We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker place”
Review of Calypso Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calypso Resort
Ranked #20 of 107 Bohol Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Oir trycicle driver took us to Calypso. It is a real backpaper place. So if you are not into antzs, and lack of commodities, avoid the place. If you dont mind them, go for it, is a good money offer with the bike included (no problem for us). But bear in mind that the place is not clean and not friendly to stay.
Local stuff are kind but no efficience as they speak very bad english.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Friendly, laid back management and staff. Engaging and knowledgeable dive master. A motorbike and a room for that price I don't think you can find a better deal in Panglao. Calypso is not a five star resort but if their prices match your budget you will be impressed by what you get. Calypso is a resort and also a family home so after a few months of hotel living it was nice to be in a family atmosphere. The beach is a few yard away, lots of sea weed and urchins so it is not ideal but the resort as a pool. Staying at calypso you have a motorbike so you can explore the island and find the beach you need. Bohol is for diving and snorkelling. If you can't dive you should still take a snorkelling tour of balicasak island. I have never seen so many multycolored fishes, turtles and corals in one spot. If you want to take a dive course calypso's dive master and instructor as 12 years experience in Bohol so his knowledge of the place is substantial. He is engaging and patient and you catch the boat a few yards from the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schantydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Being backpackers we are on continual pursuit of the best budget accommodations. After a day of searching Several accommodations we found Calypso, where we got a room for P 770 including a bike. They only have a handful of rooms, so book ahead of time or get on a waiting list like we did (received a room with in two days)! The vibe is incredibly relaxing, staff Very friendly and accommodating, and only 100 meters from the beach. We dove with Rudy who manages the dive shop at Calypso. He was knowledgeable, concerned with safety and a very reliable dive instructor. Diving with Calypso made for a very relaxing stay, wake up have breakfast at the small restaurant on site and then get on the speed boat for a day full of diving! I highly recommend Calypso for your relaxing stay in Alona Beach!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LandJ_Sagada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is a culturel area. You can learn german, scwitzerdutch, diving and billiard. Billiard and diving are taught by a diving master who is also a billiard teacher. When you play billiard with the teacher, it is better to loose the match when the teacher has drunk too many german biers.. You will avoid a diplomatic incident with Germany.
Congratulations
We will come again

Patrick Aloa
Stevan Surenia
Peter Susy

Room Tip: Take your German dictionnary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This resort isn't a 5-star, but it's excellent for what you pay for. Alona Beach is quite packed with tourists and extremely expensive hotels; Calypso is a bit away from that area so it's nice and quiet, even though you need to walk a bit or take a tricycle if you want to go to the beach area. We walked in without a reservation and they only had one room which was available for only one night; we took it as we were not wanting to wander around that day looking for accommodations. The room was quite nice; clean, good condition of the bed and furniture. They also have a restaurant/bar with a pool table. As a bonus with your room, you get to use one of their motorbikes for free. We started out on the bike, but turned around as the chain was "knocking" and we didn't want to have it break down on us. Unfortunately, they didn't have any extras as they were booked full. We never even mentioned the word "discount" to the owner (a very nice German man) - he just immediately gave us a 50% discount on our room. The next day we decided to go find a place in Tagbiliran (the city area) which is about a 30 minute van ride away. As we were walking to a more busy road in search of a tricycle, the owner drove by (he was bringing the motorbike we used to a repair shop) and offered to give us a ride for free to the city.
If you don't mind being a bit away from the crowds on Alona Beach, and don't mind being a 30 minute drive (by car or motorbike, probably 45 minutes or more by tricycle) from Tagbiliran (on the main island of Bohol), this is a great spot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Let's get this straight: Alona Beach is a huge letdown. The beachfront is filled with tourist-trap restaurants (all serving the exact same crappy, overpriced Western food), expensive resorts/hotels, and more touts than there is acceptable beach space; it is lousy if you want to stretch out and relax. Unless you pay a premium to stay at a high-end resort, the limited swath of beach between all the buildings and the ocean is often covered in seaweed and detritus, and the shallow water is filled with slippery and jagged rocks, making swimming unpleasant too. It only took my husband and me one night there to realize it wasn't going to offer us the tranquil beach vacation we had been hoping for and we decided to explore other options.

We are so happy we found Calypso Resort, which is only about 4 km away from the main Alona drag. With the free motorcycle that is included in the price of the room, it's easy to head to that area for meals, or to head northward to some of the nicer beaches where you can actually swim and lounge. Or better yet, take a tour of Bohol's main island and do a self-guided tour of the big sights like the tarsiers and the Chocolate Hills! This was one of our highlights of our time on the island, and was far more fun then paying 3000PHP to have a car take us from place to place. For us Calypso offered us a much-needed reprieve from Alona, but was still extremely convenient, and we really appreciated having a set of wheels to get from place to place so that we could explore. For 770PHP, I think you would be hard pressed to find a better deal for accommodation AND transportation.

As for the resort itself, it was undergoing some renovations when we stayed there, but we did not have any of the issues other guests mentioned. The staff were friendly and very helpful, as was the owner, Andy, who gave us plenty of advice and suggestions for places to visit and stay during the rest of our time in the Philippines. The resort is a 3 minute walk from a stretch of beach, that while not amazing for sunbathing or swimming, is nice enough to poke around and do some exploring. If you want to swim, jump into the pool, which is very nice! Our room was large and spacious, and as it was situated above the restaurant/bar area, had excellent views and a great breeze so it wasn't damp or dark or musty. The bathroom was clean and the shower had fresh water. We were extremely happy with the room, experienced no bug issues of any kind, and slept great. I could see it potentially being noisy during peak season, but if you happen to visit during low season, it is the best room at the resort. Also, the resident dog, Lumpy, was so playful and sweet and we had a great time carousing with him!

We stayed 5 nights at Calypso and were very happy here. The price was reasonable, the staff friendly and accommodating (they allowed us to check in at 10 am, no problem), and we were very comfortable for our entire stay. If we ever head back to Panglao Island, we would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If traveling during low season, try to get the room above the restaurant/bar. It is huge, gets a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The room would have been good if it had not had such a big problem with termites. We woke up each day thinking we were sleeping in sand, we were actually sleeping in chewed up wood that the termites had eaten!
The food was good but the staff have lost their enthusiasm for the customers, no smiles and pretty unhelpful.
Unless you have your driving licence and can make use of a motor cycle this is not the place for you. It's a long way from the action of Alona.
We moved to the excellent Citadel Alona - which was a world of difference. Now this one I can recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arabakhidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohol Island
10.1 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
405 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
Dao Diamond Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
89 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chriscentville Hotel
Chriscentville Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
186 reviews
19.6 mi away
Stefanie Grace Paradise Inn
13.5 mi away
Marquis Sunrise Sunset Residential Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Resort

Address: Calypso Resort Danao Beach, 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Bohol Island
Price Range: £14 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calypso Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy resort, friendly atmosphere, with nice swimming pool and diving facilities. 3 Cottages with double bed, WC & shower. 2 Rooms in main house with bathroom. 1 Family room with large shower & WC, kitchen and barbecue area. Swimming pool. Restaurant and bar, diving facilities. Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Calypso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Resort Bohol Province, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing