We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old, dirtyand noisy place!!!”
Review of Trafalgar Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trafalgar Cottages
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The has terrible smell, no natural day light, the owner asked us to pay before she said hello.the bathroom and toilet are old and dirty! The location is terrible, located in the bottom of the market, which means vey bad smell and uncomfortale entrance. Their dog barks all day longand the balcony locatedis dirty and small. No view to the beach, no bagpackers atmosphir. Dont waist your money!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julia d, Owner at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thanks for writing a review and we are sorry you were disappointed with the place. We do not advertise that we are facing the beach front, or that we have a view of the sea; we always tell people that it is about 4 mins walk from the beach. The room in which you stayed actually has two windows and is on the first floor, so it normally has plenty of light. Unfortunately, we sometimes get bad smells from our neighbours, and this is difficult to control, but we are trying hard. With regards to the dog, he died already, and we are not planning to have another. I hope this helps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Loved trafalgar julia is very helpful, , friendly and more than accommodating!!! Even booked trips for us cheaper than anywere else.rooms are basic with everything you need and very clean. If I ever go back to boracay I will definitely be booking again :) :)
Thanks to all the staff for making our weeks stay so enjoyable. Becka and adam x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skywalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 05.03.14 - 12-05-14. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The older fillipino lady helped us get great deals on trips through her friends so they were cheaper. Room is what you need - double bed, fan and wardrobe. We had a shared bathroom. Do take a mosquito net if you can as they are good to have anyway. English owner was lovely, spoke to us alot about her travels and always making sure you've had a nice day or your ok! They have a 10-11 months old pup called nelson! What a cutie!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

These cottages are a relict of bygone times.It is backside of a cloth market. The with day and night active mosquitos infested rooms are very small and the bathroom even smaller and has a lot of wear.The wear out mattress( I got pain in the back which I never had elsewhere), the bad cushioned pillows ,the noisy fan and the missing light switch near the bed (you have to go through the dark room in night to find the switch at the door) are a shame for 1300 P . Actually I got offers for better rooms for the same price or even cheaper from beachfront resorts. Not to mind the poor wifi,the noisy drunken or drugged tourists at the other rooms which didn't shut up before 3am,the agressive dog at the entrance,the shabby and not clean looking cooking area where tourists can prepare meals,the unfriendly and even not greeting young stuff and the dark courtyard/garden where never sunlight can enter. All this cannot be compensated by the friendliness of the owner Julia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveHH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julia d, Owner at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here. It's a pity that people don't tell us if they are not happy about something.We could easily change the pillow, or spray the mosquitoes inside the room. We can ask the other guests to be quiet, but I cannot guarantee that they will comply, they are here on holiday also. As for the dog, unfortunately, he got sick and died. We are not an expensive hotel and we try to keep our prices equal to or lower than other similar establishments. It is true that we have been here for a long time, but we always try to replace any non-functional fittings as soon as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for 14 nights in January. The cottages are midway between the main road and the beach, tucked away behind some market stalls. Our room and bathroom were basic, but clean. The shower was cold water only, but we knew that in advance. It still begs the question why not fit solar water heating like most everywhere else. There is a communal dining, cooking area in the centre of the cottages that is very useful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank DenPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent about a week in this Boracay hostel. The staff was very good about providing directions and were very friendly over email and in person. Our room was on the second floor, and had a double bed, a fan, a chair, a desk and a sort of open closet. The hotel is probably on one of the quietest places in Boracay (off station 3), a short walk from the beach and around the corner from several souvenir shops (buying trinkets was a breeze!). The room was a little small but it got the job done, we were really there only to sleep. Didn't really feel any bugs (I thought I read about mosquitoes in other reviews). Value was great, fit our budget. Rooms are very basic but they are clean and the hostel will change sheets and provide towels every couple of days. Didn't use the cooking area so can't comment on it, but it's there nonetheless. Lots of books to borrow if you finish a book and don't have anything to read. It's great to stay in such a location because you can come back and take a breather in your room if you need a break from the White Beach craziness. I'd say it's worth noting there are two ATMs within walking distance. Great place for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniesaturria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our stay in Trafalgar was great! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was close enough to the beach and shops but we also had peace and quiet. The rooms were perfect for budget travellers. I would definitely go and stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldieH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#57 of 151 in Boracay
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#44 of 151 in Boracay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fat Jimmy's Resort
Fat Jimmy's Resort
#60 of 151 in Boracay
50 reviews
1 mi away
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
Boracay Royal Park Hotel
#78 of 151 in Boracay
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#14 of 151 in Boracay
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Cottages

Address: Trafalgar Cottages, Manggayad, Barangay Manoc-Manoc | Boat Station 3, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £10 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the centre of the island near Station 3, we are a well-established, friendly, family-run hostel with a range of fan and air-con rooms to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Cottages Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing