We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not as quiet as I hoped”
Review of Roy's Rendezvous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roy's Rendezvous
Ranked #82 of 219 Boracay B&B and Inns
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not as quiet as I hoped”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Spent a week there in one of the family rooms (room 2). Roy and his wife are very friendly and welcomed us. The room was basic and clean, as was the surrounding area. Beds were comfortable and the air con worked well. There is also a nice hot shower. Breakfast consisted of toast, butter, jam, slice of fruit (usually pineapple), powdered mango juice, coffee or tea. Staff were polite but not as friendly as Roy. There is a boat vendor there (Jason) who will organise any trip you wish.
The main negative we found was the noise at night. Of the 7 nights we were there, we only had 1 undisturbed night's sleep. The room windows are of the louvre style, so any noise outside easily gets into the room. The reception area is outside and is directly opposite the family rooms 1 & 2. The reception opens at around 6am with plenty of noise being made, we also had noisy neighbours on 3 nights, rooms 1 & 2 have an adjoining door which means you can easily hear someone talking in the room next door. As a result we generally didn't get to sleep until later than planned and got woken up much earlier than we would have liked.
We have previously stayed at Dave's Straw Hat, just around the corner this is a much friendlier place and quieter, you are made to feel part of the family there, but they were fully booked. As the noise issue spoilt the trip for us, if we go to Boracay again, we would chose Dave's and book them earlier.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claude998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent two lovely weeks of peace and quiet. I recommend this place to people, who want to relax, no looking for luxury, but want to spend a holiday in a small family hotel. Beautiful beach is 50 meters away and that's what I went to the island. Hotel has simple and clean rooms with fan or air conditioning, TV..Accommodation with breakfast or without. You can order a meal at a good price! Homemade delicious omelets, spaghetti, etc...

Room Tip: Higher floor in main building is quiet, good for sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dracen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked Roy's Rendezvouz mainly because of the price but it turned out to be a really pleasant surprise and we would certainly stay again if we ever return to Boracay.
Set back only 100m or so from the beach, Roy's is in the slightly quieter station 3 area but still only 5-10minute walk to the heart of the cafes and nightlife.
The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast (fresh fruits, toast, jams, coffee, fruit juice) was excellent and served on our balcony: a great way to start the day.
The lovely couple who own this place (Roy and Olivia) went out of their way to help us even when we turned up unannounced a day early and late at night. Despite being fully booked, Roy ran around (in his pajamas!) finding us a room close by for a similar price and when we finally checked into Roys the next day they even gave us breakfast on arrival which technically we were not entitled to! They also gave us a good map of the area and local paper. We found nothing to be too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevKate111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I booked the room for 2 nights & wanted to transfer on the 2nd day because it was so humid & there was no airconditioning! We checked the other local hotels & found there are also rooms in town with the same rate & even closer to the beach!

However, the owner was so sweet, so we decided to stay. However, I had to asked her to change the beddings because I think it was used by the previous occupant.

Breakfast for P120 is "highway robbery" because it only consists of 3-in-1 Instant Coffee, 2 slices of Toast Bread, butter, jam & a slice of pineapple! Both on the 2 days!

Room Tip: good for backpackers & teenagers! or those who does not need airconditioning when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Live like the locals on the island in a cute straw bungalow, large enough to be a private home with your own front porch that even comes equipped with a hammock. It is ideal for a family with the simple necessities of cable TV, wifi, and free daily breakfast. Don't expect anything fancy. We were happy that our bungalow had air conditioning! It's run by an older couple who are natives, very friendly and we felt right at home being greeted by them every morning. The location was a bit hard to find enclosed down narrow alleys or we discovered the easiest access is from the entrance on White Beach. A short stroll down the beach and you'll end up at D-Mall where there's plenty of choices for dining. The beds are a bit hard, no housekeeping unless you ask for it, though each room has its own bathroom it is tiny and outdated. Luckily, there are two outdoor showers for your convenience after a quick swim on the shore. Mosquitos are inevitable so bring lots of bug spray. If you're on a budget and looking for a casual place to stay that can meet your basic needs, I do recommend Roy's.

Room Tip: Request for the detached bungalow if you're traveling as a family, it has 2 separate bedrooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patriciaychou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaiyana Boracay Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
812 Angol Boracay
812 Angol Boracay
#20 of 167 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Beach Studios
Sundown Beach Studios
#30 of 167 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DiveGurus Boracay Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
The Greenhouse (Boracay Beach House)
0.0 mi away
Tree House Beach Resort
Tree House Beach Resort
#70 of 219 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roy's Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roy's Rendezvous

Property: Roy's Rendezvous
Address: Ambulong, Station 3, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 219 B&Bs / Inns in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Roy's Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing