We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 150 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The best thing about Surfside Boracay is the location. It is right in front of the beach. The restaurant faces the beach and you can have a nice relaxing breakfast or a meal while enjoying a view of the beach. The rooms are neat and clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. WiFi is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    76
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
114
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ups
1. Friendly & attentive staff (they treated us with much TLC)
2. Location (beach is right in front of the resort and since it is located at the end of Station 3, it is away from crowded area, plus it is only 5 to 10 minutes walk to Station 2. If we had not stay in this resort, we wouldn't be able to discover the awesome "street" food by the beach. But of course if you are the type who are lazy to walk, then the location may be a con to you)
3. Affordable price (room, food and massage)

Downs
1. We stayed in Aqua which was a rather basic room. Was a lil disappointed as it did not look the same as portrayed in the picture. Also, we actually had to climb over the bed in order to get to the bathroom, considering I am petite size, I guess this should sum up the space we had.
2. The arrangement made for the activities by the resort could be better. We arranged few activities with the resort (i.e. Ariel's point, island hopping, ATV). We were not satisfied with the island hopping & ATV. For the island hoping, we chartered a private boat and were informed that we could choose our route and decide what we can skip. When we told our desired plan to the staff and the boatman?, we didn't get to go the places (i.e. Crystal Coral) we wanted to and also the boatman used the wrong route. But nevertheless, we were still able to enjoy the island hoping as we spent more time in Puka beach (which was breathtaking). As for the ATV, the tour guide was late to fetch us and we needed to walk extra fast in order to catch the scheduled van time. It wasn't a big letdown for us, but we're on vacation hence we would prefer a more relaxing vibe rather than rushing our way for an activity which we were paying for.
3. I am not too sure if I am dreaming or not because this incident seemed to happen in the wee hour of morning but there seemed to be power failure. I remembered vividly when I woke up to darkness and no air-conditioning but I was just too tired to make any fuss about it. I did ask my other half about this, but he wasn't aware about anything as he slept like a log.

Overall, I would recommend you to stay in this resort but make sure you choose the right room and ensure that you relay your desired activities to the staff over and over again to ensure that you do not face similar experiences like us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ai Cheng Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We decided to choose Surfside because of its raving reviews from tripadvisor and agoda.com.

Pros:
1) It is located very close to the beach, literally steps away.
2) Wifi was strong.
3) Staff were extremely friendly and always greeted us with a smile.
4) It was quiet on most of the days, an ideal getaway if that's what you're looking out for.
5) Best part of Surfside is that there are no boats parked on the beach in front of them. Along White Beach, there are many boats parked on the beach, which is unsightly and not safe for swimming!
6) Reserved beach chairs for Surfside hotel guest is awesome, though the staff could bring the drink list to us.

Cons:
1) We chose the Standard/Diver room as it was the last unit available. We were utterly disappointed at the interior of the room. Not only was it run-down, the bathroom was horrible! It was very small and the white coat of paint on the wall was turning yellow. I know that is a Standard/Diver room, but some efforts could be done to make it more livable. Shower temperature was erratic, though being strong.
2) Location of the hotel was at Station 3, which is a walk away from all the dinner places on the beach front at Stations 2 and 3. We were situated literally at the end of station 3, with no established dining area around the area. The few restaurants that we walk past en route to station 2 are empty on most of the days. Needless to say, we did not try any of them. Food at Surfside looks expensive too.

All in all, I probably will try other hotels when I'm back in Boracay again. I met a Malaysian couple there, and they said that they have stayed in another beachfront hotel at around the same price, awesome room, and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tweien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

You get your money and time worth much at Surfside hotel. Everything is relaxing from day and night through out the end of your stay, like we had. Much more, Anywhere you go in the island of Boracay are within reasonable distance whatever areas of interests you maybe. I do strongly recommend this place to anyone, family, and friends interested to visit in Boracay.
This is a Japanese family run business, and you can see the owner and his assistance Joy always working hard to maintain best quality service and experience they can share to their guest(s).

Room Tip: We have family friends that stayed with us in Boracay provided us an opportunity to compare some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpagunsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Great job to the service staff there! We reach resort at abt 5 plus and upon check in make all our enquiries and booking for e rest of our trip. And its quite a lot of questions we have as 1st timer there. E.g where money changer, book Ariel's point trip, Island hop package, how to go d talipapa. E counter staff was great helping us makeing e phone calls and reservation and what time they will pick us up. If u need help just ask they will give u all e help u need. Throughout e 4 days there u really experience what is service! 2 thumbs up!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neelieling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Surfside Boracay is located further down Station 3 but don't let this put you off when staying in Surfside. The Surfside has the perfect and fantastic location in Boracay. If you need a place to stay in Boracay when you want to relax and have a quiet time by the beach, and if you want to have a quiet evening, Surfside is the perfect place.

The staff has the customer service of a 5 star hotel. There are very friendly, attentive very cheerful. and very polite.

The room is spacious, and it has all the amenities that you need. The exact room that you need to have a comfortable shower and sleep at night.

I do recommend Surfside and will stay here again next time I go to Boracay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leojmeduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in their junior suite room "Ocean". It was very spacious, big bed, although the mattress was a bit hard for our taste but it was alright. It has a small couch, fridge, a safety deposit box, flat screen tv, bathroom has a tub beside a glass wall that overlooks the ocean. The water pressure was a bit low but there was warm water. The toilet is in a separate room adjacent to the bath. I like that the room is always provided with fresh clean white towels. The room also had a big balcony with two sun beds with cushions and an umbrella. Also had a shower at the balcony in case you wanna freshen up. And they also provided a rack to hang out wet swimsuits. The room's balcony is facing the sea, although is a little blocked by the coconut trees. The room is tidy but the sliding glass door to the balcony was dirty. The air-condition in the room was weak probably because the room was big. But it was alright. At night the electricity tends to go out but in 5 seconds it will be backed up by their own generator. The food at their restaurant was also alright with a variety of Japanese and Filipino cuisines. The staff were very kind especially john. You can also ask them to do the activities arrangements like helmet dive etc. Their front beach has nice sun beds and a fantastic view. Since it was station three. It was away from the chaos of station two and one (but can easily be reach by foot) it was totally relaxing. Although we find the sand in station one very fine than that of station three. We also did the "boracay massage" at their spa. They offer 50% discount to clients of the hotel. All in all a nice stay here. Would come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrylou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.3 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#9 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 150 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
1.1 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 150 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: White Beach, Angol Point Station 3 | Manoc-Manoc, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#12 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa is situated at the Southern end of Boracay Island, Malay aklan. Ideal for those who love to enjoy the privacy of the Island and yet have the easy access to the Island's famous night parties. Forget about the noisy way of life in the city, let Surfside Resort & Spa takes you to a peaceful and adventurous journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Boracay Resort And Spa
Surfside Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing