We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful what you wish for..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Be careful what you wish for..”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Boracay, 3 nights at a cheaper resort on the beachfront at station 1 and two nights at the Shangri-La. This was my second trip to Boracay.
Transfer to the Shangri-La was by mini van and was punctual and comfortable. The resort is on large grounds and is a rather sprawling affair. Movement around the resort is facilitated by golf cart which works pretty well.
Upon arrival we were greeted by what could have been a robot. Her lines were scripted and lacked any genuine warmth. To add insult to injury, she had not done her homework and failed to acknowledge that the booking was in my name, rather than my husband. Once it was pointed out that she was focusing on the wrong person, she became even more distant and aloof.
The check-in procedure was not the most professional, with the staff member failing to confirm a number of details, including our PHP5,000 credit for food and drink, loyalty programme, etc.
The room was deluxe with a king-size bed. It was spacious, clean and relaxed, with an outdoor verandah overlooking the gardens. Wi-fi was very good. (Housekeeping was a bit tight on the second day and failed to top up the tea, coffee, milk, etc.)
After checking in we headed down to the private beach and the swimming pool. The beach was small, with coarse sand and rough waves, but it was good to lie under the umbrellas. (Shagri-la also has a second shared beach which we found out the next day.) Food and service here was very good. We also spent some time lounging by and swimming in the pool which was also very good.
Dinner at the Serena Restaurant was disappointing. The restaurant was loud and didn't have much atmosphere. The food was ordinary, say 3-star standard, and overpriced. We had hoped that the PHP5,000 credit for food and drink would have gone further than one meal, but alas ...
(Side note: the fresh lobster and giant shrimp we enjoyed at D'Talipapa the next day was far better value.)
Both mornings we ate buffet breakfast at the Vintana Restaurant which was of good standard and offered extensive variety. However, it is better to go earlier (say 8.00am) rather than later (say 9.30am) as it gets very chaotic and the staff begin to spiral out of control.
The check-out process did not quite clear the low bar set by the girl at check-in. The staff member did not maintain eye contact with me, talked to other staff and made phone calls while checking me out. He expressed no care about our stay and there was certainly no fond farewell. I had to clarify with him that we were done.

Summary:
- the resort is probably best suited to honeymooners, families with kids, and introverts, agrophobics, etc.
- it is expensive and not necessarily the best value
- the customer service we experienced was not up to scratch, it fell a long way short from what we were expecting of this type of resort (we have stayed at similar resorts in Australia, Fiji, Guam, Hawaii and Japan)
- the restaurant dining experience let us down
- if you want to experience the Boracay lifestyle, this is not the place to be.

We were hoping for our stay at Shangri-La to be the cherry on our holiday cake, but to be honest we had a much better time at the hotel at station 1.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ghen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,139
    421
    140
    52
    35
See reviews for
1,002
1,095
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel in one of the tree house villas during the recent october holidays.
- Primarily choosen because of the reviews for proximity to our home location, and because excellent experiences with other Shangri-la resorts before.

From the arrival to the departure we were very well taken care of: airport pick-up with direct jetty boat transfer to the hotels own port and back. In between a remarkable stay with very friendly staff. Housekeeping was perfect, so the other arrangements. There's a lot of things said on the other reviews, I share most of the positive feedback given by the other visitors.

However, we were there during a time when the hotel was fully booked:

We found the pool and beach area is way too small to accommodate all guests interested. Most of beach time, all sun beds were blocked, though always some space was left on one of the beaches. The always friendly staff was available to find some space there.
The food quality and presentation on the restaurants was OK, but not exceptional, though. It can be very crowded during breakfast and dinner (buffet).
The Signature Chi Spa is OK. Therapists are capable.

Our kids (7) liked the adventure zone. The activities were scheduled indoors mostly.

In general, Boracay is a nice getaway in Asia with a bar nightlife, catering for the entertainment needs of the crowd.
Its not a place where you would go if you plan a solitude island adventure or a backcountry experience.

Overall average rating for the limited beach/ pool area and the food selection, quality and presentation.

All in all, the place was worth going to tick off the list, though we don't think we will come back one day.

Room Tip: Treehouse is excellent, but expect some mountains and gusty winds blowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tdi1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Was initially hesitant to pay such an exorbitant price for a stay here but they had a promotion and boy, was the money well spent. Granted, the property is not on the famed White Beach, but the resort itself has two private beaches for you to choose from, so you really get to enjoy the tranquility of it all.

The room was spacious with a huge bathroom, and beds were firm and comfy. Only bad point, and a major one that i had to drop a star is the inconsistent service staff. I asked for a foam pillow and a feather one was delivered; beach attendants always fail to tidy up the beach chairs when we left the seats but immediately rushed to tidy up Caucasian guests' ones, Pool attendants will rush to help Caucasian guests to look for a seat when they approach the pool...sense a pattern? Beach resort wise, I still think the best for me has gotta be Miami's Fountainbleu.

Housekeeping retorted with "Sir, a bottle of shower gel can be used by two people so you do not need three bottles for three people in you room", when I asked for additional bottles. You know how tough it is to rid sun screen with just one wash, right?

Breakfast included in the rate was excellent, with a huge gigantic selection and even with an ice-cream station. Pity about a certain huge group of nationality of tourists who kept pushing themselves to get first grab at the food, though.

As for trying to get the coveted pool chairs, you really have to come early to get one. And people just placed a towel or a book to reserve it for the whole day. They really need to follow Fountainbleau's way where if you ain't back within 2 hours then the chair automatically is up for grabs...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a few nights at Boracay last year and frankly... We loved the resort so much that we didn't want to go out of the resort!!!!... the staff, room, pool, food... everything was exceptional! We had a great time as a family, and my son loved the Kid's area...

Beautiful property and Excellent food... Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Between Friday's and Shangri La Resort & Spa, we finally chose to stay at Shangri La for our Boracay trip due to our previous excellent and unforgettable hospitality in other Shangri La location all over the world. But we have regretted that we should choose Fridays instead of Shangri La in Boracay.

The place is beautiful paradise and was worth us an effort to get there on the first day. But we have experienced a not so impressed of welcoming check-in process. It is thoughtful that they have prepared the room for us on out arrival and brought us to our room at once to go thru the check in process. I have booked a sew view family room for 2 but I was coming with 3 other friends who wants to take a look of our room. The check-up staff did not even ask us about the actual status of staying people but request every one to pass her a passport to register all information on the arrival form. Then she went thru pricing of getting 3 extra people staying in our room to us. Even we have explained that 3 friends were staying at Fridays, we have to go all the way back to the front office with her for her manager's advice. I took us almost an hour for this clarification. That was how we start our Boracay Shangri La Stay after a 12 hours of traveling from Manila.

The view there even is not on the white sand beach, but it is very beautiful and peaceful. We have almost forgotten the morning check-in incident. We reserved the Sirena, the resort's signature seafood restaurant. Shangri La Band hotels always care about their F&B services and always delivered excellent experiences but not in this Boracay one. Seafood dishes overall is below standard, the worse part which is the Seafood platter that came with not fresh Lobster, over cooked fishes, half cooked prawn... When we showed them the half cooked prawn, they exampled the prawn for awhile and tried to explain that was not a problem until we got request to meet the chef. She took away the half cooked prawn and brought us with the same prawn and the new cooked prawn. I did not understand the reason of bringing the disgusting half cooked prawn on the same plate with the new cooked one? Then the manager coming out with the chef, we gave them the overall comment of the signature seafood platter, but the manager's first reaction which was giving us 50% percent off on the seafood platter but no try to listening carefully our comment. We did not ask for discount but just want to comment on these dishes. Until he found out our disappointment of the overall dining experience in Sirena, he finally made us feeling that he seemed understanding what we mean. Then he offered us taking out that seafood dish from the bill. Actually, we don't care if the dish taking out from the bill or not, we just want the restaurant listening to us and do better in the future.

Then the Buffet breakfast part, I noticed the place was busy. but staff seems not attentive enough as simple as coffee order, we ordered hot coffee with warm milk. it turned out 2 mornings in a row that coming with cold milk and need our further reminding / correction.

After the first day and night experience, we spent the rest of second day at the D-mall and Fridays and only went back there for sleep. And no longer using any facility or F&B dinning in Shangri La Resort.

Even the housekeeping staffs are friendly, we believed that Shangri La Boracay will be taken off from my list in Boracay.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsEL_Espia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This place is beautifull, very peacefull, the kids play area is huge, slides and lots of toys, but only children aged 4 and up can be left without parent supervision.
we had clothing laundered, one of my partners shorts came back with 3 new buttons! now thats service that goes the extra mile!

Staff are so attentive, and remembered childrens names quickly, my son enjoyed being the king at the kids club preformance, pitty it was not advertised to people staying at the resort.

The bech area is great clear water and lots of fish, the area of Boracay is much cleaner than Bali, we were surprised tht there were not many Australians, visiting/i dont think they realise how beatifull this place is!

Room Tip: We had cheapest room-garden view, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Its an effort to get to this resort , but once you arrive it is paradise. The entire resort was just amaizing, the service,the food, the pool,the rooms, etc etc faultless, If I could do back tommorow I would be back in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzza265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.2 mi away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 145 in Boracay
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 145 in Boracay
1,497 reviews
2.0 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 145 in Boracay
725 reviews
2.3 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa
Address: | Barangay Yapak, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#3 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa offers a new level of luxury to the beautiful island of Boracay. Marrying luxury and comfort with a reverence for nature, the 12-hectare resort encompasses 219 rooms including 36 villas and suites, comprehensive leisure facilities, 350 meters of secluded beach front and a thriving ecosystem of diverse, even rare, flora and fauna. With two private beachfronts and an infinity pool, the resort offers a myriad of recreational activities. Those looking to soothe weary senses can head over to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La. A variety of dining options of different cuisines is located within the resort. May it be a family holiday or simply a quiet retreat, Shangri-La’s Boracay Resort and Spa is the perfect paradise destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's Boracay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Boracay Hotel Boracay
Shangri-La`s Boracay Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Boracay Hotel
Shangri Las Boracay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing