We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spider House Resort
Ranked #46 of 152 Hotels in Boracay
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were coming to Boracay to learn to kite surf but wanted to have a few days to relax first. Boracay has become extremely touristy on white beach and we were glad we did our research and chose to stay somewhere quieter. Spider House is situated in a really beautiful cove called Diniwid, which is really peaceful and idyllic.

Danny who dealt with our booking and was actually at the house when we arrived was excellent and response rates were spot on. We contacted Danny after the typhoon and he gave us a really honest view on things. Actually the typhoon didn't really effect Boracay at all and so if you are wondering whether to visit here, this shouldn't be a factor.

The house itself is made out of natural materials and you feel that this captures the vibe of original Boracay before it was developed. It could do with some updating in places, but all in all there is a good feel. By far and away the highlight and best part of staying here was the staff, service and also the vibe. We got to know Paul and his team really well over our time here and this made our stay really enjoyable - particularly Carol and Michelle who took time to chat and get to know us. The food menu is quite simple but really tasty and breakfast looking out to the ocean was our favourite part of the day (and then cocktails at sunset)! A lot of people come over to enjoy sunset as it's also a bar open to other travellers and it's the perfect place for some chill out tunes over a good cocktail list.

We had a knock out view and a balcony that was pretty much ours for most of the day, which was a highlight. With regards to the rooms inside, each one is totally different and so I can only comment on ours. We had a nice indoor/outdoor area which was great for the couple of days we had some rain, and also for having breakfast in a more private area. The sleeping area however was quite dark inside and got pretty hot at night. That said, we did ask if there was a stronger fan and this made a huge difference. In terms of sleep - as the house is traditionally made (bamboo style), noise carries a lot and so we would recommend bringing some ear plugs as this makes a difference. The staff are mindful of music at night etc, but if there are younger families staying (which at Christmas there were), the sound carries around the house. I think outside of this period, this would be more of a couples resort and so would probably be quieter. There are also a fair few bugs and creepy crawlies (as the name 'Spider House' would suggest) and so this might not be the place for you if this type of thing bothers you. There are probably pros and cons for each room as they are all really unique. The rooms at lower level probably aren't as private as those above the bar area. At the front you are near to the bar and restaurant in terms of noise, but the views are a real seller!

All in all we had a great time. We were meant to be travelling to another island but due to the typhoon had to cancel that part of the trip and so booked another accommodation for the last section (again in Diniwid). If coming to Boracay and given how hot it can be, I would probably combine Spiderhouse for a few nights with an aircon option to get the best of both worlds. The team provided guests free filtered water each day, which is great, but a couple of suggestions from other places we have stayed that can really make a difference would be free filter coffee/ tea for guests and perhaps some better towels and bed linen.

Thanks to the team for a great stay!

Room Tip: The rooms directly above the bar area probably get a bit more breeze coming through and would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon in the one of the superior rooms. We had ample space as there were 2 beds and a sitting area. Although we didn't spend too much time in the room, it was great to have room to walk around freely.

The hotel itself is accessible by foot only. You get dropped off at the end of a street, walk down a short beach path onto the beach and across the beach by 2 other hotels and finally get to the Spider House. Luckily we were greeted by the staff on the road, otherwise we would be lost and would have to lug all our stuff across the way. That wouldn't have been fun.

We had just visited a week after the Typhoon and they were still on a generator so we only had electricity at night. With it being open air, I assumed the ocean breeze would keep us warm but we still got a little hot at night despite using both fans.

There was a little miscommunication at checkout as we were charged for our transfer which we had already paid through another company and we were also charged for our "welcome" drinks. They were happy to take care of it right away and didn't give us any issues at all.

The booking manager Danny was very nice and the on location Manager Paul was extremely friendly. He introduced himself to us while we were having drinks.

The bar and restaurant is either packed or dead. Sometimes it was hard to find a sat and another time we were the only ones there. Food and drinks were great and pricing is just slightly bit higher than town but that is normal.

My favorite part of the place was being able to climb down the ladder and go swimming in the ocean or lay on the bamboo float. That was really cool.

Getting into town was anywhere between 75-100 pesos depending on the time of the day. If you are returning from town at night, it can get a bit scary as some of the streets have no lights and it seems like your driver may be taking you into a remote wilderness.

Overall, it was a great experience but I would limit the amount of nights to stay here,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Of the many beach resorts and hotels we've stayed, this has gotta be the one that we would never hesitate to stay again as we had such an amazing experience. Tucked away on a cliff towards the north end of Diniwid Beach, the natural setting of the hotel resembles a scene from Robinson Crusoe. Not one for the luxury seeker, the rooms do not have air conditioning and do expect the occasional bugs visiting you in your room. Apart from that, the experience of jumping straight from the hotel cafe into the open sea is one that will make us return to this paradise for more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuwei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting this place ever since I came to Boracay just to chill and drink a couple of beers. Sunset view is beyond awesome. The bar is also a must visit. They serve the best tasting prawns massala in the island. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Whenever possible, I drop by this place while in Boracay to have breakfast. The view was just awesome. The long beach walk going to station 3 from here was most fun especially with friends or peers. View is best though during summer time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janettetoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was my very first time travel to Boracay this end of November 2013 with my boyfriend. Spider House is located at Diniwid Beach which is not far from the famous White Beach. We had a two night stay at Spider House & every morning was awaken by the noise from the sea. It feels really good! We love the awesome sea view, the friendly staffs & the good food there... It is a must stay place in Boracay & we miss Spider House already!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleeLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The rooms have no walls or windows, just bamboo and textile shutters, which we didn't use. Feels like you're sleeping on the beach, but in the comfort of your own bed, and under the anti-mosquito veil (smth that really matters). First night there was a thunderstorm, and it seemed that the waves came ashore right under my bed :) Perfect loction for me - 15 min walk from the buzz of Station 2. Beautiful lagoon, and the only place for snorkling in Boracay White Beach (well, it's not really White Beach, it's Diniwid Beach), which you can swim to without hiring a boat. We were lucky to find no insects in the room - no cockroaches, ants or any other unnamed creeps. Yes, there were mosquitoes after dark, as everywhere on this island. Bar deck was beyond my expectations: really, the best cocktails on the beach, imho.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 1, which is a corner room, openning the view to the White Beach and to the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 487iri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
2 mi away
Tonglen Beach Resort
Tonglen Beach Resort
#43 of 152 in Boracay
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#61 of 152 in Boracay
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#22 of 152 in Boracay
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Address: Diniwid Beach, Malay, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Malay > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spider House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing