We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly & Cute”
Review of Island Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Nook
Ranked #101 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Cainta, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Budget friendly & Cute”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Found this through Trip Advisor having great reviews. Island Nook is not located along the beach front side but is just a few walks away from it. The limited selection of breakfast menu is not an issue for me. good side: located near to a convenient store 2. Near to D'mall where you can shop and dine. 3. They got a cute sink in the room 4. Island Nook staff are friendly. 5. unique and modern room set up and design.

bad side: 1. i am not sure if the house next to it is part of the hotel or not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makoy_OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    28
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Island Nook. For one, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms and toilets were clean! And the breakfast that came with the package was hefty and good! :) To top that the room was reasonably priced too! We sure will be coming back here!

Room Tip: Better get a room on the first floor since the rooms on the second floor gets hot in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj3dux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

...customer service is dismal. We arrived on the 7th of Feb at 1 in the afternoon. After filling out the customary check-in forms, we were directed to our room (room number 3) on the 2nd floor. We were so excited to hit the sack and rest as we have just come from a long bus ride from Kalibo (plus the fact that i only had a few hours of sleep the night prior), and just when i was about to start my REM, i was roused by the pounding and hammering in the room next to ours (Strike 1). Upon checking, i found out that they were doing some repairs to re-fit the AC of room number 2. I went down to the frontdesk to complain and to request to be moved to a quieter area, but they said that all other rooms were taken. What i didn't like was the fact that she even suggested for us stroll out first as it might take all afternoon, and that she could guarantee that it will have been done by night time. I told her that that wasn't part of my plan, as my plan was to rest first and just wake up in time for dinner. She wasn't apologetic at all (Strike 2). She gave instructions to the repairman to hurry up so after 30 minutes of pounding and hammering, we at last had our peace and quiet.

February 8th, there was a blackout on the island, and thinking that Boracay was a progressive place, we didn't bother worrying about it as we were out on the beach strolling and checking out the best places to dine at, plus a few minutes after the lights went out, the restaurants and hotels along the coast fired up their generators, so i assumed that probably, just probably our hotel would also have the same. So after our dinner and evening stroll, we headed back to the hotel to call it a day. Upon entering, i switched the TV, the lights, and the AC on, and everything worked out fine except for the AC, so i then went down to the reception to complain. I was told that power was still out, and that their generator was not powerful enough to light up the AC. So i asked if they had electric fans that they could loan us so we could sleep. They said that they didn't have fans. The thing with the way their rooms were set up was that there were no provisions for windows, that for you to sleep soundly and not feel stuffy if the AC is not working is to leave the door open so air would flow. I mentioned that to her and all that she did was to echo it to one of her other colleagues as though she was waiting for the other person to magically conjure a fan out of nowhere (Strike 3). Luckily, at that moment when i was about to lose my temper, power got restored.

In baseball, you only get three strikes before you get sent back to the bench. I was feeling extra patient because we still had a 3rd night until we fly back to Manila so i was so willing to let everything go until Feb 10th came. On the day of our checkout, i arranged for a pick up and paid an extra P1000 for the boat transfer and the bus to Kalibo airport. After settling the bill, i was not issued a receipt, and had to demand for it (Strike 4). At the Boracay Jetty port, the folks in charge of the boat transfer could not find our names in their masterlist so i had to present my receipt just to prove that all the transfer fees had been paid (Strike 5). I was calling the number on the card that Miss Imy P Mendoza - Manager of the Hotel - handed just to let her know about the trouble we experienced at the port, but nobody answered (Strike 6).

A simple apology could have done the trick after the second strike, but because it never happened, i became more and more anxious about the rest of our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjorker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Pasay City
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

For a very cheap and clean accommodation, this one should be a must try. Though, this is far from the beach front and near the highway, but we were informed of this and this was not a problem. With a very travel-friendly website, our transaction in booking our room was very easy. The website was direct-to-the-point and did not fail our expectations when we got there. Hot and cold showers, very comfy bed and lights will greet you in your designated rooms. Also, their reception/dining area was very nice. Our accommodation also has free breakfast, their dining area has free wifi, and food was great. All in all, this is a very travel-friendly and comfy accommodation to stay into.

Plus, they also helped us with our chosen adventures for a very affordable price. :) Just ask the reception :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayigarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I searched Tripadvisor to look for a budget accommodation, but I had to consider accessibility, cleanliness, comfort, and service. Island Nook reviews made me decide to book for 4 days/3 nights. Booking process was easy, I was given an option to pay in half or full thru bank deposit. After a few exchange of e-mails, I was completely booked. They were prompt in answering queries.

Upon arriving at Island Nook around 10am, we were greeted by the friendly staff, who advised us that the room will be ready by 2pm (check-in time). We left our bags at the reception to have lunch and we got back 10 minutes prior to check-in time. We were informed again that they were still cleaning up the room, and it will take just about 10 minutes. We waited until 2:50pm when one of the staff noticed us still lounging on the reception couch. She immediately remembered that we were waiting for our room and ushered us right away. Im sure they forgot that we were actually waiting for the room and it took us 50 minutes of waiting. No big deal as we don't really have a schedule for activities.

The room is just the right size, with comfy bed, pillows and clean sheets. The toilet provides hot and cold shower, with working flush and bidet hose. The lights are also good, you can choose to completely brighten up the room, or just use the table top lamp to dim. The lcd TV comes with a lot of cable channels. 2 bath towels are also provided, with floor mats for the toilet and main door. AC is new and easily controlled by remote control, and if the cold AC isnt enough, the room also comes with ceiling fan. Wifi is strong in the reception area, dining area, and even inside the room.

Daily plated breakfast is included in the accommodation, we had omelette with pancakes and spam with toasts on day 2, tapsilog and longsilog on day 3, tocilog and cornsilog on day 4. You can choose between instant coffee, orange juice or iced tea along with your meal. The food actually tastes good and the servings are sufficient. The ambiance of the dining area is also good for enjoying your meal or just hanging out and sharing stories.

Island Nook is easily accessible to all the main hangout places in Boracay. A few steps away from D'Mall, a few more steps to D'Talipapa. We were able to visit Station 1, 2 and 3, even Bulabog Beach without having to ride a trike :-D

During our stay, we never had any inconvenience. Maybe you just need to follow the house rules and always be respectful with staff and other guests, and you will enjoy your stay as we did. :-)

We are just hoping that they will add a bigger shelf or even just a hanging rack inside the room to organize clothes. A small fridge in the room will also complete the comfort for the guest's stay... ;-)

Thank you, Island Nook staff and management for making sure that your guests will have a comfortable and relaxing stay in Boracay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodrigito_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

For me being a service orriented person i think this hotel is quiet good, wen we arrived Jessa front desk approached us w/ a smile and arrange an early check in, very friendly and accomodating, room is clean and spacious however theres no bathroom amenities which is necessary for a place at the beach. We ask for the dvd player that is written at the website but she said its broken. In our first day of breakfast the staff named Pingping doesnt show any attention, she doesnt smile and answers all our questions not even looking at us, in short not focused, mybe shes not happy w/ her job? even a simple smile can make a big difference. Overall stay experience is good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einnram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Room was very nice and clean. Lovely pillows, matress, cute sink and bathroom. It was spacious but minimal storage for your things. No bath amenities, no closet to place your clothes. Online, it indicates they have speakers and dvd player available upon request but when we arrived, staff says they dont have and they dont provide. Hotel is located at the main road and quite far from the beach. Room was pricy for 2500php. So we inquired to other mini hotels and it costs less, very near to the beach although no bfast included. The staffs were truly friendly, Jessa of front desk was very accomodating. Except for one during our breakfast at our first day. Seems like she doesn't like what she's doing and too tired to work. Very unpleasant and has an attitude. We immediately inform the management as we came from the same industry at makati. Very good thing, Grace talked to us sincerely apologizing with the incident. We, as a service oriented people, we didnt make the issue bigger otherwise told them suggestions for improvements. We didnt saw the staff for the following days of our breakfast. Maybe she was told what we said. To get some rest or off, change shift for a different ambiance. Last day came and still Jessa was so helpful and accomodating. Kiddos to her and keep it up. Mainly, stay was quite good...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nieyel0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
Hey! Jude Resort Hotel
#70 of 145 in Boracay
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lime Hotel Boracay
Lime Hotel Boracay
#29 of 145 in Boracay
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#51 of 145 in Boracay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Island Nook Hotel Boracay
Island Nook Hotel Boracay
#172 of 222 in Boracay
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Kite Guesthouse
Isla Kite Guesthouse
#22 of 222 in Boracay
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
YCL Hotel Boracay
YCL Hotel Boracay
#175 of 222 in Boracay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Nook

Property: Island Nook
Address: Road A1 | Aklan, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Nook Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing