We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrogant owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2011

nice place but boring. the owner himself embarrassed my younger brother just because of some Easter eggs. is that how they treat their Filipino guests? booo

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kokorosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

You will spend top dollar staying at the Ambassador. So they set your expectations accordingly. However, it is very disappointing in its delivery. I log about 100+ nights in hotels per year and have very good benchmarks.

First, when booking your room be very specific about room location. The rooms on the wing opposite the restaurant / bar is next to a garden of "roosters." You will be awaken every morning at about 4:30 to 5:00am by these roosters. I specifically requested and was told my room was on the opposite side but upon check in found that I was either lied to or the person did not know what they were talking about. The rooms are nice size and clean but you definitely dont want to be staying near the roosters. It WILL RUIN your stay and at the price you are paying its just not worth it.

Service at the restaurant is simply very slow. Plenty of people standing around but the service is just to slow even for a very leisurely diner. This is the fault of management which is noticeably absent or noticeably not participating in helping better train the staff. To the staffs credit they are incredibly friendly and very helpful. A very pleasant group of workers. Management just needs to show leadership in getting the service to the level that matches what they charge for staying at the hotel and what they charge for lunches and dinners.

Lastly, and this was insulting, be aware of booking activities through the hotel. On our first day the hotel worker says that they would like to give us a "free" hour on the hotel's sail boat. My kids get all excited. As we go to sign up the activity clerk then tells us that in order to get the free hour we have to "buy" the first 30 minutes. Not a good practice to do on your "guests." Also, the hotel overcharges for activities that you can walk to or arrange elsewhere. I am not against the hotel earning a commission for making arrangements but there needs to be reasonableness.

Lastly, the hotel offers no happy hour. That is not really a problem as you can walk down to Friday's which is about 1/4 km away and enjoy happy hour. Management is just missing out on providing a real good experience and this little take away is just another example of the lack of focus.

Overall, the hotel has so much potential but just isn’t there for the price.

Room Tip: room on same side as restaruant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shanghaidiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The transfer from airport to hotel was efficient and pleasant. The check-in staff were attentive and made us feel very welcome. The seaview room was on the 3rd floor, very spacious and by all accounts a luxurious size room and bathroom. The first problem we encountered was the air conditioning unit had one speed and one tempurature which were full noise (literally) and freezing. This was blowing in close proximity and directly onto the bed which resulted in myself wearing a cardigan to bed and eventually turning the air con off all together (which meant both my parnter and we sweaty and hot all night). The second but major problem, was the cock fighting roosters that sqwaked and screached all night from 3am. It was like they were in the room with us, it was not plesant, we decided ti cbeck out the next day. The hotel offered us another night on the opposite side if the hotel at 15 percent off, so we took it as we had not organised other accomodation. Although we did not get awakened by the roosters on this side of the hotel and the aircon worked as it should do, we decided to move to a different hotel for 2 other reasons: 1) the breakfast was poor to average at best and thats being kind. 2) the ambassador is the only hotel on the beach in station one that has no umbrellad available over the sun loungers on the beach. Everyone needs shade after a couple of hours of lounging. Over all the layout of the hotel was good and the staff were very friendly, but the roosters, lack of air con and umbrellas made it easy go move on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roosters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelingaround767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I had awesome stay at Ambassador hotel. RR??? I recommend this place located at station 1 away from the crowded shores of boracay. Breakfast, Diner by the beach was very relaxing under the coconut trees :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Our room is big and clean, with a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach (room 501). It's actually a two-room affair with two beds at the lower floor and one king-size bed in the upper floor. You have everything you need in the room.

It's located in the quiet end of Boat Station no. 1 so you will a have a peaceful, lazy, and private lounging on the beach recliners. Plus the beach guard stands watch over vendors/hawkers to ensure that you are not disturbed.

The restaurant is the perfect setting for a romantic dinner or relax late afternoon lunch. The menu are full and all delectable in the palate. The food is GREAT! My special mention to Mark, our waiter, who ensure that we will have everything we need while l master the "Art of doing Nothing". I never run out of drinks.

The pool is a big hit for my 5-year old kid, giving him option to swim at sea or at the pool with the other kids.

During our stay on Holy Week holiday break, we met the friendly husband and wife Nikki & Joop who owns the resort. Their kids played with our kids allowing us some free time to continue mastering the art of doing nothing. They even arrange family activities like banana boat ride and Zorb! (must try) outside of the resort. There's also a relaxing massage by the beach to soothe you after a day of activities.

On the overall, It's a wonderful stay exceeding all our expectations. On the next available chance, we will definitely comeback!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firefoxzombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel is located in Station 1 so if you want a quiet stay, this is a perfect spot. The rooms are huge with huge toilet & bath, very well kept (hotel is 2 years old) & with complete provisions, from toiletries, bath robes, fruit basket, botlled water plus all basic provisions. Wi-fi is available for free in the entire resort and accessible as far as the beachfront, thus you can do your emails while sunbathing. Menu has huge selection & quality of food is surprisingly excellent. I traveled with a foreigner client & he himself was impressed with the food quality & reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. Staff are friendly & accomodating. They provide each room with a cellphone with prepaid simcard. Station 2 where the action happens is within a short walking distance. I've stayed at Discovery Shores and I would say they are at par.

Room Tip: Request for a room nearer the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladylawyer0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

While sipping a glass of white Chardonnay, KWV (at a very reasonable price), on one of the comfortable loungers underneath the Palm Trees on the Beach front of Ambassador in Paradise Resort, I'm reviewing my stay here. As my title says, 'What Else Could You possibly Want For' if you're here for a relaxing stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the big cities.

From the moment we arrived at Caticlan Airport, we were welcomed by super friendly staff and guided smoothly to the boat bringing us to Boracay Island. A van brought us from the port to the resort where our check in was simply a matter of moments. The Resort is a Balinese Style resort, completely blending in with the atmosphere of the beach and the palm trees.

We then first enjoyed a buffet breakfast on the beach, freshly baked breads and pastries, fruits, juices, an egg station, a complete buffet ..... right there on the beach. Lovely !!

The room we checked into, a family room, was very spacious, as are also the bathrooms. One room upstairs and a second room with separate bathroom downstairs, super ! Nice comfortable big beds, a living area, and a balcony from where you have Ocean View. When you stay in Boracay you actually hardly spend too much time in your room because you spend it on the beach, but the rooms are very comfortable and well designed. Things like an lcd, well-stocked mini bar and coffee and tea making facilities make it complete !!

Then relaxing on the beach and swimming in a clear blue sea, heaven on earth !! The white beach is amazing, and the friendly staff of the resort are constantly nearby for refreshments, lunch or anything else you’d want to order. I love this place and we will definitely very soon return. Thanks to all the staff for making this stay a very memorable one ! To be continued on our next stay !

ps. Free Wifi throughout the resort !!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller196420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.0 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
1.0 mi away
Boracay Mandarin Island Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monaco Suites de Boracay
Monaco Suites de Boracay
#23 of 151 in Boracay
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 151 in Boracay
758 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#24 of 151 in Boracay
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador in Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador in Paradise Resort

Address: Station 1, Sitio Pinaongon, Barangay Balabag, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Boracay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £93 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ambassador in Paradise Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador in Paradise Resort is nested in the best "White Beach" location here at Boracay Philippines. We'd love to accommodate conventions, weddings and guests like you who seeks paradise on earth! See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador in Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador In Paradise Hotel Boracay
Ambassador In Paradise Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing