist Inn
Rema Tourist Inn
#44 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#37 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.8 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#16 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#24 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawayanan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawayanan Resort

Property: Kawayanan Resort
Address: L.A Abaa Rd | Puerto Princesa City, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a resort within the city that provides comfort, privacy and security. Only ten minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kawayanan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawayanan Hotel Puerto Princesa
Kawayanan Resort Puerto Princesa
Kawayanan Resort Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing