We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A last resort for a resort in Boracay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairways & Bluewater
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This Hotel was extreamly misleading compared to the photos that you see of it. The only benefit of this hotel is if you play golf or you have kids, besides that I can't think of any other reason why you would want to stay here.
The rooms are old, the showers are dirty and you are lucky if you get hot water or water pressure.
It's way to far from D'Mall even though they offer a free shuttle.
Their "private" beach was dirty and full of rocks, so you're better off going to one of their pools.
The Hotel's breakfast had a good varity to choose from, however unfortunatly the flies and ants may have beaten you too it.
Overall stay somewhere else if you can

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris_Pez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We reserved 2 rooms with two double beds. When we arrived they gave us one with doule beds and the other with one bed. Me and my husband stayed in the one bed room, and guess what? 2 lights not working ( terrase and in the room). We had no hot water even if I call the supervisor every night, they didn't even change our room knowing that there are lots to fix in there! AND take note: everytime I call asking for the manager they say "WE HAVE NO MANAGER, WE ARE STILL HIRING" How can you operate if your personnel is not complete? No bidet in the room, the room service said it was broken. So why not fix the room before occupying it with their clients?

Someone tried to open the safety box! it was blocked when we get back from the beach knowing that someone cleaned the room!

Poor hygiene too. Big cockroaches are eating breakfast with us. Waiters and waitresses in the restaurants do theirs jobs but make the clients feel like they don't want to be there. Food is not good.

Here is the greatest of our stay: at the checkout. When you check in they ask for a deposit; so either the credit card or cash. 3000 pesos for each room. Since we have foreign visa cards, we preferred cash. So on our check out, rooms checked, bar checked, then the supervisor told us that everything was ok and we completely forgot about the cash deposit. He told us shuttle was waiting for the port. He didn't give us back the deposit knowing that he had us sign the papers. He didn't even remind us of it.

WOW! the honesty of the personnel! By the way, Kim is the supervisor. If you encounter him, you should be attentive!

Room Tip: Call before your stay to confirm your rooms because they don't give you the room you reserve thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KayeSantosMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel continually tried to rip us off. Fortunately we checked online and we're able to get reasonable prices for the room & activities. However, after staying for two days, we were informed that our room was no longer available and that we would have to book an executive suite at double the cost. With no where else to go, we paid. Later, we visited the old room and found out that it was in fact available, and that the staff lied to get us to pay more.

The hotel has many hidden fees as well, going as far as charging for visitors after 8pm. The food was very average at 7x the cost of other local restaurants.

To top it off, this is not close to a five star experience. It would be reasonable to describe this as 3 or 3.5 stars. One of the poolside toilets did not even have toilet seats, just a disgusting bowl, with standing water all around. Another walkway had electrical wires all along the ground.

In summary, this hotel is overpriced for the experience, has mediocre food, ongoing construction, and forcibly extorted us to pay more for our room. This review would be 3 stars if not for the extortion. We are considering a chargeback

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FirstLensman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was very happy with the Fairways. It is a big hotel with a golf course in the middle. Most rooms overlook the first 9 holes. We were upgraded for free from a standard room to a superior room. The room was spacious and clean. The balcony was nice too. My only issues with the room are that the water in the shower would not stay one temperature. Hot to cold then back again. Also the air conditioner dripped on the floor and I kept stepping in it. Other than that loved it.

Free shuttle to town(D Mall) every 20 minutes or so. Just ask the staff and they would get one ready. They have a guy at the D Mall to load you up. Very friendly and efficient. WARNING: Shuttles stop running at 10PM or you may need to take a trike/motorized bike with side car for 100Pesos (approx US$2.50)

Private Beach with Shuttle service/Pools. We took a shuttle to the private beach on premises every day. They have beach towels and lounge chairs and umbrellas. The beach is white sand and the water clear and really does look like the picture. We stayed there for the entire day. Not crowded and no hawkers which is nice. NOT crazy windy like White Sand Beach or Puka beach and little waves- very kid friendly and relaxing. The pools are great the two pools by the beach have great views. The other two are in the front of the property closer to the lobby. All have bars but even though the list of drinks is long they are limited as to what they make. Maybe 5-6 different drinks. NOTE: There are sand flies. Wear bug repellent and suntan lotion.

Activities: We relaxed at the beach or pool but we saw the zipline going all day (they have 2), segways, horse back riding (led by an employee not solo-), mud/dune buggy type cars and a track, golfing of course, lot of water activities (banana boat rides, parasailing, etc)

Staff always helpful, always saying hello and always going out of their way to be accommodating and helpful.

The buffet breakfast was great. Not sure what the complaints were about. Omelettes- Prepped mix of veggies and ham)/fried eggs made by a chef, made to order Vietnamese spring rolls, waffles, french toast, and pancakes already made , fresh fruit (bananas, watermelon pineapple) baked goods and noodles and other items for the non westerner. Excellent! They served me my tea since I had to ask for it at the bar. They had coffee, water and juice (not freshly made). Either way, it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jetlagsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in the 1 bed suite for 4 nights, 3 adults and a toddler. The separate kitchen/dining area was great big space, and the bedroom was lovely, a double and a single bed. Great bathroom too, a power shower and separate bathtub. The staff were very nice and helpful. There is a shuttle to D'mall/beach area every 30 mins and you can also get a shuttle within the resort at any time. Handy for when u go to the amazing private beach or come back with tired kids. Don't miss out on going down here, its stunning and also a huge pool at the back of it. A choice of 3 pools in the resort and all excellent. This is a great place to bring kids or teenagers as they will love the pool areas and the beach. The restaurant at the lobby was nice, ate there twice. Had a tapas buffet night on fridays, we went to this as we had eaten in there the night before and most of what we had chosen of the menu was tapas so this appealed and at 750p all you cn eat seemed a good deal, but be warned get there early, we were there about 8pm and it was busy and there wasn't much at round 9ish. Felt sorry for a couple who came in just after that and they paid for the buffet but didn't look too happy as there was hardly anything left, they should have been topping this up as is advertised from 6pm til 10pm i think… only thing we could fault, oh also as a few have said, towels have certainly seen better days! thanks for a great stay though, would recommend this to families!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 31skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a great resort on the quite side of the island. It has a private beach that is perfect for kids. We were there in July and while the water was choppy and it was windy in White Beach, we had calm water and no wind there. They offer a free shuttle from the resort to D-Mall that runs every half hour, very convenient and it's only a 15 minute ride. Also, the resort is located 3 kilometers away from Puka Shell Beach and you can take a tricycle from there for 100 PHP. They also offer in-room massages for 500 PHP (about $15 US). The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I totally recommend this place if you are traveling with kids or if you want to stay away from the crowd on White beach, but also close enough if you want to have walk around town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JP C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in 3 different hotels during my visit to Boracay but the best hospitality belong to this Hotel. The room, environment, staff and off course the private beach just nail it all!!.. Thumbs up for the hospitality. I will never forget the private beach scenery and the pool located just perfect at the top of the beach. I really recommend this place for perfect gate away. Really enjoy the stay and worth for the money..

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
1 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#51 of 151 in Boracay
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways & Bluewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways & Bluewater

Address: Barangay Balabag | Newcoast, Malay, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £58 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways & Bluewater 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the on-site 18-hole golf course and private white sand beach, Fairways & Bluewater is an eco-friendly resort featuring a private speed boat, 6 swimming pools and 17 bars & restaurants. Wi-Fi is also available. All 700 air conditioned rooms have a safe, LED flat screen TV, fridge and tea/coffee maker. Guests can enjoy the wellness center with a hot tub, steam bath, sauna and the gym or have a massage at Maris Spa or Bluewater Spa. Horseback, zipline and cable car rides are also offered. Laguna Cafe offers fusion cuisine, Monterey Café provides international cuisine and Ventana Restaurant serves Eurasian dishes. Veranda Restobar features local & international menu while La Terraza Bistro overlooks the beach. New facilities recently opened: Kudetah Italiano Ristorante and Tapas Bar serves Italian dishes; Hideaway Jacuzzi Bar has the biggest Jacuzzi in Boracay; The Skydeck Bar; Glass Lounge; and Fiesta Patio. Private dinner by the pool or beach can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairways & Bluewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways And Bluewater
Fairways Bluewater Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing