We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Spot @ Station 3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarZon Beach Resort Boracay
Ranked #22 of 225 Boracay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We recently stayed at Marzon Beach Resort for four nights. I'll provide a breakdown on our experience, from booking to checkout.

Booking: I booked through myboracayguide.com Confirmations were quick and the booking process was simple. You pay a 10% deposit with remaining balance due upon arrival to the hotel.

Check In: Check in was quick. When using a 3rd party booking service you always have the twinge of doubt that your reservation somehow got lost in the "system". But we were indeed there; the manager collected our deposit and handed us the key. Maybe five minutes in total.

The Room: Garden Deluxe Room. We had just come over from Palawan on a moderate budget and five days in the islands (Tao Expedition). The room was quite chic for us :) Modern furnishings, wardrobe, flat screen tv (turned on once during our whole stay), nice bathroom, shower, indoor/outdoor area for clothes drying off the shower. TWO PILLOWS per person! (again, consider where we came from). A foot shower is provided outside each room. This is a nice touch, so your floor remains clean and free of sand.
We couldn't hear any happenings in the neighboring room, so construction appears solid.
The ac works very well.

The Staff: Manager is nice and helpful when needed, but he leaves you alone otherwise. The restaurant staff is pleasant enough at breakfast. We really liked the guard. He did everything from help with luggage, move beach furniture, and monitor everything. Nice man.
The room is made up daily if you choose - just hang the sign on the door and let the manager know.
We didn't come here expecting to be catered to at 2650P/night. All I expect is smiles and help when required. We got what we expected in terms of service.

The Breakfast: You are given six choices at breakfast. Somewhere in there you should be able to find something that pleases your palette, whether western or asian. The coffee is ok - as a rule we don't expect great coffee in Asia, and this was fine. A few mornings we ran a few doors down to Nagisa at the Surfside hotel for a nice capuccino after breakfast. I recommend them for their coffee.
The cafe also serves food throughout the day, but we never ordered so I can't comment on it.

The Location: I played the location game over and over before finally settling on Marzon. You can drive yourself crazy trying to figure out which station is best. S3 is the quieter end, and the beach in front of Marzon is nice. In terms of sand and water, all of White Beach is nice, so you're really selecting which section of the beach you care to plant yourself at in terms of amenities/noise/crowds. I plan to write a trip review where I will discuss in more detail our impressions of the different sections.
I will say that Shantal's Beach Resto & Bar is fabulous and right next door. It's not on any map, but they have loungers, the cheapest and longest happy hour (SML for 30P 2p-8p!!), and they serve food.

The Clientele: I believe the hotel was full, but because it is small, it's a pretty quiet and respectful bunch. There was a mix of couples, singles and families.

The Value: A great value for us. We wanted to spend < $75US a night and we got that with beachfront and breakfast. You will be hard pressed to find that in S1 or S2.

The Checkout: Upon checkout the manager did a quick scan of the room, took our key and bid us farewell. And that was that.

Would we return? Yes. There are other properties along the beach we would most likely choose on a repeat visit, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Marzon Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rramirez4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

I used Jonys resort twice, but I am on a budget so I booked Marzon as highly recommended here in tripadvisor. The price is 2650 php per night on deluxe beach front room, same as deluxe garden view.
We stayed in deluxe garden view room, much bigger compared to beach front room.
Check in is fast, room is newly renovated, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, 2 bedside tables, 1 cabinet. They could do with an electric kettle, coffee making facility and a mini fridge. I woke up really early around 5 am, but cannot have a hot drink as the coffee shop doesn’t open till 6am. So if you love your hot drinks, bring your electric kettle and tea/coffee/hot choco sachets.

Bathroom is clean, with complementary toiletries, a really nice hot shower in the evening. But if everyone using the shower in the morning, no water coming from the shower, but there still water in the faucet. Pail and “tabo” is available. Our room (no. 5) has got its own area for drying clothes.

Service is good but staff there does not go the extra mile. We asked where we can get hot water to rinse the baby’s bottle but the staff pointed us to the restaurant as it’s not part of the marzon.

The security guard during the day is very polite.

The location is very good, only a stone away from the beach. It’s about 30 mins walk to station 2, but at least is quiet.

I am not sure if I will come back to this resort. I rather stay in station 1 compared to station 3.

Room Tip: choose the garden view deluxe room , a lot bigger. its only few steps away from beach front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

we went to boracay in march 20-22, twas a last minute trip and zest air was very accommodating to us in such a short notice and we were able to get the first flight and last flight out. at around 1 pm we were able to reach marzons and we were checked in right away even though it noot yet 2 pm the room was very big honestly i had a hard and irritating time walking around cuz it was really BIG for 2, the lightning was very romantic the room was dim and the bed oh dont let me start with the bed it was soft but firm and the pillow was big and soft... over all marzon it a good place to stay in the only down side of it is its too far from the restos and the party life.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamilitaldita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

[--]

Rusty English but i want to review because Resort Hotel is good. Nice place, very nice. Peaceful surroundings good people attending. Free breakfast also good and lovely taste food.

First time in hotel Boracay and happy with stay. [--]

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeJin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

On arrival, we were very happy with our room - clean and tidy, bathroom good. The housekeeping was excellent. The staff are polite and accommodating.

We could have done with a fridge in the room (to compensate for not having self-catering accommodation). The WiFi Connection could have been better.

As our first trip to Boracay, and having booked the hotel remotely from the UK, we were very pleased with the location on white beach. Station 3 is relatively quiet compared to the hustle and bustle of station 2. Station 1 is also quiet, but seems to be a little more pricey. In general, white beach is very busy in high season - expect to be relentlessly accosted by vendors with sunglasses, hats, necklaces and boat trip and massage services (although we believe, according to newspaper articles and local chatter, this is soon to change within the year).

We hired a motorcycle from Sands on station 3. I highly recommend this service. We managed to get a deal on a two seater bike for 500 PHP per day. The motorcylce is ideal for scooting around the island. The traffic down the main road running parallel to white beach is heavily congested with trikes and motorcylces (sometimes carrying 3 or more!) It is an organised chaos, but surprisingly there are few accidents... that said, take caution on the roads, especially trike drivers making sudden u-turns (watch the left leg signal!) or emergency stops to pick up passengers.

For a bit of peace and quiet, we recommend Diniwid and Puka beaches. These are much smaller, sandy beaches. Wahine bar at Diniwid is a must!

A general tip: regarding prices for services, public transport, and vendor products, find out how much the local Filipino people expect to pay! Then haggle. They will take advantage of tourists here...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatherAndSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This place was a little more expensive than the budget accommodation away from the beach but far cheaper than any other beach front hotels. The owner and staff are friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. The rooms come with tv and en suite hot water bathrooms. When I stayed the hotel also had some lovely puppies that loved attention. Don't forget your mosquito coils and deet.

The beach is stunning!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine as this is only a small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The staff was very accommodating. The resort is small but you get what you pay for. They are still building some of the rooms so you do hear construction going on. Aside from that we spent most of the time at the beach so the room was not a big issue. The resort is located in Station 3 and it is fairly quiet there, and it is like a 30 minute walk each way from all the happening places. It was a good workout. Also, be prepared to eat your meals elsewhere because they do not have much of a variety and it includes only breakfast. Take advantage of the beach and activities in Boracay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
Dave's Straw Hat Inn
#12 of 151 in Boracay
873 reviews
0 mi away
DiveGurus Boracay Beach Resort
1 mi away
Hannah Hotel
Hannah Hotel
#27 of 225 in Boracay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Oasis Resort and Spa
Oasis Resort and Spa
#10 of 225 in Boracay
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Kite Guesthouse
Isla Kite Guesthouse
#32 of 225 in Boracay
56 reviews
1 mi away
Lazy Dog Bed & Breakfast
Lazy Dog Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 225 in Boracay
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarZon Beach Resort Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarZon Beach Resort Boracay

Address: Sitio Angol Station 3, Malay, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range: £31 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MarZon Beach Resort Boracay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarZon Beach Resort Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marzon Beach Resort Boracay Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing