We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views great, but customer service laid back and lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spider House Resort
Ranked #46 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Views great, but customer service laid back and lacking.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I chose Spider House from the images on their website as I wanted something a little different from the usual accommodation for my two daughters. I booked directly with the resort and was satisfied with prompt responses from their booking agency.

To start with the bar room/dining staff are friendly and hospitable and the food was really very good. Sadly the reception needs retraining or at least they should have a look at how other hotels manage customer service.

Due to Typhoon Glenda we could not get to the island for our first night and were prepared to lose that night's booking. Weather happens. However on check in the next day we were told the room was not ready. So obviously they took the opportunity to rebook our room and therefore double their takings.

When we asked the desk staff to help us re-schedule flights so that we could spend more time in Boracay they simply could not manage it - even asking us for money to purchase more credit for a private mobile phone. I would have thought our lost accommodation could have covered this.
We got help from our next hotel at Boat Station 2 even before we checked in. It was done in 12 hours with newly issued tickets. That was the service I would have liked at Spider House.

I would honestly say go there for a drink and the view but reconsider spending a night. Spider House has potential but the manager seriously needs to address shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    113
    43
    38
    26
See reviews for
45
221
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My room was infested with big bugs (or were they cockroaches?) and other insects that crawled into my luggage... Every night I would come back to find several of them lurking around. I was afraid to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Travelled last May. This is far from STATIONS 1.2 and 3, we chose Spider house because it is basically peaceful in Diniwid Beach area. You will have to ride a tryc for 150php.

The place is really relaxing and Spider House has the most epic view at the top. Food is great. Breakfast usually starts at 730. We stayed for three nights, first two nights at ROOM3- full view. ROOM 3 is just above the kitchen and dining area- and at 3pm until 10pm prepare for the noise-either from people dining /the kitchen/ or the loud music. The food smells great but you dont want that stick generously on your hair or skin and on your clothes-but then it will because the room is just at the top of the kitchen. So if you don't want that then try other rooms esp if you just want to stay half of your day in the room to relax or read a book.

On our last night, finally the lady granted our request to transfer to a better place- Viola, our sticky situation was lifted at the sight of ROOM 4. Away from noise. Away from the kitchen. SUPER FULL SEA VIEW. I love the ambiance and the breeze of the wind. No spiders. No mosquitoes. But if you really wanted to experience spider house by its name- you will enjoy room 3 because they have it plenty there. ;-)

The staff is really helpful. They arranged a day trip for only 1500-twas really worth it.

Room Tip: CHOOSE ROOM 4. But, If you happen to be in Room 3- put a plenty of insect repellant. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A must stay place when u are at Boracay. I was traveling with some friends. and we had a great time. the foods is good so do the staff. it was so quite and we had a good rest while we was there. the rooms clean and very comfortable. I will come back again soon.

Room Tip: go for a suite with a view.... you'll not regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missarguelles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A must stay place if you're in Boracay, truly amazing view. I love the sound of the wave, the chill wind, laid back lifestyle at Spider House, away from the crowd on White Beach. You can literally jump into the sea from your room!
Soundproof between rooms is literally zero and the music from the bar/restaurant can be heard in my room (I was staying in room 1, which is just on-top of the restaurant). Toilet is a bit let-down and the room is a bit dirty, but I've already expected all these since this is sort of a "open-air nature" kind of room, and I understand that it's hard to be maintained.
Not much choices on the food menu, but overall the taste is OK. Very friendly staff especially those from the kitchen/restaurant, nice chatting with them. I was amazed that they even remembered my name!
Mosquito net & spray was provided by them, but I would recommend to bring along your own mosquito coil & repellent.
If you're into nature, yes, this is the must-stay place in Boracay. But if cleanliness is your top priority, stay away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EeHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hat Head, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

For an amazing position and great vibes, laid back, friendly, helpful & entertaining staff; an absolute must stay place in Boracay, or at least visit. Perhaps avoid if very strong westerly winds and rough seas are forecast.

Music at the bar area can play into the night, filtering through the open air structure however the mellow deep grooves can lull you to sleep. I miss it already.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles_lachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It’s truly authentic hotel you’ll never forget. Months after staying in this hotel all my negative imaginations wiped off and now I have just good memories. It seems even funny that name of the hotel is absolutely coincides with reality – there are a lot of spiders and webs in hotel’s rooms. Bathroom and toilet are very poor but several footsteps – and you’re in the blue-blue clean sea. Soundproofing between rooms is absent but it’s very pleasant to fall asleep to the sound of waves. This hotel is almost nude nature without starched bed-sheets and towels. It’s nice place to clink glasses with fresh juices (or buka or cold beer) with kindly Filipinos.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iuliia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
0.0 mi away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#39 of 145 in Boracay
364 reviews
2.4 mi away
Surfside Boracay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#26 of 145 in Boracay
1,467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boracay Beach Club
Boracay Beach Club
#8 of 145 in Boracay
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#59 of 145 in Boracay
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spider House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider House Resort

Property: Spider House Resort
Address: Diniwid Beach, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Spider House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive straight into the sea from our beachfront treehouse. Nestled on Diniwid Beach in Boracay and built literally over the sea. The Spider House enjoys a prime location, surrounded by clear waters and dazzling sunsets every night. All of our rooms are built in the traditional Filipino style with thatched roofs, using mainly bamboo and wood. They are spacious and come equipped with a fan and private balcony. Best of all are the views. There is a double bed in each room providing simple, comfortable accommodation for up to two people. Our Superior Rooms have their own private bathroom and shower with hot water in the rooms. We have free WiFi around the house so you can always keep in touch with the outside world and when you want to go swimming, you don’t have to go to the beach…the beach comes to you !!!Enjoy the various water activities like diving, snorkeling, sailing and kite surfing. Our terrace is ideal to relax and enjoy Boracay's tropical climate. The Spider House - a truly unique accommodation in a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spider House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spider House Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing