We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astoria's Buffet Experience”
Review of Astoria Boracay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astoria Boracay
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I will just write something about our buffet experience in Astoria, since we didn't checked in their hotel, which i believe to be a great place to stay with by the looks of their beautiful lighted pool besides the restaurant:) Anyhow, their buffet is great, since they have a large selections of foods and beverages, and one thing that makes it perfect is the grilling experience, unlike any other buffet wherein there is already some grilled seafood's or meat prepared, in Astoria, you got to choose the raw stuff and have it grilled right before your table :)

The place is modern, cozy and elegant, which adds to the mouthwatering experience and not to forget the value for money, for around 495Php, you got to experience a large variety of their delicately prepare foods and beverages, which is rarely found in the Island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bissoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff not that nice
Especially the security guard
I don't advice to stay there
It's terrible hotel in boracay
I hate it so much
I never saw like this
Really very disappointed
I stay now in other hotel like Zoe Mie it's silent and better million times from this hotel
They treat me like I'm not paying my room and like I'm staying free
Even the guard want money just to be nice

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALENEZI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnny624, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

dear ALENEZI2013,

thank you for your entry on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at astoria boracay this august 2013. while it is unfortunate that you hated your stay with us and found it terrible and the staff horrible, we were hoping you could be more specific with your comments in order for us to address your concerns about the resort and the services we offer. what dates were you at the resort and which room did you stay in? what in particular about our services and facilities did you feel was not up to par with your expectations? were the staff all rude to you? we also want to conduct a thorough investigation on the guard you said wanted money from you as this is not our company practice.

i also took the liberty of checking on the resort called Zoe Mie boracay, which you transferred to after astoria. it is not a resort that is accredited by the department of tourism and the photos of the resort, rooms and facilities in the website are not in the same category as with astoria boracay.

astoria boracay has taken all the steps needed to be accredited by the department of tourism as we want the travelers who stay with us to feel secure that the resort they are staying in is being endorsed by the government. needless to say, the comparison of both resorts with one another should not be considered as both are different in what they offer the traveler.

thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at astoria and we look foward to hearing back from you so we can address your concerns at the soonest possible time. you may send your reply here or direct to jtanjangco@astoriahotelsandresorts.com.

sincerely yours,

JOHN A. TANJANGCO
PR, Corporate Branding and Creatives Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you're looking for a dream vacation consider astoria boracay. The location, facilities, food and especially service are amazing. I would like to express my gratitude to mr. Feijah Tomajin, reservations officer for his patience. He answered my innumerable inquiries and suggested alternatives on how i could enjoy my platinum card more. Also, I would like to thank mr dwanne sombero, guest relations officer for his assistance. He provided us with a comfortable place to stay when we arrived at 3am on aug. 9,2013. He even surprisingly upgraded our room from deluxe to deluxe room pool room. Lastly, mr santi santillan, guest relations officer for his assisstance. He helped us follow up the status of our flight on a stormy aug.12 even if we already checked out on aug. 10. Their service is priceless. I just hope the dining staff will be more vigilant in keeping big flies away from the food in the restaurant. Generally, our stay is remarkable

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahlilever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Astoria Boracay is really a lovely place to recharge both with family and friends. Here's a few reasons why:
1) location is perfect since station 2 is a stones' throw away and there are lots of restaurants nearby.
2) fairly new resort (judging from its look) or they really do a darn good job on maintenance
3) lap pool's really a treat when you want to relax and take a dip
4) though modern in design it still maintains a warm homey feel
5) our room was really spacious (my tip is spend a bit more to get the bigger room).
6) service offered by most of staff is really good. They treat you as if you were a guest in their household. Melbert, Lyan and Jen of the restaurant are some of the notables. The lifeguard on-duty on a Saturday night when it was raining was also really nice even exchanging pleasantries while doing his job soaked by torrents of rainfall.

There are also items which my spouse and I agree which needs managements' attention.
1) Room (#106) we stayed in was near room/s being fixed where construction was on-going so there was a bit of noise and hints of smell of paint. There was also odour coming from the bathroom which probably is a function of the on-going construction. These were all minor by the way which we really affect our stay. Probably information beforehand was appropriate- before we booked or even when we are about to check-in.
2) The need for a deposit when you're already fully paid weeks before.
2) What's really unsettling for us is how one front desk staff treats guests. We requested for early check-in which was not accommodated since resort was fully booked. That was understandable and waited till 2pm. Come check-in time, we proceeded to the front desk to get keys to the room and was told that it was not ready. Waited for another 15 minutes, still the room was not ready. What's upsetting is that a front desk personnel just had this smug look on his face, told us room was not ready and proceeded on to do his routine with nary an apology. Conversed with another staff and was told that guests checked out late and issued a simple, 'Pasensya na'. That was all we needed - the courtesy of being informed what's happening and a brief apology (basic customer service and interacting with people). Most of the staff are really there to provide the 'extraordinary experience' as indicated in the welcome letter but a few need to be re-trained and evaluated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Macky_Macaspac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Awesome place!!.... We stayed here for 2 nights, and wished we could have stayed longer ",)…the hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly, food is amazing, spacious room and the location is accessible to many restaurants and near Stations 2 and 3.

Overall, a Nice Place to Stay in Boracay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Overall a nice hotel. Good service, mordern design hotel (love the swimming pool), breakfast is Okay and perfect location (within station 1 and station 2). Although the room and the size of the hotel is consider small, but is acceptable with the price and location offered.

Room Tip: We did't really choose the room, but we got pool access room, which is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnny624, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

11 July 2013

Dear SKhoo,

Thank you for your most recent review of Astoria Boracay posted on July 9, 2013. We are delighted to know that your stay went well and that you found it well worth the value of money you paid for. We truly appreciate the time and effort you've taken to write about this and share with the millions of tripadvisor readers.

The 69 rooms and suites of Astoria Boracay are within a 3,000 sq m property and our 20 meter lap pool is at the center of it all. We are happy that you enjoyed the resort's facilities and beachfront location as well.

We hope to welcome you back at Astoria Boracay.

Sincerely yours,

John A. Tanjangco
Corporate Branding, Creatives and PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I'm from the Philippines and Boracay is frequently visited by foreigners/tourists from around the world and yet, here I was with my husband, this post-Summer June 2013, we visited Boracay for the first time. I've been to Palawan, Siargao, Sohoton & Bohol. All of them are amazingly beautiful. As for Boracay, well, everybody said it right, it's paradise!

Our first time visit to Boracay even made it extra special because of our memorable stay in Astoria Hotel. Like my previous review, i mentioned that it was never a mistake joining Astoria Platinum membership. It's worth our money. I love the generous, spacious rooms, the convenience it provides. I never get caught of the place we usually stay right away, warm welcome of the staff & their sincere service & hospitality is what always give me an impression that it's worth the budget we paid. So, i give credit to all the staff and the management. Keep it up! It's even more convenient because they have transfer assistance to & fro Caticlan airport up to the Jetty Port, just make sure you make that booking before you arrive. I love their lap pool, which we did use for night swim for exercise (though the beach is great enough for swimming). And oh the breakfast buffet! Inclusive when you're checked-in. We stayed in this hotel as a couple but our room is good enough for a family of 4.

We would definitely return and stay at Astoria Hotel!

** We also tried Boracay's famous activities like Parasailing & Helmet Diving. But unfortunately, we don't have much time for Island Hopping, next time! It's a must!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brightlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnny624, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear brightlove,

Thank you for your entry submitted on July 1, 2013 for the nights you recently spent at the resort last month. The management of Astoria Hotels and Resorts is very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to write and share your first hand experience whilst in Astoria Boracay.

Like you, I have also traveled extensively all over the Philippines but there is something special about the island of Boracay that draws you and makes you want to come back over and over again no matter how busy and developed the island gets each month. The island is consistently voted one of the best beaches in the world in various global publications and websites and this is because of the powder white sand which you cannot find anywhere else in the world.

We thank you for becoming a Platinum Member of Club Astoria and appreciate your endorsing this on TripAdvisor. The membership is of great value, most especially for those who take their vacations seriously and plan for it in advance. In a way we are glad you were not able to do all of the activities on the island because this will be the reason for you to come back and do your return stay at Astoria Boracay.

Again, our sincere thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back at the resort and on the island of Boracay soon.

Sincerely yours,

JOHN A. TANJANGCO
Corporate Branding, Creatives and PR Head
Astoria Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.2 mi away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#6 of 151 in Boracay
758 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Current
Astoria Current
#7 of 151 in Boracay
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Discovery Shores Boracay
0.6 mi away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Boracay

Address: Station 1 | Malay, Aklan, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £106 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astoria Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious contemporary resort sits on a 3,500 square meter beachfront prime location. Conveniently situated on the island's Station 1, it offers guests an ideal retreat on the world famous White Beach, within close proximity to shopping, popular restaurants and the hottest bars and lounges. The resort's 71 sound proof and non-smoking rooms and suites provide the perfect island setting, with an inspiring tropical atmosphere ideal for romantic getaways or lively nightlife activities. Astoria Boracay's spacious accommodations are all modern and stylishly designed with a local twist and range from 26-50 square meters that offer private balconies or terrace views, individual climate control air-conditioning, 32" LCD TV, DVD player, complimentary internet access, personal refrigerator, electronic room safe, telephone and voice mail, tea and coffee making facilities and complete bathroom amenities. The resort offers it's unique Tropical Free-Style Cuisine and Fresh Catch of The Day at White Cafe, it's own al fresco restaurant and coffee shop. Relax, unwind and catch the breathtaking views at the end of the day at Vibe, providing the perfect ending to a day of activities with your favorite drink in hand. There are function rooms for social events, beach weddings and parties, corporate meetings and launches. In-room dining is also available at Astoria Boracay. Together with the beautifully landscaped gardens and unique cocoon loungers, guests can also enjoy the resort's 22-metre long swimming pool and laze on their wonderful crescent or submerged pool loungers. Astoria's Guest Service Agents can book reservations for all guests wanting to sample water sports activities (banana boat rides, jet skiing, wind surfing, snorkeling, kite-boarding, sailing, scuba diving and courses) island tours, trekking, hiking and local tours. The resort is currently fully accredited by the Philippine Department of Tourism and enjoys a AAA rating (equivalent to 5 star category). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astoria Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing