We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and clean boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zuzuni Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I saw this hotel when we were casually walking on the beach, and decided to stay there for one night.
We had a room with balcony facing the beach. The glass door has very good sound proof and we did not have problem with noise. The room was very clean and new, and design was very hip and modern.
It was a bit small though... Not enough room to open cabin size suitcase and no space in bathroom for toiletries.
Breakfast was delicious.
Overall it was a nice boutique hotel. I like it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank McDuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed 7 nights in Boracay at Zuzuni Boutique Hotel on a recommendation of a friend who had visited on previous occasions.

Pros:
Great, friendly staff, very helpful and eager to please.

Located at White Beach, Station 1,Boracay, cannot get better as its right in the middle of all the activity and lots of bars and restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel.

Beach and sea is literally on the doorstep of the hotel. The hotel provides a few sun loungers that double up as dining tables for evening restaurant use. (more on this below) Quite often due to the closeness of other hotels the Zuzuni loungers are often occupied by other non resident guests but staff are very good to tell them to move for Zuzuni residents.

Zuzuni has 13 rooms and are basic in design and furnishings. Five rooms offer seaviews, Rooms 1&2 are classified as premier beachfront with balcony and are located on 1st floor and Rooms 6,7,8 are classified as beachfront with balcony. All other rooms are called standard and some do not have windows so can be dark and gloomy!

As we were traveling as a group of friends, we had book three different rooms so we experienced three different levels of comfort.

Personally I stayed in a beachfront with balcony after being advised that the two premier beachfront/balcony rooms were already booked (one by a couple in our group)

My room was small in size with the queen size bed taking up all the space of the room. It was difficult to find space to store a small carry on suitcase. The built in wardrobe was also too small that the coat hangers often prevented the doors from closing properly.

Bed is very comfortable, pillows could be better as they were foam fillings and not my preference.

Bathroom was poorly designed. Door opened into anyone standing by the washbasin and did not have any place to put personal items. The bath towels were hung on a rack above the toilet and no other hooks provided in the bathroom for wet or used towels. Toiletries provided was one small bar of soap and one small tube of shampoo. Window in bathroom did not have curtain or blind so anyone in the bedroom can see into the toilet/shower.

The best feature of this room is the balcony. It is large and offered great views of the beach/sea. It was big enough to seat 6 people comfortably and every evening after lounging on the beach it was a great place to gather and have a few drinks before heading off to dinner. This balcony is larger than the more expensive premier rooms.

The hotel restaurant Cozina serves great spanish food and is highly recommended.

Cons:
Noise! The hotel has very poor room sound proofing. I could hear conversations, coughing and ‘leisure’ activities in rooms on either side of me. I often had to turn up the TV to drown out the unwanted noise. Also noise from the nearby bars go on till about 12:30 every night (later on weekends?)

Curtains/blinds: not very well maintained and did not offer any help in keeping out the light.

Safes are provided in all rooms but one may question the ’safety’ as they are the small and are not properly bolted to the location. The first room I stayed in had the safe located in the lower level of the wardrobe and was not secured to the floor. You could literally pick the safe up and walk away with it. Also no instructions provided on how to operate the safe and everyone in our group had to get the hotel staff to open their own safe with the master key at some point during our stay. One of the staff even gave the master key to one of our group members as we were requesting for them to reset the safe codes so often as we were having problems opening closing them (another safety concern!)

Sun loungers that double up as dining tables! Ingenious as this may be, I do not find it very hygienic as there are no table cloth during the evening service. I could see sun lotion and remnants of ‘guess’ what else on the surface. I know we were eating off (hopefully) clean plates and cutlery but I did envisage body fluids and stuff on the table!

Unstable wifi. Not very good signals on 1st and 2nd floor took forever to download any emails or open any webpages.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are larger, 6,7,8 are much smaller but have better balconies. Avoid any rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MaxSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineBoracay, Manager at Zuzuni Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post you review. We have taken note of all your concerns and recommendations to improve our hotel, restaurant and service. Rest assured that all the safety concerns are also being addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My friends have stayed at Zuzuni before so it was recommended to us. Its located right at the centre of the hustle and bustle of the beach scene, near a very popular massage parlour (350 php for one hour of good pampering) just outside the hotel, very near to dmall, and even has two small convenience stores next to it. Good location, although I would have preferred to be further up the beach (nearer Willy's Rock) where there are more beach space infront of the hotels.

The balconied rooms over looking the beach are well worth the higher rate, and beware there a few internal rooms with no windows, so if this bothers you, do enquire. As for noise levels, I think all the beach front hotels will suffer the same, as there are many restaurants and bars on the beach that plays loud music until about 12.30/ 1 am, but then it does stop.

Zuzuni has a restaurant (spanish flavour) on the ground floor, and they do great fruit shakes perfect for afternoon drinks. We had a great dinner here one evening, do order the delicious paella and cheese balls if you are eating here.

The great thing about Zuzuni is that all the staffs are very friendly, very efficient daily turn around of cleaning and refreshing your rooms with clean towels etc. but for their mid to high-end pricing I would expect a little more consideration in a few areas. Hence my overall 'Average' rating of this hotel.

For a boutique hotel of this quality I was disappointed to learn that the inclusive breakfast menu only allows for a one drink option, so its either a fruit juice, or tea, or coffee. if you want juice and tea/ coffee, one of them will incur an extra charge, and two coffees will incur a charge for the second cup. This seem to me rather petty, I would have expected all in and certainly second cups should be complimentary at breakfast. The orange juice when I did order one was not even freshly squeezed, it tasted like diluted concentrates.

The sun loungers the hotel provides were very disappointing also, they were made of hard wood, which are very uncomfortable to lie on. Worse still these sun loungers are converted into outdoor dining tables (ingenious rather like Transformers) for the evening. This in itself is not a bad thing, but they do not cover it up with table cloths which makes the dinner tables feel rather un hygienic at meal time. Infact a couple of mornings we did find stains of chocolate and berries on a couple of the then converted loungers, which we had to asked the staff to clean up. The limited space infront of the hotel only allows for about 7 said loungers.

The complimentary wifi was a good inclusion, although after 2 days, we were only able to get reliable signal when on the ground floor in the restaurant. The first and second floor had no signal, and despite many enquiries to the staff, we saw no improvement for the last few days.

The beds were very comfortable, clean sheets, air con works a treat, in room safe, the bathroom could use with more shelving, the wooden skeleton of a sofa in rooms 1 and 2 could do with seating cushions. The toilet seat and lids could be improved with better fittings or replaced with better models, ours was threatening to dislocate from the base from day one, and despite having it seen to by a member of the staff, no improvement can be made as it was not a cosmetic issue, but a quality issue.

I would still recommend the hotel, but I feel that there are many small, un costly things that the hotel can do to elevate its 'boutique' status.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KFbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineBoracay, Manager at Zuzuni Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review and we have taken note of your recommendations to further improve our hotel, restaurant and service. The wifi connection though is a technical problem. the main service provider was down due to some fiber optic problem and the fiber optic splicing cannot be rushed so it took days to fix. We do accommodate and grant guests requests and act on it as soon as possible. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My friends and I are currently staying at Zuzuni. What a gorgeous boutique hotel which has just been remodelled.
Today we went to Bite Club Burger Grill for lunch and now I am laying in bed with serve food poisening. The Zuzuni staff noticed that I wasnot with my friends at dinner time and asked why. The next minute the Zuzuni staff member knocked on my door with natural medication to help relieve my pain. A real life saver as I was not capable of walking down to the chemist! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Stayed in the two story loft. Check out the great restaurant downstairs too. Food is great and service is top notch. Great food, beds, air conditioning, pillows and big showers. The location is in the heart if everything. Everything you need is either 100 yards to the right or left.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Edville14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My first time to Boracay, so luck to have found Zuzuni hotel.
Clean, lovely staff, the best Paella and all on the most beauitful white beach ,our room was spotless and the breakfast choice and standard was outstanding
thank you for looking after us

Room Tip: Front only if you go to bed atfer 1.00 am if not ask for a room in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineBoracay, Manager at Zuzuni Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you and we hope to have you again in Zuzuni! Cheers and HAppy New Year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xevisene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 151 in Boracay
1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Soleil de Boracay
Le Soleil de Boracay
#38 of 151 in Boracay
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#8 of 151 in Boracay
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuzuni Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuzuni Boutique Hotel

Address: Station 1, White Beach Beside Army Navy | Malay Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Price Range: £47 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuzuni Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14-Room Boutique Hotel located at the tail-end of Station 1 with two Premiere Beach front rooms with balcony and sea view on the second floor, 3 beachfront balcony room at the 3rd floor, 2 loft rooms at the 4th floor and 6 standard rooms at the back...Experience the personal charm uniquely Zuzuni's and discover why the list of our returning guests has been continuously growing... Your own home in one of the best beaches in the world... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Zuzuni Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing