We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kawayanan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kawayanan Resort
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Princesa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good stay for short holiday. theres nothing to do for nightlfe however the main attraction in puerto princessa is the cave and the island hopping anyway, so you'll be exhausted after end of the day. They have karaoke system but it was broken during our stay. Billiard table you can use for free, food was ok. Service is reasonable as well as the price. Pool is good, they have 2 cute slides.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shing84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    36
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Although it's hours away from many of Palawan's main scenic spots, this resort is one peaceful and quiet place where you can just relax from all the day's traveling. Eating at the nipa huts lined outside the cabins is a great experience, but one tip is to bring a mosquito repellant. Swimming and playing at the pool with friends and/or family makes the experience fun too. All the staff are very courteous and will greet you with a smile everytime you cross paths with them. They will also promptly attend to your needs if there's any problem. Ma'am Mary Rose will be there to greet you when you arrive and will tell you a lot about the history of the place and Palawan itself. She'll make sure that you know a lot already even before you start your first tour.

One of the problems we had was the extremely slow internet. It's an issue because we need to access the internet to check our business and to do work. Our last two days there we didn't even get to access the internet because they had a problem with the signal I think. They tried resetting the modem and the router but to no avail.

But all in all, it was a pleasant stay. Had fun swimming while it was raining hard! Ate at one of the nipa huts and the service was fast unlike what the other reviewer said. The food was also great and affordable. The rooms were comfortable and cool.

Thanks Kawayanan! Highly recommended people!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Resort is great. Rooms and pool facilities are as pictured.

However, every meal we had here included at a minimum a 45 minute wait for any food. I've never seen anything like it. This property is also located way off the main road, so anytime you'd like to leave the property, you need to arrange transportation with the front desk. Also keep in mind there are no closets or dressers in these rooms, so you'll be working out of your luggage the whole time you're here.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Drewdini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

we stayed in Kawayanan resort first week of May. first, the owner welcomed us and orientated us about the place,points of interests and booked us to some popular restaurants. they have a welcome drink. all the staff are really helpful, polite and informative. they make sure each cottages have mosquito repellant in the veranda in the evening. the swimming pool is a good size and clean. a dip in the pool is a plus after a hot day tour. the place is quite as its tucked away from the hussle and bussle of the city but also still within reach with tricycle 10 pesos per person during daytime--a lot expensive at night time.the owner had bid us goodbye on our way to the airport.
room for imrpovements: the rooms especially the family cottages needs to have a cabinet or atleast some hooks to hang the clothes up. as all clothes were kept in our bag through out our stay. we complained about the blocked sink in the toilet but we think nothing has been done about it during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank silhouette_0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

stayed in Kawayanan May 23-24 2012...the place was great...peaceful surroundings, neat villas, staff were all efficient and the owner, Ma'm Rose...gee, very accommodating...the food were great and neatly prepared too...rates are reasonable enough...a dip in the pool was even invigorating at the start and end of the day...thank you so much for everything....hope to see you again..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimsor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imus, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Booking:
Very fast and efficient. Ms. Mary Rose (manager) promptly replies to all emails & queries. Once I emailed the scanned copy of the deposit slip, my booking has been confirmed.
The booking comes with free RT airport transfers which is very convenient. Check-in time is around 2pm but they accommodated us for early check-in. We availed of the family cottage (Dahlia) and it has 2 air-conditioned bedrooms. The living room is provided with TV and Mini-Ref. The toilet and bath is clean, there is hot water available anytime. Water pressure is ok. As it was “kubo type”, I was expecting the “filipiniana” theme to extend to bathroom, but there was no pail and tabo. Towels, shampoo, soap and tissue roll are provided. Accommodation comes with free daily breakfast. The staff will already get your order the night before so that once you seat yourself in the restaurant; the food will be available after a few minutes.

Facilities: Pool is clean and with depth of 3 to 5 feet. There is restaurant, a videoke within the restaurant, one billiard table (near our cottage).

Areas for improvement: 1. Prepare cash as they will charge additional 6% for credit card transactions (which is illegal, btw) 2. There is no closet inside the bedroom, no space where to hang your clothes. There is a table of sorts where you can put your bag (so all your clothes are inside the bag). 3. For those who will be availing of the Day Tour: the shower area near the pool needs drastic improvement. There is only 1 working shower and 1 faucet, when it seems the shower area is for use of 3-4 pax at a time. 4. We rented the family room but we were only provided with 1 glass, while other rooms (good for 3) have two glasses.

Note:
1. Bring mosquito repellant. Once I entered the PPC Airport, I noticed that there are lots of mosquitoes. Even inside fastfood shops, there are mosquitoes. The resort puts mosquito coil outside the cottage.
2. Book for the Underground River Tour with the resort at least a month in advance because permits are not easy to get. But DIY the City Tour and Honda Bay Tour. Instead of spending P600/pax and P1,100/pax respectively, you can lessen your cost/head if you do the tour on your own. For example, renting a van for the city tour is P1,500 which is good for 5 hrs compared to the organized tour of 4 hrs (at 4 pax, we spent P2,400). Savings of P900 which you can already use for pasalubong. Honda bay tour for 4 pax is P4,400, whereas DIY will cost you P1,500 for the van (drop off and pick-up) and P,1500 for the boat (good for 6). Total of P3,000 only, with savings of P1,400 which you can spend for your lunch. Besides, you'll get to control the time spent in each sites unlike booking the tours with resort and they will lump you with their other guests. It was a hassle sharing a van and boat with people you don't know and you have to be mindful of the time you spent on each site.

Positive tone: Kawayanan Resort has friendly and accommodating people, from the manager down to the housekeeping staff, drivers even the freelance tour guide that they hire. The resort is located quite far from the airport so you won't hear the take-off and landing of planes, unlike the inns or lodging near the city proper. The place is quite restful.

While there are areas for improvement, the good outweighs the bad and I will definitely go back here in case I'll be in PPC again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant/dining area are duplex-type and near the dining area where the videoke is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traversata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked this resort for our Easter holidays because of the favorable reviews here in tripadvisor. Also because Ms. Mary Rose was very prompt in replying to my emails and enquiries. We LOVE this place! We love the resort, the staff, and Palawan! We truly enjoyed our 2 nights stay mainly because the staff went out of their way to make this possible. All email enquiries were replied to and my concerns answered even before our trip.

Room rates includes breakfast, use of amenities (swimming pool, cabana huts, billiard, videoke), free wi-fi and round trip airport transfers.

We were welcomed at the airport by their friendly van driver, who had to wait for more than 1 1/2 hours because our flight was delayed. At the resort we were greeted right away by Ms. Mary Rose and had our welcome drinks at a cabana by the pool. I initially wanted to book the family room - cottage with 2 bedrooms and living room. But because we are traveling during the peak season, they were no longer available. We got 1 double room and 1 triple room instead. Rooms are very spacious and very clean, with air-con, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, tv with cable-tv and a sofa. The whole look of the resort is very welcoming and relaxing, as the name suggest there are "kawayans" (bamboos) everywhere. From the furnishings to actual bamboo plants. Complimentary breakfast comes with fresh watermelon. Apart from the daily breakfast, which to us were good, we only had 2 meals at the resort restaurant. Don't expect much as the food were not bad, but not great either. We had a lunch/snack before our City Tour. The fish & chips dish is really just for kids, not recommended if you are expecting the British kind. The clubhouse sandwich should be renamed really, portion is really small and lacking in ingredients you normally would come to expect from a clubhouse. But the noodle dish, Pancit Canton was flavorful and filling. The Firefly watching tour comes with dinner, grilled meat with rice. You choose from fish, pork or chicken, tasted great, but I had to order a separate vegetable dish on the side.

All our tours were arranged thru the resort. I recommend this, specially if it is your first time in Palawan, they plan everything!

We had the Honda Bay Tour on our last day, our flight back to Manila was not until later on that night I asked if we can check out before our tour and just leave our bags at the reception. What they did was give us a 2 bedroom cottage (family room) where we can relax and freshen up after our tour! So we had a quick dip in the pool before we leave.

An excellent experience! Will definitely come back.

TIP: Book early, specially during the peak seasons. Book tours thru the resort. If you are going to the Underground River, make sure to have them book your permit in advance. If you have any concerns ask before you arrive at the resort. If you are eating at the resort order from the grilled meat selection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbugcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.3 mi away
Palawan Uno Hotel
Palawan Uno Hotel
#27 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rema Tourist Inn
Rema Tourist Inn
#44 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#10 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grande Vista Hotel
Grande Vista Hotel
#37 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.8 mi away
One Manalo Place Hotel
One Manalo Place Hotel
#17 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#24 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawayanan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawayanan Resort

Property: Kawayanan Resort
Address: L.A Abaa Rd | Puerto Princesa City, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Princesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a resort within the city that provides comfort, privacy and security. Only ten minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kawayanan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawayanan Hotel Puerto Princesa
Kawayanan Resort Puerto Princesa
Kawayanan Resort Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing