We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel-like rooms in Affordable Rates”
Review of Taj Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boracay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taj Guesthouse
Ranked #53 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel-like rooms in Affordable Rates”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at Taj Guesthouse Annex last weekend. In September, I stayed at another resort in the same area where Taj is, and noticed how the hotel front looked nice and welcoming, so for this trip, we decided to try it out.

A friend advised us to ask for the Annex rooms. This is a part of Taj that is a little bit inside an eskinita (small alleyway), but has better rooms.

What we liked best:

1. Hotel-like rooms at an affordable price - We paid 2300php per night for a room that can accomodate 4 people. There were 2 double-sized beds with white, clean sheets and nice pillows, a Samsung flat-screen TV mounted on the wall with complete cable TV channels, a mini fridge, 2 nightstands, and a cabinet for hanging clothes (no hangers though). The room was painted all white, with thick, heavy curtains and good lighting. When you go inside, it will remind you of what a hotel room looks like, minus the fluffy comforters.

2. Great bathroom - The bathroom is very nice and clean! The shower has hot and cold water, and a setting to let the water come out as mist instead of water - very spa! They provide white towels for each guest staying, and some small soaps, but other than that, you need to supply your own hygiene kit.

3. Location - Taj is located in Station 2, right where the action is. The alley leading to Taj Annex is right beside Summer Place, one of the known clubs in Boracay, so at night, you're pretty much set. If dancing is not your style, just walk a few steps to reach Bombom Bar, our favorite Reggae hang out where there's Shisha and live music always playing. In the morning, there are many breakfast places where you can get Filipino style eats like tapsilog and tosilog.

What we liked least:

1. Intermittent Wifi - When I stayed at Madid's last time, I noticed that we'd always catch the signal of Taj Wifi than Madid's even inside our room. This led me to believe Taj would have good Wifi routers. Wrong! Wifi was intermittent in our rooms, you'd need to find a good place to sit at before you can actually use it.

2. No windows - If you're the kind of person who relies on sunlight to indicate day break, then this might not be the place for you. Because of the location of the building, not all the rooms in Taj had windows to the outside. On our first night, we ended up sleeping until 10AM. But if windows aren't something you need for a trip, then this shouldn't be a problem for you.

If you want affordability without sacrificing your needs for a nice bathroom and bed, Taj is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the Annex rooms. You will have to walk a little more, but the rooms here are newly built and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank candysg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    24
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 days and 3 nights from saturday to monday (coz our flight on monday was at 8:30 in the morning and had to leave at 5am).
Unfortunately, we didn’t get a bang for our buck on staying in this place. We knew that the place we reserved for was in the MAIN bldg because we were not informed that they had an annex which was 50 steps away from the beachfront compared to just 10 steps from the main bldg. Sure enough we let that go since we didn’t really had any choice and finding another hotel to stay in would be a big hassle, plus we already paid half of the accommodation. They had us stay on 1 room where we could leave our stuff while we wait for the other guest staying at our reserved room to check-out. We were only able to check-in at 2pm. We NEVER got our towels until 8pm, the guy said they were still in the dryers. We didn’t bring towels since they said that there would be 2 towels for every room. Instead of being able to take a shower and start bathing in the sun, we were forced change plan and just walk around d’ mall and along the beach path. I can’t stretch this enough but the receptionists is “ALWAYS” missing, even in day time! At the time that we were able to check-in our room, the place wasn’t cleaned thoroughly. The previous guest’s trash collection was still present at the bottom of the sink when you open the drawer doors! 1 soap was only given, no shampoos. They kept on hassling us about a copy of our deposit slip whereas in our previous conversations with the receptionist he confirmed that we didn’t need to bring anything else, just a valid ID for identification. It’s true though that they have WIFI in the area, BUT as soon as you try to connect to the net or just open google.com, nothing happens. From the start of our visit until the day we leave, we never got to use their WIFI. Water wasn’t that strong, it was only barely enough. Cellphone signal was ZERO for suncel subscibers but for globe it was okay, though we were only in the 2nd room from the open. 2nd day came and we were waiting for our breakfast at 7am, we asked them about this and said that it will be delivered to our rooms, after 30 mins of waiting, one of their employees came and said that our reservation wasn’t in the PROMO, where in our previous conversation and we even confirmed that there will be breakfasts because that would be a big help in our budget. Sadly, we had to go and look for some other place to eat breakfast. On a scale of 1 to 10 being 10 as the highest, I would rate them as 2.5 in service.

Pros:
- Rooms were cozy though.
- A big TV with a good number of channels
- Air-conditioned.
- Clean bathroom.
- Closet.
- Small Refrigerator.
- Hot shower.
- Room ambiance is cozy.


Cons:
- Receptionist always missing.
- Some towels were already worn out plus it took a day for them to give us just 1 (the other towel we got after 2 hours)
- Room location was not informed, we expected that we would be at the main one which was just 10 steps away from the beach.
- Room not thoroughly cleaned. Trash from previous guest was still present.
- Unchanged bed sheet.
- Have to constantly follow up on your requests.

Room Tip: If you're not in to service and just looking for a place to stay, this place may be a choice for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vincent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boracay hotels

sunny philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here in Nov. 2011. This place was highly recommend by my friend and I decided to check it out. And it surpassed all my expectations! Don't expect a lot of amenities since this is a backpacker budget place. For serving that niche, they exceed expectations and offer great value. Here are a quick Pros and Cons
Pros:
1. GREAT LOCATION. right smack in the middle of Boracay. just less than 5 mins to D'mall and 10mins to Talipapa. The World Famous Boracay Beach just 2 mins walk.
2. Great Value. We only paid Php. 1,500 or about $40 usd a night for the room.
3. Rooms are clean. They have hot showers, big flat screen tvs and comfy beds. The room looks great too. Aircon is also sufficient to cool the room during hot days.
Cons:
1. The only Con I can think of is that there isn't a receptionist at certain times of the day. So if you have concerns or inquiries you might have some difficulty but thats really about it.

For the price your paying, you're really getting a lot and the place is really clean and nice. You also get breakfast for two. It really isn't that fantastic but its better than nothing. Should you be interested to stay here for your Boracay trip, be sure to specify you want the Annex Rooms since they are new and larger at the same price. Here's a link of their Facebook account so you can view the pictures of the room and contact details ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Taj-Guesthouse-Boracay/121290147933020?sk=photos

Definitely a winner! I'd stay here for sure on my next Boracay Trip.

Room Tip: Get the Annex Rooms. They're new and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I chose this place to stay in last May because of good reviews I saw. I was disappointed.
PROs:
+Location was good enough, you'll have to walk a short distance into an alley. This provided enough privacy and quiet considering Boracay's activities. Still very close to the beach though.
+Situated between D' Mall and D' Talipapa. There's a sari sari store and breakfast right at the front.

CONs:
-We arrived at the room with moist, no, wet floors. This may have been caused by the AC. It felt sticky to the feet. We looked for assistance to mop the floor dry but there was no one at the reception area. We had to do it ourselves with just the doormat.
-There was no wifi. Yes, online you'll see that they said there is. There was none during my stay.
-There was construction happening when we were there. We can hear the hammers, etc. This went on until night time. It was peak season and it will be hard to transfer us, but the least they could do is show consideration to those who wants to rest.
-No complimentary anything. Even hot water.
-The electricity in our room went out. We asked for help from the attendant and he took forever to realize what happened. It's good we stayed out that day. It turns out that they only had to insert the key card.

Such bad experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Isnt a great 5star resort, but extremely good for the price it has. Stayed there a couple of months ago and took a room for 4 in the ground floor. The room was in very good condition, clean & well maintained. Found the staff to be very courteous n helpful. We would turn the room upside down & leave in the morning for the beach & activities & when back in evening for a shower the room would be sparkling clean with replaced blankets etc.

The location is another plus, step out of the place take 10 steps & u r in the water. This is a big saver.

Also, if you are looking for water sports like snorkeling, helmet diving, parasailing etc. Look for a guy called 'Danny' right outside the guest house. Is extremely helpful & plans the activites for less than half the price.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murali_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Taj Guesthouse is strategically located at station 2 of Boracay. They now have their annex building found at the back of Taj Main building which is more quiet since its not a busy alley. Rooms are big enough for guests, clean and with small refrigerator, a big LCD TV, and hot/cold shower. Bed is just a bit smaller than the queen size bed, i wish they had the foam maximized on the frame of the bed :) wifi connection is not that strong. Phone signal for some local network can be weak when you're in the inner rooms. Staff are friendly and accommodating, they'll immediately attend to your needs as requested; but guests just have to request for clean up of rooms and change of towels before they touch your room :) Room rates are inexpensive like just last week we pay for only Php2000.00 per night (US$48) on peak season rate for twin room. That's why I still choose Taj and refer this to my friends on my 2nd visit to Boracay. Very Accessible, clean, quiet and affordable :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeSoloTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Taj Guesthouse is a place to stay when you're in a budget. Its nothing spectacular. In terms of service, you get the service you pay for. The guesthouse has only one housekeeping thus she would usually arrive during the afternoon when we're already back. The room is not that clean. There were lots of ants and they only have 1 waste basket. Most of the time, there is no one in the front desk thus we kept on going back downstairs to check. They also don't have a phone or intercom and it was hard to contact the owner for the reservations.

Value for money is actually very good. Its cheap so I was not expecting much and it was near the beach and D'Mall. It was not that near to the foot path thus the room was quiet and the aircon is cold thus a goodnight's sleep. The room's size was okay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krizia_lazaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boracay
0.4 mi away
Eriko's house
Eriko's house
#92 of 147 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#91 of 147 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tans Guesthouse
Tans Guesthouse
#26 of 219 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Patrick's Home Boracay
Patrick's Home Boracay
#167 of 219 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.4 mi away
S-E Hotel and Residence
S-E Hotel and Residence
#1 of 6 in Caticlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Isla Bonita Resort
La Isla Bonita Resort
#83 of 147 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Guesthouse

Property: Taj Guesthouse
Address: Aklan, Aklan Province, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Boracay
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing