We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent- Beautiful - Amazing!”
Review of Monkey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkey House
Ranked #75 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
1 review
“Excellent- Beautiful - Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After visiting Vietnam and Bali Indonesia this place was amazing. We accidentally run into this place by walking to the end of station 3. We just happen to be the only guest for the 3 nights , yet it was so special as the manager was our Chef... And provided us massage lady each night in our own room, and the pan boat awaited for us below our bedroom to tour the island. During dinner we had a wonderful sunset, and breakfast the sunrise. It was so awesome we can hear and feel the water under our bed, and the open-ness no walls just stick wood we can see the moon as we sleep. We just walk 10 minutes to the bars and mall, or listen to music, but happy to be back to our little monkey house 5 star resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxy2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We found the Monkey house after looking at lots of hotels and guesthouses on section 1 and 2. The monkey house, located on the end of section 1, has the most magnificent view. the room was right above the water, we saw the beach and blue- turquoise water. we could even see and follow the blue long fishes from the hammock while laying on the porch of the room. The bed was a higher level so every morning we could see the view strait from our bed. It cost us 2,500 php on the high season (not peak season) February 2012. Our room has been cleaned every day and it was calm and quiet. consider staying in a closed window room if you prefer no animal entering the room- like a cricket or a bird. The island has mosquitoes but the net over the bed stops them at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is a real find. A true gem in the travellers hand book. My room (as the other 2), was a simple hole carved into a rock. Spacious and pretty- double bed, colourful bedding and cushions, net with a large seating area and separate shower/wet room. Waves crash under your floorboards and the only noise you hear is the breeze and the sea that pass gently by. There are no windows- there really isn't any need- and although fans are provided, nothing can beat the fresh winds to keep you cool. I left an all-mods-con hotel for this and forewent them returning my fees to experience the Monkey House with absolutely no regrets. I have had an incredible 3 weeks in the Philippines and whilst everywhere has been amazing in their own ways, my room at the Monkey House and the kindness of Nessie, her husband and their beautiful son Gabriel will stay with me for life. Its is simple, but lovingly created and also clean and special. For food and company and everything else that makes a place unforgettable just pop over to Allan's Spider House next door.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divalatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights back in March '11, and had such an ace time that we fitted in another 4 days at the end of our trip.

The location is ideal for those looking to stay out of the busy part of white but within walking distance of all the nightlife and activities. The place is very small with 2 traditional Nipa (local) style rooms. Although basic, the rooms are very clean with a comfy bed and nice sheets. Each room has a decent sized sitting area with unbeatable views of the more relaxed Dinwid beach.

Arthur the local manager is very helpful and the whole place has a relaxed beach hut feel to it.

There are a number of decent food/drink options on Dinwid with Wahine being our place of choice (check out the Moroccan beef wrap......AMAZING)

You can walk into the main part of white beach in 25 minutes, taking a scenic route around the headland, and a 10 minute tricycle back will set you back PHP 100.

If you are looking for 5 star luxury, then stay at one of the many top end resorts on white beach, there are a handful resorts that are true top end luxury.

If you are after a relaxed beach hut style experience then this is arguably one of the best options in the whole country....seriously.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimblegiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We found Monkey House by chance and enjoyed 4 blissful nights there during our stay in Boracay. If like us, you are always on the hunt for clean, no frills accommodation with breathtaking views then Monkey House should be at the top of your list.

We were kindly informed by Arthur that our room was the one used by then owner when they visited. The room consists of a very comfortable and roomy bed deck with clean soft sheets, another large living area and the piece de resistance… a large seating area hanging over the water. We enjoyed many hours sat here watching the boats in the bay and the quite life on beautiful Diniwid Beach.

On arriving in Boracay we were pleased to discover that whilst there had been some mega development, White Beach had retained it’s beach charm and amazing cleanliness. What the island is missing however is more rustic beachfront accommodation like Monkey House, as you would find elsewhere throughout Asia. If you want 5 star luxury then this place is not for you, expect a basic but clean bathroom with warm water and as you are perched within the trees there will be the odd ant.
As for the location, Diniwid beach is only a 20-30 minute walk to White Beach yet has plenty to offer on it’s own with a boutique hotel and beach restaurants to feed you should you not want to leave. If you are anything like use, you will find it difficult to drag you away from your own amazing balcony.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitbat5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Arthur and his wife are offering 2 very basic rooms with no windows, built almost like a treehouse. The rate in November 2008 was 2.000 Peso (appr. 33 Euro) for one night. If you are looking for quiet accomodation with a beautiful view across Diniwid Beach and the sea and if you don´t need AC, windows or other luxury things and love nature, then this is definately the place to be. The "house" is located on a cliff right over the sea and while taking a shower you are overlooking the blue water. Electricity is only available during the night, but since there are many "brown outs", make sure you always carry a flashlight. There is a fridge with some drinks stocked by the owner. There is no real bed but a very basic matress with a moscito net...still it is the nicest place to just sit and watch and relax.
It´s just a 1 minute walk over some steps to Diniwid Beach and a 20 minute walk on the Beach over to White Beach. As I said, if you are a little adventurous and are not afraid of nature, animals and a little dirt you will definately love that place. I would stay there again for some nights next time.

  • Liked — View, Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovely73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#56 of 145 in Boracay
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.2 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#39 of 145 in Boracay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mika's Place
Mika's Place
#120 of 145 in Boracay
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diniwid Villas
Diniwid Villas
#102 of 167 in Boracay
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boracay West Cove
Boracay West Cove
#24 of 167 in Boracay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey House

Property: Monkey House
Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Hotel Class:2 star — Monkey House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Monkey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing